Lorne Hill Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A great site kept in good order

We stayed here late summer and enjoyed our stay with plenty of public footpaths in the area you can make a circular walk around the site looking down on it from afar on the way. There are a couple of pitches that you will need levelling blocks the worst one being the first as you enter the site we were the 5th van in so you can guess we had that one but we did manage OK just about with our Twin axle although the rear of the van was ground level While we were there the local farmer was harvesting the wheat field so it was a bit dusty every time the combine made a pass. We would come back and use this site again its a lovely area

dinglefoot

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 11/05/2021 16:55

39 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

fantastic site

we stayed for 4 nights here with friends recently and were blown away with this site. It is set in beautiful rolling countryside not far from the M4, giving easy access, but you couldn't hear any traffic at all. There are so many footpaths and bridle paths in the area that anyone who wants to get out and explore will be spoilt for choice. We did a lot of cycling and it is absolutely perfect for that, giving access to the Ridgeway and the Kennet and Avon canal towpath. Whilst on site we had absolutely scorching weather and were thankful for the various trees growing on the site offering some cooler shade. The owners of the site were friendly and helpful, even returning our fee for a night after we opted to go home early to spare our dog the stress of the imminent thunderstorms. There is EHU, chemical waste disposal, fresh water and recycling bins. Some of the site may require ramps but most of it where the hook-ups are is flat. It is an absolute gem and I can't wait to go back.

Pcrook9

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/08/2020 21:04

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Exceptionally quiet weekend ~ perfect!

We stayed here for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary weekend. It's a site nestled just under a gentle hill. Some of the pitches will need some ramps, but nothing too risky! There is EHU, drinking water, recycling and somewhere to empty your poo tank. This place is beautiful and really quiet. All you'll hear is the gentle clip clopping of the horses going out in the morning. The weather was fantastically sunny on the Saturday, which gave us time to go into Hungerford to mooch around the antiques shops and have a coffee. We then went on to Newbury to walk around the shops. Later in the afternoon we went on a short walk on the byway and took in the magnificent views from the top of the hill. There are several walks that you can go on, but a short walk of a couple of miles was perfect for us. There is a pub and post office/shop in the village which is about a 15 min stroll. We didn't venture to either, but will when we return again! If you want a super quiet break, with out any tv reception....this is the place for you. It's amazing.

NJ2006

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/09/2019 19:22

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace & Tranquility - Just stunning

Stayed on this lovely site for 4 nights from 7th Sept, its just so peaceful and ideally located for walking the Downs & Ridgeway. A nice warm welcome on arrival, then your left to enjoy the local treasures. Two excellent pubs with good food in local villages. The site is well run and has all the requisite ammenities, its is quite sloping in places so make sure you take your ramps & chocks. WE will use this site again and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to use it as a base to explore the surrounding area.

ScooBeeDo

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/09/2019 21:16

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very peaceful site with wonderful views

Quite a large site sloping in places but with sufficient areas for level pitching. The grass was well maintained and obviously regularly cut.Superb views across the downs and fantastic for watching the Red Kites. Joanne was very willing to show my wife her impressive quilting set up just next door to the main house. Lots to explore in the area so we will return as we were just overnighting. Very convenient for the M4.

HitchinPhil

Reviewed on 08/07/2019 12:03

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely

Spent 6 nights on this site from Easter Sunday (2019) very warm welcome. Very peaceful, well kept beautiful site. Lovely views, spent long periods of time being entertained by the lambs in the field. Had great pleasure taking up the offer to help bottle feed some lambs - thank you! Easy access to The Ridgeway for either cycling or walking and short trip into Oxford. We could get no TV reception but we didn’t miss it. I’m sure we’ll be back.

bedbug44

Reviewed on 28/04/2019 21:42

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A real gem!

This is a gorgeous location - so tranquil, and a wonderful base for exploring the area. It has all you need for a peaceful break. Can highly recommend it. We'll definitely be back.

kernowwood

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/04/2019 08:57

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Idyllic setting for a scorching Easter weekend

Spent the glorious April 2019 Easter weekend here in our Motorhome. The lamb’s were out, the geese in fine voice and the weather spectacular. We undertook 2 different 10k walks (both including a pub stop) and found the setting most tranquil. There is fresh water, electric hook up and chemical disposal (but no separate toilet facility). Would highly recommend.

mrgreenspeaks

Reviewed on 23/04/2019 08:31

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Still “Simply the best”

Having not stayed here for a few years we chose the Easter Weekend to make our return. Did the rain deter us? No way, in fact we were treated to being the only “mad ones” on the site as everyone had probably taken note of the weather forecast and cancelled! Despite the rain and very muddy walks we had the most amazing time. This site simply is the best, come rain or shine the beautiful views, the peacefulness and the incredible surroundings not to mention the added pleasure of powerful racehorses trotting past to go up the gallops make it very special indeed. The owners went out their way to ensure we were OK and helped tow us out the field on leaving, hardly a surprise after 24 hours of torrential rain! I Read our first review for this site back In 2013 and I stand by every word. Can’t wait to return and hopefully next time the sun will be shining.

Stuhils

Caravanner from Isle of Wight

Reviewed on 02/04/2018 19:28

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

always coming back to J & J's CL

We have been to Lorne HIll Farm every August since 2014 and we just made reservations for next month again. The area is really beautiful and the CL ist nice, quiet and clean. Our Labrador enjoys playing with the Farm-dogs and we always enjoy meeting J & J again. There are plenty of footpaths to explore and places of interest are easy to reach. There is a pub in East Garston and in the next villages, too. We always love to hear the horses trotting by in the morning, any day of the week. it is interesting to watch the training and talk to the riders, too. The hills around the farm show gazing cattle, sheep and alpakas, the geese and the chicken are close ... it is a wonderful working Farm and we like to watch Jonathan Rabbitts and his son working wiht huge combine harvesters on the fields. There is a workshop were Joanne Rabbitts and other Ladies work on their Quilts, patchwork and all kinds of handcraft, which is very interesting. We always feel very comfortable on Lorne Hill Farm and we are looking forward to come back.

Reviewed on 06/07/2017 23:37

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer