Castle View

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The best CL in the country!!

We can’t believe being a runner up for CL of the year that this site didn’t win the award! It is a fantastic site. The CL is managed by James and is in the grounds of his working farm. James spends a lot of time maintaining the site, inspecting each pitch before new arrivals. He is very flexible and accommodating and knowledgable about the area. The pitches are shaped, spacious and all hardstanding gravel. Each pitch is fully serviced and has a quality and comfortable picnic bench and 5 planters of beautiful flowers which really add to the pitch experience. The views are breathtaking, looking at beautiful countryside one way and the sea the other. You can see St Michaels Mount which illuminates on a Saturday evening, round to Penzance and Mousehole on the other side. The site is tranquil, the perfect base to explore all Cornwall has to offer including many shops with fresh caught Cornish fish perfect for the barbecue. We really can’t recommend this site enough, however beware… it is addictive and you will most definitely want to return irrespective of how far you have to travel!! If you have friends you wish to bring along without a caravan, the site also has luxury glamming pods.

Grus67j78fF

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/04/2024 15:48

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Must be One of if not the best CL in the country

a 3-night stay at this fantastic CL. The pitches are nice and level and big enough for our twin axle 8' wide caravan. The facilities are first class and the view is to die for. James the owner is very friendly and helpful. There is also a nice field on site to run the dogs. What more could you ask from a CL or any site for that matter.

Phil Young

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/04/2024 11:14

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

a real find

spent a week here this month in varied weather. Stunning view to St Michaels Mount. The CL photoes don't do it justice. James the friendly owner spends a lot of time keeping the site tidy. Plenty to do and see in the area. We walked some of the coast path and down to the Mount crossing the causeway to reach the island.. . Beware of walking there through Marazion Marsh as the railway foot crossing is currently closed 15.4.24 due to ongoing improvements. Good local transport which is important to us as we park up and don't move the van. Nearest bus stop is a 5 minute walk, buses to Penzance and St Ives. Walk 15 - 20 minutes down to the A30 to Ludgvan Leaze or Varfell Turn to catch the Lands End coaster bus and others.. Local pub, 5 minute walk serves reasonable pub grub. Spar shop in Crowlas . will definitely go again if James has a pitch, the site is very popular abd gets booked up quickly.

Sueeh

Reviewed on 15/04/2024 14:39

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A very special CL site

Arrived at Castle View and spent one of our best holidays on this fantastic CL site over the Christmas period. The service pitch was flat and pristine with our own water, waste and EHU and the chemical waste and bin area immaculate. The panoramic views from the site are spectacular and take in Marazion, St Michael's Mount, Penzance, Newlyn and round to Mousehole, and all are within easy visiting distance from the site. There are plenty of supermarkets, shopping outlets and eateries in Penzance and nearby Hayle, St Ives and Porthleven as well as many independent retailers in this area. James and his family were wonderful hosts and added to the festivities with a Christmas tree on the pitch and a bag of 'goodies' to help celebrate Christmas, which was a lovely touch. As seasoned campers from tent through all aspects of camping/caravanning to motorhome over the past 45 years we cannot fault this fantastic CL site and will be back in the future. Many thanks to James, Debbie, Emily and Jen.

Hugs

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/01/2024 19:29

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

5* CL

Can't understand why this site is not CL of the Year. Amazing site. Everything you need on a beautifully maintained pitch and the views are out of this world. We will be back. Only downside, and this is not the CL's fault, the food in the local pub, the White Hart, was not good.

uwhomatter

Reviewed on 03/11/2023 10:03

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Spectacular Panoramic Sea View

We originally booked to visit this site earlier in the year, but due to my husband getting COVID, we had to change our plans. A quick phone call to the very understanding owners and we re-booked for October. We were not disappointed when we arrived!,quite the opposite in fact, we were blown away. It is exceptionally spaciously laid out and the maintenance of the grounds around the pitches is exceptional, even the recycling area and the chemical waste point were spotlessly clean and well laid out. The views from this site are simply spectacular, and the photos of this site that are available on line DO NOT do this site justice. When we pulled on to site we were immediately greeted by James, the owner, who was very welcoming.. This is a great location for exploring places such as St Michael's Mount, Penzance, Newlyn and is a short distance from Hayle and St Ives. The local White Hart pub in Ludgvan is well worth a visit with its original features, good food and drink. We had a good Sunday roast there! Our dog loved the walks in and around this site. Phone and TV signal is good here with my husband able to work remotely on days where the weather was not so great, which was for several days as we were here during the start of Storm Babet! I would definitely recommend this place, I only wish we had found this site sooner as we would absolutely have been here more regularly.

ScreenName9A1A861AAF

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/10/2023 23:06

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just Wonderful

This CL has got to be one of the best, if not the best. Immaculately kept & a credit to the owners, beautiful views including St Michaels mount and surrounding area. Just perfect, we loved it & will visit again.

Mollieperkins

Reviewed on 08/10/2023 18:49

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic CL

Castle View is an immaculately kept CL with its five pitches well spaced out. Each pitch has its own hard standing, EHU, water and waste water facilities. There is also a picnic table to allow you to sit and enjoy the fantastic view over Mounts Bay and the castle on St Michael's Mount. James was very friendly and welcoming. We visited in early September 2023 when the weather was perfect and made our stay just that bit more special. There is a regular bus service from Ludgvan into Penzance. Even better, just a short mile or so down the St Michael's Way footpath there is the Tremenheere Kitchen where we had a very good lunch. We loved this site so much we have booked again for September 2024!

The York Greens

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/09/2023 20:25

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just perfect

We just stayed for a week at castle view. What a perfect site. So much to see and do within easy reach. We were made so welcome by James. We hope to go back very soon. Keep doing what you are doing.

ScreenName8322CA9A6B

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/06/2023 21:58

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The Best

Probably the best CL we have stayed on in over forty years. Beautiful location with stunning views of Mounts Bay and St Michael's Mount , believe me pictures don't do it justice. The site itself perfectly complements the view, beautiful flower displays, manicured grass and immaculate waste disposal facilities. Fully serviced pitches with good TV and 4g signal. Plenty of wonderful places to visit all within an easy distance, as are numerous supermarkets. Can recommend St Michael's mount, Porthcurno,Minack Theatre and Sennen Cove. Easy communication when we booked through the CL Booking site and a lovely warm welcome by James the owner. One of those sites you will return to time after time providing you book early as it's going to be very popular.

Big Bruv

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/06/2023 21:20

74 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer