Cherry Cottage CL

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site, very welcoming

We stayed here for 4 nights in July, received a warm welcome from Lyn. Cherry Cottage is very well maintained charming site. Excellent directional instruction were sent out to make make it a stress free arrival. Pitches are well maintained with own water tap, the site has a dog walk in the designated field which our dog enjoyed. The nearby pub serves good food and welcomes dogs. We enjoyed our stay in the beautiful Dorset countryside and will be returning to Cherry Cottage

pjjj

Reviewed on 20/08/2021 10:27

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect Break

Stayed at this CL for four nights The facilities were impeccably maintained Pitches had been manicured to a high standard Tranquil and peaceful Surrounding area has plenty of interesting places to visit especially Sherborne The owners were helpful both on arrival and throughout our stay Would have no hesitation in recommending the site to others

RogerGlass

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/08/2021 11:53

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful site with warm welcome

A well maintained CAMC CL with friendly and very helpful owners. Situated in a quiet location overlooking neighbours horses and donkeys. The owners also have ponies. A bus will stop, if hailed, at the entrance going to Sherborne (lovely town) or Dorchester. The local pub, The Hunters Moon, does good food. There is access via the path through the fields but you still need to walk along a busy main road to reach it. We cycled along some quiet country lanes to The Green Man and had a lovely coffee and Danish Pastry from their cafe (pub also does food) which was lovely My only suggestion for improvement would be to condense the volume of paperwork/ rules (some of which are repetitive) emails sent pre arrival.

Waky

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/08/2021 09:56

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

5 Ticks

Everything is carefully thought out and maintained on this CL which is a credit to its owner. A peaceful rural setting with views and good-sized pitches, two of which are hardstanding and available throughout the year. We had Pitch 1 which wasn’t too close to the waste disposal area etc. There are no local shops but there is a local pub, which looked good but we didn’t try, and an excellent bus service to Sherborne and Yeovil in one direction and Dorchester in the other and all places in between. There is easy cycling on many minor roads and good walking, although in August we found some of the paths to be overgrown. The Wi-Fi worked well and the toilet and laundry room a good addition. We definitely hope to return.

Caraman123

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/08/2021 14:03

72 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A great week

We spent a week at this site towards end of July this year. We immediately noticed how clean and quiet the site was. There were lovely horses and donkeys in a nearby field as well as sheep. This site had one of the best dog walks we have experienced...very close to the site. We did walk to a decent pub either across field or along Road. It was a long walk for some people and not suitable to walk to at night. We personally like to walk from sites to restaurants, grocery shops, places of interest but really you need a car to see places of interest. Would recommend and certainly return.

GBC

Reviewed on 10/08/2021 11:44

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Recent stay

Recently stayed here for 4 nights and found the site to be very clean and well spaced between vans. Owners very welcoming and knowledgeable on local area. We hope to stay here again when visiting family members, maybe with our ‘grand dog’, as they have a very good enclosed dog walking are. Site very secure with excellent WiFi.

kevin jones

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/08/2021 16:45

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Cherry Cottage

We stayed here for a couple of nights in July and received a very warm welcome from Lynn on our arrival. The site is spacious with lots of room and very well maintained with EHU and water on each pitch. The free wi-fi came in handy too. We were on the pitch nearest to the facilities but it didn't detract at all from our stay. Our dog enjoyed the walk round the designated field and we walked across a couple of fields to the nearest pub which serves good food and is also dog friendly. We found the site peaceful and tranquil and will be returning.

Sonsman

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/08/2021 20:09

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Cherry Cottage CL

My experience of Cherry Cottage is a little different to other folk. A lovely maintained site for sure although a lot of rules and regulations are in place which spoilt it for me. Facilities weren't open and in a campervan I do struggle, and elsewhere CLs and club sites had opened their facilities. I should have checked. I was also looking forward to the peace and tranquility and while I appreciate I visited slap bang in high summer and harvest time, every evening I was there, I experienced a lot of noisy machinery. No peace at all, so if it is peace you're after then visit outside of harvesting! Entrance is very narrow and bigger units will struggle. Plus the hedge at the front of the cottage obstructs the road view when pulling out. I had a lovely pitch with nice field view., pitches are spaced well although Pitch 1 seemed a little close to bins and elsan. Bear this in mind if you want complete peace. I didn't use the dog walk, which was enclosed, but I noticed that dogs should be kept on lead in there, why? It is enclosed? Of course this is just my opinion and what suits me may not suit others, it is a dear little site and I'm sure my review won't deter others and nor should it, it is a good site, just not the right one for me.

Reviewer246

Campervanner

Reviewed on 30/07/2021 18:10

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely welcoming site

The directions given were spot on so much information before hand makes it a stress free arrival, lovely small site loads of space either side of your pitch, own tap which is great. Owners were so welcoming and like to have a chat so that’s nice you can see they love what they do and should be very proud of what they’ve achieved. The pub is only a short distance away and very good food. Very central site to visit the local areas. We have already booked for next year and can’t wait to return.

AllyAndy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/07/2021 16:45

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

What a lovely small peaceful and beautifully kept site, lovely welcome from the owners upon arrival, key entry to the site so feel very safe, lovely level pitches and plenty of room between each pitch, Free wi-fi, and water tap for each pitch, good length dog walk around the large field. Plenty of places to visit within short distance, highly recommend this site, can’t wait to return later in the year.

Peter27

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/07/2021 12:39

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer