Choller Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice site with level pitches but some road noise.

Easy to find site but had problems with the auto opening gate, fortunately owner was there and let us in. 7 pitches to select from, we initially picked a grass site but the full sun was too hot so moved to one with a bit of shade. Pitches level, plenty of space with own water. Other facilities are excellent plus it has a shower and loo which is very handy. Electricity is metered and is a very fair way of doing it but you have to remember to keep checking the meter, we had to buy an extra £7 of electricity during our weeks stay so about £2 per night (you get £1 inc.). Nice views of the meadow with goats and sheep. We found the adjacent road noise slightly annoying but didn't cause any sleep issues. Handy having a station at Barnham plus good bus services. Barnham is nothing to write home about but it has a Tesco Express and Barnham Trading Post which is a cheaper place to food shop. All in all a great site and a good hub to explore the local area.

Rich and Gill

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/09/2023 19:30

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

Lovely stay at this level, grassy site. Good facilities Cycle path opposite the site entrance makes for easy cycling in the area inland, or to the beach. Barnham station is a 15 minute walk away and we took the train to Portsmouth, which was a lot easier than driving. Shower has meter so take plenty of 20p coins. Very accurate and helpful directions to the site.

ClubMember8CE3E18B7E

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/09/2023 19:09

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Relaxing week

We have just returned from a very relaxing 6 nights at this CL. The sheep and the lambs, the cows and thier carves, the donkeys and goats all provided great entertainment. We came away very relaxed and wishing we could have stayed longer. Had problem with the gate not working via phone access, but this got fixed a couple of days before we left but still denied us access so was a bit of a problem. We will return for another visit soon.

Sues EH

Reviewed on 22/06/2023 10:09

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely grassy working farm site

Lovely grassy site with hidden hard standing under grass, water and EHU, and two good loos and a shed with info and a walk in shower. Immediately behind our pitch there are sheep and donkeys, then cows further afield, and as sun set 1000s of jackdaws and 100s crows, on the ground and in the sky, eventually roosting in trees on far side of field. Great walking direct from site, towards Walberton, then along bridleway north called Copse Lane, to Slindon village and estate. Along Butt Lane green track and over Nore Hill and Woods, back past Nore Hilly Folly, and via Slindon again, to Holly Tree in village for drink. Another pub with good menu south 1/2 mile in Barnham (didn't go to this).

Kevin Blackburn

Campervanner

Reviewed on 05/11/2022 13:47

18 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

We have had another lovely stay on the site. Toilet and shower are always very clean to use, site is kept in excellent condition. My partner did a lot of fishing both pond and fish are in very good condition he even caught one that was 25 pound one of the day. The owners are very nice and helpful.

ScreenName7DC14B51F9

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/08/2022 06:23

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Amazing

Our family stayed here on the April bank holiday and what an amazing Stay. Tracey and Keith are fantastic hosts and we couldn't ask for anything else. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left nothing was to much trouble. It was a joy to fish the lake with its superb stock and very well kept fish. The lodges are looking great and we cant wait to try these. The facilities are lovely and clean and since the last time we were here there is now water to every pitch as well. Cant wait to return again see you all soon, Dave and Annette Morgan very happy campers.

Dave46Biker

Reviewed on 03/05/2022 10:52

5 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent first experience

Our first multi-night stay since purchasing our motorhome and we couldn't have chosen a better venue. Easy to find entrance to the site and a warm welcome from Tracey. We were the only unit staying for the first night so we had the pick of the field. In our enthusiasm, we chose somewhere on the grass where we immediately got slightly bogged down but luckily, we were level and adjacent to EHU and water and were able to enjoy a peaceful sleep until the next morning when Keith cheerfully towed us to firmer ground. (Lesson 1: visually inspect a grass pitch before driving on to it). All pitches have just been upgraded to be used throughout the year, having had plastic mesh installed, but as they had only just been completed, we stayed off these to give the grass a chance to flourish. Each pitch has its own EHU and water tap and although the electricity is metered, the pitch we used had some credit outstanding from a previous visitor and with the addition of our £1.00 cards (we received a £1.00 voucher for each night of our stay), we didn't need to purchase any further cards. We didn't experience any undue noise from the road and slept like logs. Grey water and toilet emptying facilities were close at hand, just outside the camping field, and close by was the shower block and toilet block, both of which were in tip-top condition. Opposite the farm entrance was a cycle/pedestrian path which meant there was no need to walk on the road to Barnham or Walberton villages. The farm's fields were also at our disposal to walk our dog and there is a nice fishing lake on site to take a short stroll around. Arundel, Bognor, Chichester and Littlehampton are close by and we enjoyed a day exploring the Weald & Downland Museum that is 20 minutes drive away. (lesson 2: Remember to duck down when passing through ancient doorways - they hurt!) Undoubtedly the sunshine we enjoyed helped make our three days even more enjoyable but we can't help thinking that Choller Farm is a great choice for a stay in West Sussex whatever the weather. Thank you Tracey and Keith for your hospitality - the site is a credit to you. Colin & Judy

Col and Jood 0n Tour

Campervanner

Reviewed on 28/03/2022 14:13

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Choller farm stay

Stayed at Choller farm for 10 nights straight forward booking and details to enter sent via email excellent. Envelope ready when met Tracey at door Thank you for letting us stay on your working farm Noise is heard but guys its a working farm pitch had the meter and water next to it. Waste disposal area and bin next to toilets male and female and a shower a pound gets you a hot one with no rush use it definatly worth it always clean and tidy. Fishing lake also at a great price weather conditions not favourable this time for me but will come back to fish it later in year. We enjoyed our stay thank you The Murrell pub up the road is great 15 mins walk Jennie and Steve will serve a warm welcome.

Ryder and Wendy Lady

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/01/2022 06:17

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 1 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First CL site since joining

This site was easy to book, payment via bank transfer. Arrived on site , good security gate went to collect our welcome letter and ask a couple of local area questions however I didn't find the owner very welcoming she seems stressed and almost like it was too much trouble, not the experience we've had on club sites. 2 toilets male and female ( we used our own) shower is charged but adequate however its in need of a good scrub especially the floor I shared my last shower with a slug 🤣 . Our electric meter was right next to the next campers door which felt intrusive and the gate to the shower was right next to our other neighbours door . Grass pitches closed for winter so the area to pitch is a gravelled like a weed filled car park but dry. The town of Barnham is around 15 minutes walk via the cycle path but apart from a field their was no interesting dog walks in the area around this site. Personally I found the owner unapproachable and the site more like wild camping but it was OK for a stop over . WiFi on this site is free but virtually unusable I had 1 bar the whole 4 days.

Comment from the CL Owner

Thank you for your review. We do take all feedback seriously and are sorry to read that your visit with us was not as you expected. We are a little surprised by some of your comments as you had asked whilst staying with us to extend your stay on more than one occasion, which unfortunately we were unable to do, due to being fully booked.

As we work during the day, we have ready for you on arrival an information pack which has lots of local information, and further information is available on the Information Board on site. We also let you know that there is a cycle path opposite the farm, which offers lots of places for you to walk with your dog. A map is also available on the Information board of a circular walk, taking you through the two villages and across fields, along with access to our fields and the fishing lake that you can walk around.

The toilets, showers and floors are cleaned and thoroughly checked every morning, unfortunately, as they are accessed from the outside, those customers using the showers could bring anything in on their shoes before the next clean. As you can see from previous reviews many have commented on the cleanliness of the facilities.

Due to recent weather warnings and heavy rain, we had to make a decision to close off our grass pitches and the weed filled car park is usually kept cut, but due to having to close the grass pitches suddenly, we had not had chance to cut the area before new vans arrived on site.

The Wi-Fi is used by others on site, and unfortunately as we are in a rural location our Wi-Fi is not the best, but is usually good enough for emails, social media, and researching things on the Internet.

We are sorry that you felt we were unapproachable, we try to ensure that our customers feel welcome at our site and feel we assisted you with everything you enquired about. Unfortunately, we were not able to offer you the extra nights you wanted, or for you to depart late as we had someone else coming in that day, however we offered you somewhere off the site that you could park up if that was of help to you. You also asked for a receipt before departure, which was emailed to you ready before you left.

We are sorry that you feel we did not meet your expectations, however at £14 per night, we feel our prices and the facilities we offer (including those we do not have to provide) are reasonable and have many happy customers returning year after year.

sharonankarl

Campervanner

Reviewed on 11/11/2021 08:28

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A1 site

Great site for £14 per night we stayed for 7 nights in June. Very nice owners A1 facility's very clean and well kept, great security with electric gate. Nice fishing pond in next field fishing is good. Great for visiting Portsmouth and local area. Nice big pitches. Electric is extra you have to buy card for meter we only used about £5 for week but we ran fridge on gas. Will return again thanks for great stay, this site is a credit to the owners'.

ScreenNameAECF6B1F24

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/09/2021 19:54

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer