Cherry Cottage CL

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site with fantastic owners. Highly recommended.

This was our first CL site we have stayed in and all I can say was amazing. Lynne was so nice and very helpful, which always makes a huge difference to us, nothing was too much trouble. The facilities were spot on and a very quiet location. It was below freezing when we stayed in January, on booking Lynne did mention water on the pitches could be frozen so may not be in use but offered an alternative to fill up on arrival and to be honest getting water was so easy even if the pitch supplies were frozen. Although we never tried the local pub or transport, both were close by, so maybe next time. My wife and I could find nothing to dislike about this site, so highly recommended and Thank you Lynne for making our booking, payment and overall stay a pleasure. Mark & Louise

Malex0428

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/01/2023 15:38

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Highly recommended with super friendly Hosts

We left Cherry Cottage today after a lovely 4 day stay. The site is great with nice level pitches, EHU & water to each pitch and even WiFi. Really nice setting with nice walk through fields to nearest pub which is also very friendly. The site in my opinion is great value for money in a lovely setting with great hosts. No wonder Cherry Cottage gets such good reviews. We will be back. Thank you.

Peter williams

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/10/2022 18:44

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of the Best

Perfect CL, lovely owners, beautiful lawned site with two hard standings and three grass pitches. First time on a grass pitch that was perfectly level. All fully serviced with WiFi and good TV signal. Luxury of a toilet and washing machine as well. Easy access off the main road with good entrance and security gating. All set in a glorious peaceful countryside setting within easy reach of numerous local attractions and a short distance to the wonderful Dorset beaches. Why stay on a club site when you have all this for half this price.

Big Bruv

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/09/2022 22:08

78 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A gem of a site. You won’t be disappointed

We have just returned home from a fortnight in Dorset. We stayed at Cherry Cottage CL. It’s between Dorchester and Sherborne. There is a coded security gate at the entrance. The Cl is down a private drive past the owners home. There is a toilet and laundry room before the CL for use of guests. No shower facilities. The CL is well laid out with two hardstanding and four grass pitches. The owner rotates the four grass pitches, so that there is always one empty to allow the grass to recover. You pitch exactly the same as you would at a main CAMC site. Car, caravan, awning. As there is a tall hedge at the back of the pitches, you wouldn’t want to be nose in. Each pitch has EHU and water. There is an information hut, along with the usual waste disposal, recycling, grey water and a CDP on site. In front of the pitches is large enclosed dog walking area. This is separated from the pitches by a grassed area with a couple of tables and benches for guests to sit at. Lynn, the owner, provides a very comprehensive welcome E-mail. It includes the times for the local bus, which you can flag down outside the CL. As it’s a narrow lane from the main road to the CL, Lynn advises you to avoid the bus when it’s passing. We didn’t use the bus, but other guests in motorhomes did. It doesn’t necessarily run to time, so don’t give up if you are waiting more than five minutes! Included in the pitch price is 15 units of electricity per night. Each pitch has a meter and Lynn leaves a form with the current reading, your allowance, the reading including your allowance, so you know if you have exceeded it and and what to do if you exceed it. Additional electricity is currently charged at 19.5p per unit. We did not exceed our allowance. At the end of your stay, you read your meter and pop cash (if required) in to the poly bag and pop it in the box on the gate post at the entrance. Very efficient system. The area has many interesting places to visit. As we are members of NT, EH and HH, we are never short of places to go. One place we didn’t know about, but being of a certain age and remembering the exhibition in London, 1972, is a Tutankhamen Museum in Dorchester. Well worth a visit. No taking of photos though! My husband went to the Great Dorset Steam Fair, which takes place over the August BH. He said it’s the biggest and best show of its type in the country. He was able to meet up with some old pals there. We enjoyed a fabulous meal at The Green in Sherborne. If you are looking for somewhere to celebrate a special occasion or you want to spoil yourselves, it’s definitely one to go to. Lynn is a very friendly and welcoming owner. She is happy to impart her knowledge of the local and further away areas. We saw her most days as she greeted newcomers, cut grass and generally made sure all was ok with the site We enjoyed t that much and there is still so much to see that we are hoping to return in 2024 once Lynn is able to confirm her diary and costs.

Reviewed on 03/09/2022 12:15

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Summer 2022/ Cherry Cottage CL.

This fantastic CL site run by Lynn & Jon Pearcey is absolutely perfect for visiting Sherborne and the surrounding area. The site is situated in Middlemarsh on a quiet country lane with few neighbours, giving you the peace and quiet needed for a wonderful break. Pitches are well spaced and fully serviced (love) and the whole property is immaculately kept, including the Elsan and recycling area. Lynn has provided an information shed where you can find local tourist info and swap books with other visitors, also find bus timetables. A super laundry room and loo are particularly useful and we made use of the large dog walking field everyday, but there are also other walks in the area including one to the local pub. Lynn is very friendly and approachable and a useful source of information about interesting places to go and visit, her enthusiasm and love for the site (and your comfort) are unmatched. Thankyou to our perfect hosts Lynn and Jon, we really can’t recommend this site enough and look forward to many more visits in the future. Oh, and the ice cream van arrives on site twice a week, just in time for pud!

The Burds

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/08/2022 23:50

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic quiet and immaculate site

Just had four nights at Cherry Cottage CL and it was perfect made even better by glorious sunshine . Made to feel very welcome by Lynne who is happy to provide any information on the area The site is just so peaceful and has a real sense of calm about it . Two hardstanding pitches and the rest grass with metered electric. Water fully available for all pitches . Lovely information hut next to an immaculate elsan point . Near to the house n a very short walk is a toilet / washing machine n dryer for use ( £3 per wash honesty box ) Big on lead dog area . Local walks to village pub . Bus will stop right outside for trips to Sherborne and Dorchester. We throughly enjoyed our stay here

Bex66

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/08/2022 11:24

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Top class CL, Peaceful and Quiet.

We stayed for 10 days in Late June, Fabulous CL, well laid out, flat and kept very tidy by Lynn & Jon. emailed arrival instructions are comprehensive with a link to a 'things to do' website. There are Toilets at the top of the track next to the owners garages and there is also a washing machine & Dryer. Lynn provides the washing liquid and just asks that you leave the appropriate payment in an honesty box. Very peaceful at all times, all you'll hear is the birdsong Dog walk is quite a size, more than enough for an evening walk with the pooch. Lane is quite narrow near the CL entrance but if you follow Lynn's instructions you'll have no bother. We had an issue with our Jockey wheel which resulted in it being destroyed on the M5, but bless Jon, he furnished me with a spare he had lying around from an old 'van .. that's service for you! Local 'hopper' bus really does stop in the Lane by the cottage, (I had my doubts due to the narrowness of the lane!) and you can drive down kennels lane through to Glanvilles wootton, just don't try it with the Caravan on! The Hunters moon is OK for a quick lunch and run by friendly people, but we found the New inn at Cerne Abbas to be the best food in the immediate Locale. Don't forget to have a look at the Giant! Cerne Abbas Abbey is interesting for a quick visit (honesty box), as is the village itself. Also worth visiting are Sherborne, Sherborne castle, Shaftesbury (see Gold hill made famous by the 70's Hovis advert) and Dorchester They deserve the plaudits they have received for the CL and Lynn works hard to keep it pristine. I'll not hesitate to return if I'm in the area again as they seldom come better than this CL

StuBob

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/08/2022 14:52

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic !

What a treat ! We were so lucky to make a last minute three night booking for Cherry Cottage. Thank you so much to Lynn & Jon for making us feel so welcome. Everything about Cherry Cottage is excellent. We received the best pre- arrival information ever as well as a link to a pocket app loaded with information about the local area and amenities. Access to the site is easy and within seconds of arrival the tranquility sets in. We could go on about the brilliant on site facilities but they have already been covered by many previous reviews. If you’re reading this and still undecided about making a booking at Cherry Cottage, just book it, we guarantee you won’t be disappointed but please leave a few spaces for us ! …. Oh and did we mention the fabulous ice cream van that visits the site ? Delicious.

Reviewed on 17/07/2022 21:07

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Topnotch CL

Just got back from a 10 day stay at Cherry Cottage. What a lovely place to stay. A very warm welcome awaits you from your hosts Lynn and husband Jon who clearly take great pride in this CL. Its beautifully cared for with extremely well maintained grass and two hardstanding pitches. Electric hook up and mains water supply (which in my opinion is a real bonus) plus clean chemical waste and grey water disposal points which are just a few yards away from the pitches . The WC was always spotlessly clean and with good laundry facilities within the same building. The CL is very peaceful and quiet so if you are looking for somewhere to relax with a good book and perhaps a glass of wine or two then this definitely fits the bill. All places of interest are within easy reach so it is well positioned to visit the coastal resorts or explore some of the prettiest villages that characterise rural Dorset. Finding Cherry Cottage was easy - providing you take note of the instructions that Lynn sends out. We certainly had no problems at all and as soon as we arrived and drove into the CL we knew that we had made a good decision booking our stay. We are using CL's far more often nowadays and as far as I am concerned Cherry Cottage sets a standard against which to judge other locations. We shall certainly return at some point in the future.

Invictaman

Reviewed on 03/07/2022 22:30

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Super Site

Lynn welcomed us upon arrival after e mailing detailed arrival directions. I can’t remember a better CL site in 30 plus years of Caravanning! I read all the site reviews and everything exceeded our expectations. Thank You Lynn for a lovely week!

mitch1900

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/06/2022 12:07

39 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer