Armley Lodge Farm

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A basic site with nice views

We had a little difficulty with access to the site - it is at the end of the promontory road and the roadworks in Hambleton made it difficult to get through. There is a large Co op that has fuel too nearby which was convenient. The grass on the site was too long.

Comment from the Club:

Thank you for leaving a review and we are glad you enjoyed the views. Due to the wet weather it has not been possible for the CL Owners to cut the grass. Please be assured the grass is usually well kept. 

Fourcandles

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/09/2023 10:43

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful but basic

The situation of this CL is very convenient for access to the cycle path around Rutland Water and the views are excellent. Access is easy and you can pitch wherever you like. There is no information re local places of interest and we did not see the owner. Payment is left in a box in the porch of the house. The grass was long which was not ideal.

Comment from the Club:

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed the lovely views from Armley Lodge Farm. The CL Owner has been in touch as they would like to address your concerns. As they are a working farm they are not always available to greet guests on arrival. All guests are advised of this and are also made aware that there is always someone available if needed and contactable by phone. Due to the wet weather it has not been possible for them to cut the grass. Please be assured the grass is usually well kept. 

Guisguy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/09/2023 08:40

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely views of Rutland Water

Greeted on arrival by the owner, really pleasant and very accommodating. Decent sized field, which meant plenty of room between each outfit. Views over the water and fields were lovely. As previously stated this is a working farm, but don't let that put you off. A short walk will get you on the cycle route which goes round the water. A short drive into Oakham for shops and restaurants. Will definitely return

ClubMember9D4602B3B2

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/08/2023 13:21

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A beautiful spot with views of Rutland Water

We had a lovely stay here, what a beautiful spot, wonderful views of the water and you can walk down to the water and follow a footpath into the village to the Pub no matter which direction you walk (it is a fair walk but we like that - earns you the refreshment). Easy access to Oakham and other villages by car. Could also cycle into Oakham if wanted. Good sized field so we had lots of space. Water and electric as promised. Nice to see the ponies each day in the field on the way in and out. We didn't see a lot of the owners but did say hello in passing but that suited us fine and I'm certain had we any questions that they would have been very helpful.

DaisyVdubBettyCvan

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/07/2023 12:14

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL

We were given a warm welcome on arrival by Mr. And Mrs. Blackwell. The site is on a working farm (as stated) so expect a little noise during the day but this did not distract from our stay at all. The view over Rutland Water is perfect and the active local bird population kept us entertained. The site is well placed for visiting Oakham and the surrounding area as well as the reservoir. We can recommend the Grain Store in Oakham for lovers of real ale and the food is good as well. We will return.

TESSERIC

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/06/2023 18:27

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Campervan 2 night stay

Great location, looks out over the water. Plenty of space on the site, only minor issue was a van deciding to park in a strangely intrusive postion, but can't have everything! Facilities fine. Payment easy via cash in the owner's porch. There is a small campsite in an adjoining field but this wasn't intrusive during the stay. Easy access to Rutland Water and associated activities, either by driving or as we did, by cycling. The village would be walkable if you fancy a meal out. Owner friendly and welcoming. Would recommend.

ScreenNameC00935E7D6

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/06/2023 16:42

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wished we could have stayed longer

From chatting on the phone when I made the booking to saying goodbye as we were leaving, Mrs Blackwell was a kindly host who wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Yes it is a working farm, but we didn't find the noise a problem. In fact the three days we spent here were among the most tranquil we have experienced since moving to the east Midlands. The site facilities are perfectly adequate and the farm is immaculate. We (and our dog) liked meeting the pigs and chickens, and saying hello to the horses. As well as walks around the peninsula, when we were able to set up our scope to watch the water birds, we did a stunning circular walk from Exton to Fort Henry, another from Somerby to Burrough Hill Fort, and explored the beautiful centre of Oakham. To stay on the Hambleton Peninsula instead of just visiting for the day felt such a privilege, thanks to the Blackwell's for providing this cl.

Cygnetory

Campervanner

Reviewed on 19/09/2022 19:21

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

noisy

Well its not very often I would leave a bad review, but this might be the one. No welcome, whatsoever. The owner (farmer) did not even acknowledge me after I had said Morning. (rude) Yes it is a working farm and we have stayed on lots of them as we only use CL'S. What they should advertise is that the field you stay on, its right next to the farmers sheds, etc, where all the tractors etc are stored and used. Also what they don't tell you, is that they rent out the field next to the CL to campers over the weekends only.Not that they were any bother, apart from the cars coming and going in front of the field. It was the constant 2 dogs barking that were coming from a bungalow within the farm yard, that were a bother. They NEVER STOPPED BARKING. The CL owners insist you pay as you arrive, which was not a problem. But the box you leave your money in is not locked or cannot be locked, therefore anyone (untrustworthy), could watch you put it in then, take it out. The owner did mention to me that she had caravans that left without paying.I suggest she gets a lockable box and keep in a safe place. Yes the location is great and easy access to rutland pathways. Can only assume the people who had the good reviews of peaceful, must have stayed mid week. I think if a private site is being, run along side a C&M CL, then they must use different facilities. Dissapointed C&M member.

soulgirl

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/08/2022 14:24

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning

We were privileged to stay on this gem of a site at the beginning of August. We had a gorgeous view direct from our caravan of farm fields and Rutland Water. We didn't go any further than the peninsula that we were staying on as it was so tranquil and scenic. There are plentiful trails leading to the waters edge, once you leave the farm itself, about a 20 minute walk. There is no traffic noise, sheep, cyclists and water fowl are your main traffic! It felt like we were on an enchanted island, definitely one for the Famous Five style of camper. Bliss. Thanks to the Blackwells for allowing visitors to their piece of paradise.

Us3Caravanners

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/08/2022 21:47

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good Rutland Water site

Stayed here for 1 night in early May '22. Nice quiet little CL. Lovely views over Rutland Water.

George

Reviewed on 09/07/2022 20:46

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer