Holmside

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just wonderful, you must come here!

What can I say, the reviews are right!! What an absolutely lovely CL with the most amazing owner, Caroline. She bought us a really yummy hot cooked breakfast to our door on a very chilly Sunday morning. Delicious! Fantastic honesty shed with ice cream, eggs, essentials & more importantly the menu for Caroline’s food! You must come here. It’s on the western edge of the lakes, Wastwater is within reach as is Scafell. Then conversely the beach is ten minutes away, so best of both worlds! It’s worth the drive round as it has amazing views of mountains & sea. We came from the south, staying on the A roads and it’s no problem at all. Come via Gosforth (excellent pub, shop and free parking). The CL itself is very spacious with lovely level pitches. It’s quiet with horses in the paddocks. The shower and toilet are spotlessly clean. There are good recycling and toilet waste facilities. Seriously I couldn’t fault it. Caroline is incredibly welcoming with lots of tips and info on the surrounding area, Do come. You won’t regret it!!

BertiesTravels

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/01/2024 10:44

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We cannot fault anything about this site

What a fabulous site that we heartily recommend!! The owner was so nice and welcoming when we arrived. The toilet and shower were spotless and modern. The pitches were all hardstanding and well spaced out. There was plenty of room for a caravan or motorhome, awning and car. Caroline is happy to cook for her guests and provides a menu with prices in the information room. We had a full English breakfast of bacon, sausages , egg, hash brown, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, black pudding and toast for £8 each. She brings the food hot to your van. We also had the meat and potato pie one evening and made the mistake of ordering the apple pie the same night which we were too full to eat but it made a wonderful pudding the next day, so be warned the pies are huge!! Thank you so much Caroline for making our holiday such a happy one. We will certainly be back.

SueMJ

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/10/2023 19:35

11 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Sheer Luxury on a CL

We do about 100 days a year put and about. We visit many sites. We lnow 'excellent' when we see it. We are currently on a week's stay on this marvellous CL. I booked this after reading several reviews and seeing the local scenery. It's cold and autumnal here but the bright sun adds to a great stay. So very peaceful with noticeable dark skies. If you need any encouragement over and above the lovely hosts, the manicured site, the spacious pitches with metered elec, the very reasonable cost, the hotel style toilet and shower, and then the amazing location close to the impressive West Lakes hills and the glorious sandy beaches nearby.... then how about the most perfect full English breakfast (or afternoon teas) delivered to your pitch at a time of your desire. Hotel standard meal, and none left! My kind of 5 Star. Your honour, I rest my case. I thoroughly recommend visiting this site.

Bobmsmart

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/10/2023 10:10

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A great CL site

I chose this site based on reviews by other members. We spent 5 nights there in late September 2023. I am very grateful for the accurate and helpful opinions of caravan and motorhome members who wrote these positive reviews which helped me pick Holmside. I will add to what has been said previously. This is an excellent site. Although a little care is needed when approaching from the village of Gosforth, the site entrance is very easy to negotiate. The pitches are well laid out, good level hard ground with utilities excellently placed. There is an overall sense of peace and a relaxed atmosphere. The single toilet/shower room is modern and kept clean. There is a wildness about the west lakes which contrasts well with the perhaps more popular areas around Windermere. We enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation going back. CL sites like this one deserve all the support they are due.

My knees ache

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/10/2023 17:34

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What an exceptional site

Stayed here for three nights and had an amazing stay. Caroline is such a lovely lady, so helpful. Had her fantastic breakfasts - what a treat to have it brought to your motorhome. Lovely clean site with spacious pitches.

wildu

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/10/2023 22:35

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Absolutely fabulous!!

My hub & I have just spent 6 very relaxing days @ Holmside CL, thank you Caroline for your hospitality at your lovely site. I was drawn to this CL because of all the fabulous reviews and we definitely agree with all the previous comments. The site is immaculate with every attention to detail considered - spacious well manicured pitches, spotlessly clean toilet/shower room and there’s a lovely hut with lots of touristy recommendations, DVD’s, books plus an honestly shop of fresh produce and basic items that may have been forgotten. Our 2 spaniels were welcomed and there’s several paddocks on site for convenient quick walks/toileting. Fabulous beach walks were only a 10mins drive away. The icing on the cake for this site has to be Caroline’s home cooked food - absolutely delicious, such good value and delivered to your pitch!! Cannot recommend enough, thank you very much, we will return!!

ABroady

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/09/2023 21:15

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pure bliss

What a gem of a site. We arrived and our name and pitch number was on the board at the entrance. Set up and then welcomed by the owners daughter i believe who advised us of everything we needed to know and then continued on with her tasks. We weren't fortunate to have been able to indulge in any of Caroline's treats as she was away but we will be back. Very well maintained site, spacious and bright. An info room provided the usual local info but also local ice-cream and handmade crafts for sale. (Payment, cash in Honesty box) Books and DVDs available also. Single shower and toilet facility was pristine as was the services area. 10 units of electric lectric was included in the pitch fee of £20 per night. Anything over was charged at 32p per unit I think. We were there 3 nights and used 25 units. We ventured into the village, 25 minute amble on lanes but only for a nosey. The famous bakery didn't open on a Saturday so we lucked out there but had a lovely and reasonably priced meal at the Kellbank. We enjoyed watching from our van, the horses in the field and the farm cats, we counted 4 of each. This site is definitely on our visit again list.

Jack

Reviewed on 28/08/2023 17:10

46 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

WHAT A LOVELY C L SITE

We recently spent two weeks on this beautiful site. As we arrived Caroline came out to greet us and explain where everything was to be found. The site is absolutely spotless and well kept, with large hardstanding pitches and grass in between each pitch. It was so quiet, no road noise, just so peaceful. Caroline , Chris and Alison were very friendly and lovely to talk to, usually as we went out for a walk with our dog. There are excellent dog walks from the site. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return in the future.

Trelowenan

Reviewed on 15/08/2023 20:03

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Must agree

What a great site!! We chose Holmside because of the excellent reviews and were not disappointed in the least. Caroline’s site is well laid out, with huge HS pitches and plenty of grass in between, spotless toilet and shower, not to mention the great views and location. Gosforth is a lovely little village, about a 20 min walk away and can recommend visiting the Gosforth Hall pub to spend time in their beer garden on a sunny day. Wasdale and Eskdale are only a short drive away and are a must. We made use of the honesty shop and borrowed her maps for several local walks. Caroline’s cooking is out of this world and we were well and truly stuffed after her afternoon tea and then her breakfast on our departure day. We wish we could have stayed for longer, as there is so much to see and do in the area, but that’s our reason for coming again. Thank you, Caroline.

BazandMary

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/07/2023 15:00

10 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect peaceful site

We have just come back after spending 6 nights at this wonderful site. Large hardstanding pitches, Caroline encourages you to put your awning on the grass so your car goes at the other side. Beautiful views from the site. If you are coming from the north don't follow the satnav as it will take you down very narrow lanes as one couple did 😬 We will definitely return.

ashby1

Reviewed on 24/06/2023 21:49

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer