Laurel Bank Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great for a stop over

We stayed a few nights in September. Very easy to get to from the A61 and would be perfect for a quick stop over. It is near to days out too. The entrance is quite narrow, especially when turning in from the road so careful driving is needed. No welcome so to speak but that suited us, it allowed us to pick a pitch and get set up without any hassle. The toilet is pretty basic and you will probably have to share it with a few spiders but we didn't mind. The shower was a little grubby and there is no extraction so it can get mildew by the looks of what we saw. We used it, although it is hard to find a clean spot to stand in the room so maybe stick with your onboard shower if you have one. There are no real views from the near end of the site as it is hemmed in by buildings and a pub but as a base for trips out or an overnight stop it works well. Would probably return if planning a stop off.

adrianandkim2013

Reviewed on 08/09/2021 16:31

7 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful location for an excellent site!

We have been here on numerous occasions and love it. The owner is very friendly and approachable, a pleasure to meet. The site itself is flat at the top and bottom with a slope in-between. There is also a pitch tucked off to the side behind some trees which I love as it feels like you have your own private space. The toilet and shower are, I understand basic but perfectly adequate. You don't pay CL prices and expect mega luxury. I prefer to use my own anyway. The village is wonderful. It's everything you could could wish for in a country village. Friendly people, picturesque, and a great pub that is dog friendly and does stonking good food.

Roebuck

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/07/2020 09:57

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

fantastic weekend break lovely quiet place the village is the best kept secret

fanatic walks well kept park and lovely friendly owner and her dog bramble loved walking with us will defiantly be going back many times

chrisally

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/07/2020 17:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site for small outfits .

Approach from road opposite entrance , it's much easier , but then bit tight in between cottages to reach the site . Pitches 1+2 at top and 5 at bottom pretty flat with room to manouver , but pitches 3 and 4 quite sloping and tight to manouver . No Wi-Fi or mobile signal while i was there in August . Shower ( not used £3 ) and toilet seperate but both had manky carpets and toilet was cobwebby . There was also a washing m/c to use (small charge) in another building . Pretty well placed for visiting surrounding area . Pub next door wasn't open while we were there , but there was another one further down the road .

waz51

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 27/12/2019 16:47

34 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good holiday but poor remains

This was a stupendous site but unfortunately the state of the shower and the toilet left them open to abuse-they were absolutely fit for only purpose to animals. Such a shame as the whole experience could have been so much better...we wont be going there again! However a good pub in the village!!!

Terrypirie

Reviewed on 28/05/2019 11:57

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful site.

Lovely little site in the heart of a beautiful village. Entrance is a little tight and when pulling out its best to go straight on rather than turning right. Plenty of hard standing at the top of the site. Shower and Toilet nice and clean although a little outdated but its nice to have these facilities on a CL. Great area for walking and visiting the local towns of Ripon and Harrogate. Alison was lovely too: very friendly and helpful.

Smoses

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/03/2019 19:27

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Yorkshire at its finest.

Arrived on the Fri afternoon in this quaint little Yorks village nr Ripon. I spoke to the owner before arriving and was just told to pitch wherever. There were a few spots taken so stopped just inside the gate at the top end. We had no trouble pitching with our twin wheeler Ace, and the access is easy to get into. There is no shortage of EHUs or fresh water points and the waste disposal point is ideal, especially for motor homes as they can just drive over and empty. There are two fields at the bottom for taking the dogs down into for running about, albeit the grass is long. By Sat afternoon a few of the others had left so we were able to get the dogs out just running about with the ball and Frisbee and absolutely loved it. I have read a few reviews re the toilets and showers being dirty and full of spiders etc. We saw none of these and so what, youre in the Country and Gods Country at that, YORKSHIRE. The Pub next to the site is shut down, but if you go straight across the Rd and down about 150 metres there is the Masons Arms, and the food is to die for along with the service and good old Yorkshire folk. It is a little pricey but excellent. At the bottom of the site is a pen with miniature Goats and Miniature Donkey, absolutely great and the kids would love these, stroking them. All in all we had a great long weekend and will return and even though we didnt see the owners they are extremely trustworthy and on leaving you just leave your payment in the box, like I say, good old Yorkshire people. Thanks for a lovely little site and if people have got nowt more to moan about than a few spiders, then god help them, its the tigers at night you should worry about.

bryann weimars

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/09/2018 17:59

11 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and quiet

Lovely little site with a pub next door serving lovely food On arrival no one was around so we picked a spot and plugged in. Didn’t see the owners until the next day when I had to track them down to pay, very relaxed attitude and very friendly. The site is laid out in such a way that you can have a private, secluded spot or be near other campers. We were down at the bottom on a piece of gravel hard standing with a beautiful outlook over the fields and woods. The amenities (a toilet and a shower) are typical of a small farm site, full of spiders and pretty basic (better flooring would be nice) but there was unlimited hot water for the shower and it can’t have been that bad as I used it every day. The grandkids enjoyed playing with other kids on site and there is a large room up by the house with loads of toys, games, etc. Nothing fancy just help yourselves and enjoy. The site is just 6 miles from Fountains Abbey so we cycled there and back (not too difficult a ride, in fact mostly downhill coming back) and Fountains is definitely worth the ride. We emptied the waste tank on the way out and the drain is on the wrong side of the drive for us so had to turn around to empty - no big deal just thought I’d let you know. To sum up, a beautiful secluded site with basic amenities in a lovely village. We will go back.

Spyder27

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/06/2018 19:55

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First time at a CL

This is difficult as it was our first visit to a CL ( after always using the main sites) in a Motorhome, and as pretty as it was, we had just towed a new caravan , towing for the first time in 20 years. The owner was very nice , she stayed in her house and told us to park wherever we wanted, the only hardstanding we could see available was at the bottom of the field, and we were very soon in squelchy mud, so not the best start, if we hadn’t had the remote mover, I think we would soon have been in a right pickle, as it was, the car and van had loads of mud splashed all over. Anyway we got settled and it was lovely and peaceful, a beautiful village and handy for lots of places, although we were busy sorting what was going where inside the van. I had a quick look in the on site toilet and shower, and there was no way I would have used them. Hubby used loo and said the toilet was clean but the tiny room was awful, that didn’t look like it had been cleaned for months, full of cobweb; crawly things etc. The very small shower room looked dirty also and neither of us tried that. So maybe my expectations were too high, although looking at reviews of other sites, mostly, they seem to be good. The owner was nice, and very laid back , even about payment. But I do feel that if the facilities are there to be used that they should be kept clean . I don’t think I would want to go back there, as relaxed as it was.

lindarey

Reviewed on 28/04/2018 15:40

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

lovely village location

Set back from the road. Mixture of hard and grass pitches. Fresh water, EHU, CDP, WC, Shower, Laundry. Very peaceful. Pub next door that serves food and also another within a short walk in village. There are a couple of public footpaths from the very scenic village. Friendly owner.

allylee

Reviewed on 20/04/2017 23:15

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer