High House Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning place

For the last 9 years we have stayed 5 maybe 6 times a year at the two CL sites in East Prawle, and this was our first visit to High House Farm. It is a stunning location, very peaceful and spoilt for choice with dog walks in all directions, and easy access to many beaches all around from Slapton Sands to Mill Bay, either on foot or by car. The Gara Rock Hotel is only a short walk away and East Prawle with an excellent country pub and village shop only 5 minutes away by car. Mrs. Froud has produced a handy information sheet which she hands to all her visitors and it is also freely available on the notice board by the gate. The site description clearly states do not follow sat nav and that is for good reason. They roads are fine if you keep to the main road, from Stokenham, in and out with your van, our unit is 8 meters long plus the car. There are plenty of passing places for a car and van on this road as it is frequently used all year round by large tractors and trailers and the school bus with no problem. Will certainly be visiting again.

alfie dog

Reviewed on 13/08/2021 09:28

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 1 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Not what I expected

Even though the site was suitable the roads and instructions given by owner were not very good. It would have been better if directions read follow road to roundabout not the cross. If required to leave site to go anywhere you have to drive a single track road for 6miles both ways. Beach was 8mins drive and certainly not suitable for the older generation. We damaged our caravan finding the site which was a nightmare then when we left it was 6am to avoid traffic. I took my life and my dogs walking down these roads The only good thing I can say was the weather was good. Feel it should be Adult only site as during our stay two family's arrived with about 6 kids playing ball around are area. I certainly felt the review given by owner was not what we experienced.

Comment from the Club:

Thank you for your review.The CL Owner has been in touch to advise it is a 10 minute walk to the coast path and another 10 minutes down to the beach. There is another beach which is 30 minutes walk or is an 8 minute drive which is suitable for the elderly. The approach roads are single track in places however please be assured there are lots of passing places.

clareday123

Reviewed on 23/07/2021 20:38

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very peaceful site with sea views

As others have said the roads to the site are interesting (narrow). However we have a 27 foot long, 8 foot wide caravan towed by an Audi Q7 and got there OK. Just take your time. Was it worth it, definitely. Probably the quietest, most peaceful site we have ever been on in a beautiful part of the country. Level, plenty of space with sea views. Grass kept short. We are on EE and the phone/data signal was usually OK but sometimes disappeared. Good area for walking. Nice beach at Gara Rock. We walked to the ferry across to Salcombe a couple of times once via the road and once via a footpath near to the Gara Rock Hotel via Mill Bay which cut out the steps down to the ferry. Overall a beautiful location.

Don Ricardo

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/06/2021 10:50

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful, but optimistic description

The site was beautiful with amazing sea views. We walked into Salcombe, via a fun ferry ride and had a wonderful day. Never saw the owner, which didn’t bother us, but I know it does some people. I think the lady’s husband is poorly, so we will happily let her off. The bad news is, the journey to the site is a white knuckle ride for many miles. The roads are the narrowest we have come across, and we’ve just been round Cornwall. We had a nightmare in our 7.45m motorhome and the smaller camper van owners at the site had said they had struggled also. Basically, “suitable for motorhomes” should be taken with a pinch of salt. Can’t imagine doing it with a big caravan. We had trouble leaving because the grass had got wet and was hard to get grip. Also, if you like walking, as we do, no problem, but be aware, it’s just not 0.75 of a mile. It was about a 2 mile walk each way which, as expected coming up from the sea, is very uphill on the way back.

simonbarnes7

Reviewed on 20/05/2021 19:07

21 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and Quiet!

We stayed here for two weeks in July 2020. A beautiful little site with views of the sea and very quiet apart from the birds. Hand sanitizers were everywhere. By the gate and recycling. One on each tap and hookups. Lots of places to visit. Coast path a 10 minute walk down the lane. Yes there are narrow lanes but if you drive slowly they’re not too much of a problem. Don’t use Sat Nav. We found the directions good but when it says “drive for four miles” look out for a little red post box on the right then take next on turning on the right which is Knowles Cross and continue with instructions. We unfortunately missed this turning. We were looking for a cross roads! Definitely an amazingly beautiful area to visit especially for walking. Recommended.

Beulah

Reviewed on 15/08/2020 13:33

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ignore sat nav if you love your van!

Great site as per reviews. Stunning. Like a fool I believed myGarmin caravan and camping sat nav. She took me on an unmade track. My poor motorhome scraped and pruned it's way along four miles of said track. No passing places, hairpins, sharp turns into steep inclines. My wife was pleading for me to make it stop. Plan your route in great detail, ignore your nav! Follow lorry route. Still narrow and dodgy for mirrors and wide vehicles, but much better than "recommended sat nav route" All roads within 10-15 miles of site not for those with a nervous disposition.

admiral halsey

Reviewed on 12/08/2020 22:10

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Simply our favourite site.

Just returned from another visit to this lovely site. If you are looking for peace and quiet, coastal, woodland and field walking with a cream tea in the Gara Rock Hotel 400 yards away at the end then this is the place to be. You can lie in bed at night and instead of counting sheep, watch the lights on the ships heading up and down the English Channel. We come at all times of the year and it's always a pleasure to chill out here. Mill Bay beach is an easy walk through fields and woodland and the ferry across to Salcombe is a couple of hundred yards further, Gara Rock beach is even closer. Don't be put off by the reports of narrow roads. We have a 7m motorhome and there are many passing places. Allow yourself time and just take it slowly and you really won't have a problem. The devonian exhortation: 'Rush along steady', pretty much sums it up!

Owen Davies

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/07/2020 09:23

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous CL for all

Roads just keep on getting smaller after Kingsbridge, but well worth the effort to reach this quiet bit of paradise. Stunning views from site, and great walks straight from the site. Simple CL, with power, water and chemical disposal point. Helpful friendly owner. Mix of couples of various ages, and a family. All having a lovely time. We're fortunate to live only an hour or so away, so this will become a regular short break for us.

7ncj

Motorhomer from Devon

Reviewed on 19/07/2020 17:56

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great option, but getting there has its challenges

The big challenge with this site is getting to it and from it (I thought my wife was having another baby the way she reacted to the roads). Unlike the previous description we had zero problems following the instructions to get to the site, We had checked out on the map and common sense with the instructions got us there. It's a good job as the roads are small and not for the faint hearted, you cannot afford to get it wrong. My advice is arrive early or late as the roads are generally quieter. Having said that we left at 20.00 in poor weather conditions and we expected to meet 5 or 6 cars on previous experience, but we met 30 (a wedding apparently coming the opposite direction). It took us 25 mins to drive 5.5 miles. Having said that the site is a basic CL with electric, it is well maintained drains well and glorious views. The welcome is good and the facilities are clear and easy to use, just what you'd want or expect. The walking and local beaches are excellent, but going further a field is a challenge in time if you want to explore all Devon. Note, for Dartmouth the A379 is closed and it is a long way round. However, if you are looking at this site you aren't going for the usual attractions and have probably done a bit of research. It is the coast, peace and quiet and a chance to escape from everybody else that this site offer and it does that really well. The other visitors present ranged from the retired to young families and everybody loved it, although we believe one or two cancelled, and there were free spaces - shame on them Our other major challenge was the disadvantage of having the open views from the top of the hill, we had some the high winds and heavy rain. We wrestled our porch awningcdown at 1.20 in the dark, before is was damaged. The worsening forecast meant we left a day early. However I paint a negative picture with road access or weather, but if you've read this far you are genuinely interested in the area. I'd say give it a go, be sensible about your arrival time and enjoy it - we certainly did. If you want loads of attractions and need others to entertain you - forget it - that's not the point of using this site.

idristdragon

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/08/2018 20:08

35 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Off the beaten track

We travelled from Essex on a bank holiday Saturday. This is usually a resonable journey and around 7 hours maximum with a couple of decent stops. Traffic was horrendouse...10.5 hours later we arrived at the site! We used the CC Club directions and personally I don't think they are particularly clear as they don't state you actually have to go through Kingsbridge and beyond. We also took a wrong turn not far from the site and had to call and ask for help. Ruth came out to meet us thankfully and we followed her the remainder of the way - big thank you! The roads are very narrow for a fair way and it does take a long while even to drive a fairly short distance. If you don't mind this, then it will be fine. On the final part of the route to the campsite the road is pretty much single track with just passing places - which weren't always wide enough. On the way in our caravan got scraped by a car who thought he could squeeze by. Another camper also had an altercation on the way in. Maybe we were unlucky but I couldn't find any local shops unlike a previous review had mentioned, although we did drive past the bakers. There is a shop come post office around the area of the bakery. However, this isn't just a few minutes drive. So be stocked up beforehand - we were, so no problem. The site has a great view with sea in the distance. A pleasant evening walk took us to Gara Rock (hotel is being refurbished but doesn't look like it's ready to open in the summer as per their website). We visited North Sands beach (like it there, been before). Took around 30 - 40 minutes to get there. Car park opposite beach. It's a fair drive to Dartmouth as A379 is still closed at Slapton. We went to Britannia Shack at Beesands - good fish, reasonably priced. I think the information leaflet provided is pretty good though the attached map is of poor quality and needs improving. We had mixed weather but a restful stay which is what we had planned. We've previously stayed at Dartmouth CC and a non CC site (Parklands) which is around 20 minutes away. Although we liked the site it was a little too far out the way and I absolutely hated the scarey lanes, especially towing. Hats off to my husband - I could never have done it.

markaird

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/06/2018 18:36

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer