Ashbury Caravan Park

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a beauty

What is there not to like about this site - beautiful views, good location, very dog friendly, lovely facilities - it's got it all.  The entrance is currently quite tight, but we understand this will be widened soon, though we did manage to get our 27ft fifth wheel in - just. There are even home cooked cakes available from the cafe/gallery.  Highly recommended.

ian3441

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/08/2016 11:19

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning location

This lovely well kept cl is an absolute delight, spotless facilities. A very warm welcome from extremely helpful owners. Amazing views of Dartmoor.

Peggy27

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/08/2016 12:13

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

summer 16

We were inspired by the reviews anyway, and now we can confirm the great site that this one is! So good to have beautiful neat place with views and a coffee shop! Would definitely consider coming again.

JanDidi

Reviewed on 27/07/2016 14:29

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

10/10 highly recommended

We only stayed for one night but we will definitely be returning for longer! 

baylo1000

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/06/2016 18:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL site

We chose this CL site because it affords good access to North Dartmoor and we wanted to walk and explore the area.  We could not have chosen a better site.  The site is located within easy reach of the A30 and the roads to the site are good.  The site itself has five hard standings and as others have commented it is slightly sloping but nothing exessive.  Services for each pitch are excellent as are the toilets and shower.  In front of the pitches there is a grass area which is ideal for BBQs/eating/relaxing. The view to the front is towards Dartmoor and is lovely.  There is minimum road noise and it is very peaceful.  There is a large phone mast next to the site  entrance.  It is ugly but is not a problem as you cannot see it at all when you are pitched and looking out at Dartmoor.  During our stay we did find the mast really useful as it helped us find our way back when we had been out for a longish dog walk and were returning by a different route.  For the dog there is a small grass area with a dog bin on the site or there are public footpaths and quiet roads around the site which are ideal for walking.  This site itself is an excellent location to explore the Okehampton area and North Dartmoor.  If you are into walking you will not be disappointed.   And finally the owners,  they gave us a very warm welcome and were very helpful.  They recommended local walks and areas for us to visit.  We can recommend their cafe and gallery - a nice cappuccino and piece of cake was very welcome after setting up our caravan. We are looking forward to returning to this site and have already booked our next visit. I have no hesitation in recommending this site to others.Smile

Sarah Johns

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/05/2016 22:22

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our First trip of the year Feb. 2016

We received a very friendly. Welcome on arrival at this easy to find CL . All of the facilities were excellent and the little gallery and coffee shop a very pleasant bonus. As it seems to have been raining all winter we were glad of the hardstandings . The dog walking from the site was good but a bit limited due to mud . All in all we will definitely return and can recommend this site .

rialot

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/03/2016 12:54

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What lovely people!

A very warm welcome from Derek and Gill. Site is excellent, golf is superb (so Richard tells me!!) and as for the hot stones massage - try it - or any other treatment by Gill, totally relaxing. Beautiful items in the gallery too. All facilities and the site have been well thought out.

pamrichmisty

Reviewed on 16/11/2015 15:17

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Don't get much better!

We stayed for four nights and found the site near perfect. The site is (very, very) gently sloping but not enough to make a difference - very easy to get van level on legs, no wedges needed. All pitches have hard standing and the site is served by a hard standing approach. Each pitch has its own water stand pipe and electricity supply is available between each pitch. Site is well maintained and has very nice views across to the Dartmoor hills. There is some traffic noise off the main road, but not enough to cause any problem. All facilities are excellent and modern. Seperate male and female toilets/washrooms and a shared shower facility. WiFi is available on site, but you might need the help of a WiFi extender (which Derek very kindly lent us). There is a useful cafe on site as well. Very dog friendly. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. All in all, a perfect place to stay. Thankyou.

DottieD

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/10/2015 17:43

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a lovely site

We stayed here in August, the owners where there to welcome us as we arrived and offered us coffee.  We felt very special as we were one of the first three visitors to the site.  to say that this site is only £10 per night is amazing, full hardstanding pitches with lots of grass to the side, the owner did say sorry for the length of the grass, but this could not be helped as they had had a lot of rain.  The toilet and showers are really nice, lovely and clean, with very friendly owners.

lucmol1

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 24/09/2015 16:52

34 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Really Lovely Site

We arrived at this site quite late for a two night stay, We where met by the owner who had waited for us. We had a very warm welcome & were even offered a coffee! The site has spectacular views, is really peaceful & the on site facilities are extremely good & very clean (shower & 2 WC's). Thoroughly enjoyed our stay & look forward to a longer stay in the future. We would highly recommend this site.

Colin4Sara

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/09/2015 20:22

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer