Armley Lodge Farm

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A beautiful location

We visited this site at the end of March and found it to be really nice. The grass was not that long and the noise was not loud enough to bother us. We have children that are 5+ so they enjoyed being able to see the animals over the fence and did not have any noise trying when they were going to sleep. They also enjoyed seeing the odd tractor drive past in the farm area next to the field. The views over the lake were absolutely stunning. We drove to a car park by the lake but I'm sure the lake would be well within walking distance. In summary the site was brilliant and we would definitely come back here again.

Laura Wells

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/04/2015 12:57

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful and peaceful

We stayed on 10th November last year.  The ground was wet after days of torrential rain so the owners let us park on the hard standing and hooked us up to their garage.  A beautiful location, easy walks around the peninsula and a very pretty village and lovely pub.  We also did the Remembrance Sunday church service on a crisp, dry and serene morning.  Ideal for a quiet get away. 

SusanL

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/09/2014 22:18

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ok site

We stayed here over the Easter break, and yes the location is very good, the field is not. The grass was very long making it hard for our 18 month old to walk. They had obviously over booked as they had plonked caravan number 6 in the field next door and hooked it up to their house. There is a tent field next door too which was very noisy as was approx 10 tents on their. We was parked next to the hedge with the farm at the back of us and it was very noisy till 8.30pm which was also hard getting our baby to sleep. You couldnt hear the tv because of it and it started again 8am the next morning. That was every single day we was there even sunday's. We was not greeted nor did anybody come round asking if everything was ok, i guess because they had our money upfront then they wasnt bothered. Would we go again? No definately not, even the location wasnt enough to get us back. We will def find another one in the area.

The Baker Family

Reviewed on 28/05/2014 16:17

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Site!

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here. Lovely views over Rutland Water. It was ideally situated for us as a site to explore the area. It was lovely and quiet except for some noise from the farmer's tractors and machinery in his barn next to the site. However, it is a working farm and it was harvest time so some noise could be expected. No one was there when we first arrived but next day the farmer came round and explained that his wife had gone way to visit relatives for a few days. He was very welcoming, friendly and welcoming. The site itself was lovely. Grass a bit long when we stayed but we would go back anytime.

spud56

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/08/2013 11:03

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful CL

I wrote a recent review regarding our experience with the site owners, who were nothing but helpful, when we were passing this CL staying in the area. Well we have just returned from a glorious weekend at what I thought was a beautiful site. We are new to theCaravan Club and this was our first visit to a CL. It's a great spot with great views. In an ideal world there would be a tap next to the Elysian point but this is a CL site and a working farm. I expected far more basic a site and was v impressed with the landscaping of the field. We are a family of four, with two young children, whilst we do keep them under control, I can see how children could annoy some older CC members. It is to the owners credit that they welcome families (the future of caravaning and theCaravan Club after all!)

R Wain

Reviewed on 21/07/2013 20:04

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A nice CL

I am pleased to say we enjoyed our stay here , nice level field , enough room , a little noise from the farm , but its a working farm ! The elsan point needs a water supply , the existing one is around 25 yards away ... that apart all good .

wye

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/07/2013 19:26

52 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

armley lodge farm

Just returned home after a 4 night stay and felt obliged to tell everyone about this gem of a cl. The site is well situated with fantastic views over Rutland Water and offers plenty of good walks around the Hambleton peninsula.The pitches are fairly level with plenty of space for 5 units with EHU. The tap for the water supply is in one corner of the site and the chemical disposal is just through the entrance gate. As this is a working farm you would expect it to be very noisy but this wasnt the case at all and even though the owners were always very busy they still found time for a good old chat. The Cl is very easy to find with clear signage and is one that i intend to use again in the future. Dont forget to go and see the Ospreys at Manton Bay its a must especially at this time of the year !

stejac59

Reviewed on 01/06/2013 18:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Previous reviews

We were in Rutland and as we were close to this CL site we went to visit on the off chance with a view to a possible visit in the future. The site was lovely and the owner couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. I'm making this review even bough we haven't stayed yet (we made a booking there and then for July) to give what we felt was a true reflection of the owners considering some of the comments I have just read.

R Wain

Reviewed on 06/05/2013 19:52

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL

I don't agree with the negative reviews as we've just come back from a great weekend at this CL. This is our second visit and on both occasions we found the warden's to be very welcoming and as its a working farm you expect some activity. The views across Rutland Water are fantastic. We had plenty of room although the grass was a little long we had total peace and quite the whole weekend. Ignore the negative reviews and try it for yourselves. £11 a night with electric hook-up is brillant.

Reviewed on 14/10/2012 19:26

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent Views But Spoilt By Owners

Found the site OK. Owners very unwelcoming, Receipton not sign posted, and shouted at by owners whilst trying to find out where to check in. Site doesn't have marked pitches but really does need organisation due to small size. When I arrived I wondered where I would fit in, there were only 3 units on site, should be able to take 5. Luckily Some nice people were leaving and offered me their pitch. They too were not very complimentary about the site. Bins were over flowing and chemical disposal point is a hole in the ground in a hedge covered by a metal lid. Struck me that children could easily gain access to raw sewage just by lifting the lid. No tap at to clean toilet cassette at emptying point, you have to walk 20/30 ft to the nearest tap. This tap is attached to a makeshift fence by string and difficult to turn on/off without using bith hands. Seemed to me like owners couldn't be bothered to do the job properly........ Had constant farm noise from tractors, hammering etc from 8:00am until sunset. Site has excellent views across Rutland Water and coiuld be gold mine for owners, but sorry attitude change needed.

EdTyler

Reviewed on 13/10/2012 21:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer