Abbey Nurseries

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Its all about the location!

Only an hour away from home this site is great for a quick 2 night getway. The turning on the left we wanted was only noticed by the fact that we saw a sign for 'Abbey Nusseries' on a large wall but the sign was covered slighty be greenery. Another 100 yards on the right was the metal gate entrance to the site but again the CAMC sign was slightly covered by greenery. When we drove in we did wonder if we were in the right place at first as you dont notice the field where vans park. Your eyes are drawn more towards the minature railway 'station house' and other paraphenalia as well as the greenhouses and poly tunnels. We did the spot a track that wound to the right of the site that then led onto the field and proceeded in that direction and thats when the owner came out to meet us and direct us. So parked up and reasonably level we set up for the Friday evening. We didnt need fresh water so just plugged into the 10amp EHU which was enough for what we need. When we did need water we found that the drinking water tap was quite a stretch for even our long hose so we had to move and drive round to be closer to the tap, so I think this could be a good opportunity to improve by locating a freshwater tap to a more central location. Recycling rubbish was in a bin close to the owners home and chemical waste was a tank hidden away behind some greenery and close enough to the parking slots. What I did notice is that there is audible noise from the main road close by particularly at the weekends with bikers out on their high powered machines so its not the quietest CL site we have been on thats for sure. Great views of the hills that encompass the valley though thats for sure and within easy reach of getting down to the canal and then onto the town and sites such as Horseshoe Falls and the Abbey ruins. So location to getting to do things is great really and is the main positive for this CL. What I did note is that there were no had sanitisers at any of the usual points such as the entry gate, the freshwater tap and the Chemical waste and I thought this was a condition during the pandemic, unless its another welsh rule difference to england? Would I stay again? Probably not as it not peacful enough for me being so close to the main road but its a great stop for getting into town thats for sure.

Simon and Sarah

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/06/2021 12:54

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

If I had to live elsewhere

We have been coming to this site for many years and over that time good changes have occurred. Michael and Joan as hosts are helpful in settling us in and provide re-cycling bins for food waste.A new access for motorhomes to take on water has been put in.I use my old watering can as it is easier for me. The toilet waste site is in a sensible place.As other reviews have said the site is unbeatable for scenery and location to the Horseshoe falls and pass to the Abbey..We cycle along the canal paths as far as Chirk. .To each their own and little things maybe are big things to others but for us we will always make this the first stop in a visit to Wales.If I could pick a place as an alternative to living in Northumberland it would be Abbey Nurseries

spikeymatt2010

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/08/2019 14:02

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Pleasant CL

Booked for 8 nights initially, stayed 11. Very welcoming, friendly owners. Marked down slightly for access to local places only because there is no bus service. I pitched alongside the boundary hedge and did not find the noise from the adjacent A road to be a problem. A very scenic site which had all the facilities I wanted. The minor negative points were a weak Wi-Fi and the CDP; it was adequate but could benefit from some improvement. Recycling facilities matched the high standards in our home county, including Michael and Joan providing a kitchen caddy for food waste. Certainly a site I would use again.

bryngwyn

Reviewed on 04/09/2018 01:21

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

"Interesting" CL

We found this site in convenient spot for walkers, and for access to places of interest by vehicle. Other reviewers have mentioned walks along the canal path into Llangollen in one direction and along the canal to the Chainbridge across the River Dee in another. We thought this site was a gem. very basic (no toilets) and the owners were very nice people. The only negatives were the TV reception was very poor, and the owners' WiFi signal was 'poor'. We shall most certainly use this site again - I wish we had a Narrow Gauge (5) loco to try out on the site Railway track.

DaveandJanW1978

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/05/2018 23:29

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very Nice C L .

Just returned from our second visit to this lovely cl. As others have said it is a great location to Llangollen either by road 5 minutes or a walk along the canal towpath about 30 minutes. It is about one and a quarter miles along the canal to town. The owners were very welcoming to us. We had pre booked for three nights and ended up staying for six nights. There are a couple of greenhouses with various plants and things in them but the five hook up pitches all face forward from these with views of the countryside, sheep and all. We will definitely use this cl again and would recommend it .

JohnBr57

Caravanner from Merseyside

Reviewed on 04/09/2017 23:18

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Could be a lot better

This is a lovely big field beautifully kept but there are only 3 hook-ups all in one corner. We were only in a small motor/home but were not allowed on the field as the owner told us that because it had been raining we would get stuck on the drive up to it. In fact it was only a slight gradient but we had to park by a greenhouse that was full of rubbish. We were glad that only 1 night was available that weekend as we would have booked for 2. We have been in the Caravan Club for over 40 years and only ever used CLs but this one was one of the worst. Otherwise it was in a beautiful area and very convenient for Llangollen so it is a shame the owners didn't understand what us caravanners like.

Maggyann

Reviewed on 07/07/2017 09:25

4 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

Stayed here for a week in and have absolutely no complaints apart from perhaps a little road noise in the mornings. The site is so convenient for Llangollen and the surrounding area and we really enjoyed the nearby walks along the canal in both directions. The owners were very friendly and provided us with lots of tips on what to see in the locality. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

amytree

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/05/2017 20:15

5 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very impressed.What a gem.

My wife and I had a lovely time here. We thought the site was in a great position, handy for Llangollen which has lots to see and do.. Yes the site is next to the Horseshoe pass road but did not bother us as in the daytime we were out and about and the road was quiet at night. We thought this site was a gem. the owners were very nice people. We will come again, it is in such a beautiful position. Carol & Tony Smith. West Yorkshire.

mr anthony smith

Reviewed on 16/05/2017 10:33

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great find

I cannot understand some of the negative comments about this delightful CL, it really is spot on. The views are great, especially with the late sun on Dinas Bran etc. Half an hour along the canal brings you into town and 15 mins in the other direction and you're at the Horseshoe Falls. From there it's a pleasant stroll by lanes and footpaths to the Abbey Grange (if open - do check) or the Britannia Inn (closed Monday). We didn't get to meet the owners as they were away but they had friends on site efficiently deputising. I could see only one hard standing, which they were using, and just 4 EHUs, but there were just 3 outfits at any one time.

MalH47

Caravanner from Merseyside

Reviewed on 27/10/2016 19:53

30 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A gem of a site.

A warm welcome from the owner started our 5 night stay off well. Very easy to get set up and plugged in. Easy access to water fill tap, recycling and waste disposal. The area itself is stunning. Scenery is breathtaking and we spent much time in Llangollen and surrounding areas. Local people are really welcoming and the bars and restaurants are all reasonably priced and of good quality. This site is a half an hour walk from town which we did every day along the canal footpath. Overall a really enjoyable stay and would recommend to other members.

BAZMAN1664

Motorhomer from Essex

Reviewed on 22/09/2016 17:31

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer