Hunger Hill CL

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL for Motorhome users

Apart from being only 2 miles from the Tobars2Tow garage, I found this an excellent rural CL for the use of motorhome owners. We had a 3 night stay here while my tow car was being worked on at Towbars2Tow’s garage. Access from the main road is very good and there are 5 well spaced out, level, large, hard standing pitches with plenty of grassy areas in between to relax upon. The well designed service area, on the left of the entrance to the site, is in a hard standing area also reserved for visiting cars and it is possible to draw alongside the service points to take on water and discharge waste. While there is no drive over waste if you have waste discharge pipe extensions it is easy job to empty the grey waste here. You will receive a good welcome from Sally the owner who explains what is available on the farm and the local area. The former has ample walking opportunity around the outskirts of the fields and the adjacent woodland and small lake. For days out, we had no problem parking our 8 metre motorhome in the Lakeside car park in Cleethorpes and we had a great value carvery at the Jug and Bottle at Holton Le Clay which has a large car park, both are about 10 miles away. A shorter drive away, just off the A46 on the way into Cleethorpes at Laceby Acres, there is a large Morrisons superstore where again we had no problems parking. There is a minor problem with the location which some may find annoying and that is road noise from the A1173 is audible while sat outside. It is worse in peak times or when boy racers on motorbikes decide to open up the throttle. Apart from this I would have rated it 5 star for everything. Would I use this site again, most definitely.

peedee

Motorhomer from Bedfordshire

Reviewed on 14/08/2021 09:52

27 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

WOW !

WOW ! A very peaceful and relaxing site. The pitches are huge and the owner will do everything she can to make sure you enjoy your stay. It truly is a beautiful site !

P Livings

Reviewed on 15/06/2021 21:42

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First Class

Our first time away with our 3 yr. old granddaughter and we couldn't have picked a better venue. Very easy to access. The site is immaculately kept, huge hardstanding pitches with plenty of grass to play on. Our granddaughter loved the walks ( adventures as she called them), spotting all the wildlife, squirrels, herons, rabbits, pheasants and of course feeding the fish in the pond, they put on some extra weight while we were there. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area although with the current situation we chose to stay fairly close to home. All in all a lovely well kept site, we will certainly return.

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great with kids!

I think the term hidden gem is overused, but this really is! Lovely site, immaculately kept. 5 hardstandings with plenty of grass area between and around. Private pond and wooded area with an adventure playground. So much thought has gone into the activities for kids. There's a trail through the woods with clues and things to find, just the right distance for little legs. Plus the gruffalo trail for the slightly bigger ones, with stickers to collect along the way. Food in the information hut so they can feed the fish in the pond. Such friendly, helpful owners. We had problems getting our electrics sorted, or so we thought, turned out to be a dislodged bulb! We were embarrassed for dragging them out in the dark to help us but they were fine about it, very understanding. Happy to refreeze our ice blocks for us. Well stocked information hut, also has DVDs and books to borrow. Do note however, NO TOILET FOR 2020. They usually have a portaloo, hence notation of toilets on the website, but not possible this year due to covid. Not a problem for most club members, but we are in a trailer tent so not ideal. Worth the inconvenience for a couple of nights though, to be in these lovely surroundings. Had to downgrade for peace and tranquility due to road noise, but I don't think it would be such an issue in a caravan.

LibbyMTT

Trailertenter

Reviewed on 12/09/2020 12:59

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent well cared for site

Lovely site with large hard standing pitches and well kept lawned areas surrounding. All facilities clean and tidy. Useful information hut. Stayed at this site for a week and found it to be peaceful and easily accessible. Would highly recommend.

JaneAng

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/09/2020 06:38

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabs fabs fabs

What a fabs site cannot fail it if I give it to much of a review everybody will go there and we won't get in eh eh fantastic pitches lovely dog walk we will be returning soon!!!

daveywayvey

Reviewed on 18/05/2018 19:16

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

WHAT A FIND.

Not being familiar with this part of England we were not sure what to expect. The site is easy accessible off the main A1173.The setup was easy as the pitches were huge (hard standing). It is in a pleasant situation with open fields on one side and woodland on the other. The site offers the usual water point /toilet emptying/ rubbish bins.The information hut is well stacked with anything you wish to know about the area plus books/ films/maps.The owners who are caravanners themselves are very helpful and informative on the area. Our 2 week stay was a very pleasant one and when in the area again would not hesitate to return.

RUMP

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/05/2018 07:53

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Mini Caravan Club Site

Hunger Hill is a well cared for CL. It has very good 'housekeeping' facilities, level hard-standings, an excellent information 'site hut' and woodland and farm walks next door. No complaints and could thoroughly recommend a stay if you're looking for a quite site near the north end of the Wolds. We use it as a base when visiting relations so cannot comment on any of the local places of interest (shame), only to say there are plenty (see in 'site hut'). The fish and chip shop in Keelby is good but avoid the Chinese take away. Shops for necessities in Keelby also as well as a Spar service area on A18 / A46. I'm sure we will be back

GoldieK9

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 04/10/2016 16:44

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Little gem and lovely people.

Stayed here for 3 nights in September and was immediately made to feel welcome by the site owner. Hard standing pitches and field were immaculate and very clean bin, water and waste point. Site has a shed with local information, maps, walking suggestions, local attractions and takeaway menus. Also has books and DVDs. Every little detail has been thought about. Great little gem of a site. Would definitely recommend!

Hillhead70

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/09/2016 15:56

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A great first visit to Hunger Hill - we'll be back

Hunger Hill is the first CL we have used in this area; and from staying here for our on-route visit to the Lincoln Motorhome Show this is a CL we will now regularly visit. The drive or tow to Hunger Hill is easy, which makes this CL accessible to all; we are a 9m-twin TAG motorhome and the entrance was no problem, due to the nice wide drive / gate. Trees and an open field border the CL and it has great feel of the countryside. There is plenty of room to maneuver and pitch on the level hardstanding areas. The grey water dump and ESLAN point is fenced in a level refuse area. Having two chocolate Labradors, dog walks are key for us and a gate leading from the CL provides dog walkers with a public path to open fields that the most energetic of hounds can be tired. For the more relaxing approach, the CL provides a well-stocked information hut, there is a Chinese Takeaway and Fish and Chips within a five-minute drive; plus the TV and the free WiFi is excellent. If like us you have you own Sat system the tree line does not affect you getting the required lock to Astra-2. Peace and quiet equals’ relaxation and Hunger Hill is the tonic to leave the woes of the week behind. The local village shop (five minute drive) can provide papers, milk, etc. and for those wishing to venture out in the evening there are local pubs; however, as we never tried these so we can’t comment. Either a short stay, or a base to visit Lincolnshire I can’t think of a reason why you would not want to base yourself at Hunger Hill- See you soon – Tanya & Mick.

TanyaandMick

Motorhomer from Suffolk

Reviewed on 25/09/2016 15:32

35 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer