Lyndor

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Little Gem

Wonderful gem of a site. Clean and tidy, waste disposal good. Wendy was very welcoming, greeting us on arrival and nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic spot amongst nature, right on the river with great walks all from the site. Superb spot to unwind & chill even if you’re not a walker!

ScreenName0C9A7E39E6

Campervanner

Reviewed on 07/04/2024 12:22

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Retreat

I stayed at this site for one week in early June 2022 mainly for fishing ( which was superb!). A gem of a CL nestled in the Wye valley,very peaceful with stunning river walks and countryside. Nothing was to much trouble for the owner Charles ( even trimmed the grass for my auwning). I would highly recommend this CL for being 'one with nature' and a real 'get away from it all' location. I will return every year.Thank you Charles.

Barbie53

Reviewed on 10/10/2022 10:00

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning

I grew to love this place more every day. A slices of Norwegian Forest in Herefordshire. Yes, the road to Lyndor is a bit dicy, in fact when we left at 10am to purposely not meet any other vehicles coming in we meet a tour bus going on the opposite direction! Somehow we managed to get through but it hasn't put us off at all, if we could pass that then we could get by anything. You travel to Ross on the opposite direction, you certainly wouldn't be able to take a caravan that way but we drove it almost every day without the caravan of course 3 1/2 miles into the town, and a lovely town it is too. We spent three of the days (here for a fortnight) just ambling around, visiting the river walk and the Hope & Anchor pub, also the Prospect and looking round St Mary's Church. Good shopping for and otherwise. Symonds Yat and East and Westside too. All very pretty and stunningly beautiful. We can't wait to return next year hopefully and we hope it never changes, it's perfect, pretty and peaceful just as it is.

Millan

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/07/2022 15:14

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very comfortable and peaceful stay

A wonderful little CL, nestled in the middle of the countryside overlooking the river with the woods right behind. We used it for a few nights away in between work to unwind and do a bit of walking and it ticked those boxes perfectly. A trip to Hereford was not too far away in the car and Ross on Wye is even closer. We would return if we found ourselves in the area again, thank you Charles.

nathankurton

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/07/2022 13:26

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Second visit to Lyndor

Just stayed 3 nights at Lyndor May 2022. There's something special about being by the river in what feels like the middle of nowhere with just the sound of birds and the occasional tractor. Charles makes you feel really welcome and provides advice and details of local walks/cycle routes. This time we visited Symonds Yat, Monmouth and Ross-on Wye, all within a short drive from the campsite. I can thoroughly recommend this site if you want to unwind and enjoy nature all around you. We will be back :)

Carl n Vicki B

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/05/2022 17:11

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Amazing spot

We spent 3 nights here over May bank holiday 2022. It is a beautiful site. Despite the road being right by the site it was so quiet, cars are very few and far between. Sunset over the river and birds everywhere. Could be by the Dordogne.! Only reservation was security. The site is very open to the road and passing toerags! Felt better when the site was full, as it was over the bank holiday but would not like to leave, say, our bikes if the site was quiet. However, one could spend days just sitting here and watching the river roll by.

TinLizzy

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/05/2022 19:50

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful and picturesque CL

We booked 4 nights here September 16-19) but enjoyed it so much that we booked an extra night. The access road is single lane but quite accessible as long as you follow instructions in the CAMH Club book and not satnav. On arrival we were welcomed by Peter, caretaker in the absence of the site owner Mr. Charles Gething Lewis, who was on holiday. The River Wye is adjacent to the CL, with woods behind and is really peaceful and picturesque. EHU and fresh water are readily accessible although black water disposal could be made easier with a low level drain point rather than the current upstand pipe. There are lovely walks along the river and across fields to Ross on Wye and the short drive to Hereford to visit the Cathedral are a must do ! We saw Kingfishers, Herons, Egrets, Red Kites, Buzzards and Kestrels and at night, the Tawny Owls hooting in the woods and across the river were fantastic. I have no doubt that we will return to Lyndor which became our “happy place” during our stay.

P and C on tour

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/10/2021 22:03

8 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wye, because its beautiful

We feel so lucky to have been able to stay on this wonderful CL. To sit and relax and enjoy the amazing views over the river with its abundance of birds, all enjoying their natural habitat is joyful. The site is laid out so that each pitch has a view of the river. part of the site has been left to grow, encouraging wild flowers which helps to encourage butterflies, and assorted insects, which adds to its uniqueness. We have no hesitation in recommending this lovely site, Charles is extremely helpful, nothing to much trouble. We hope to return as soon as time allows. Thank you Charles.

bladesy17

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/09/2021 14:56

11 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

So peaceful

Wow, beautiful location. So peaceful and quiet. Wonderful views of the river. Lovely walks nearby. We enjoyed a visit to Westons Cider Mill in Much Marcle. Lovely coffee, food and cider! Directions to site were perfect and owner very helpful and accommodating. We will be back

SH321

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/07/2021 19:04

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Picturesque

After a few wrong turns [our fault] we arrived at the site. The single track road is not a problem, especially if you are used to driving in Devon. Plenty of passing places, but not much traffic anyway. Once set up on the Friday afternoon, we didn't move till we left for home on the Sunday. Weather stunning, just sat, sunbathed [people said "hello" when cycling past!}, watched the swans, ducks and a very industrious pigeon, revamping her nest and the more adventurous in canoes and body boards. The pitch [no 2] was level enough for us not to have to use blocks. The lane and a small narrow field between you and the river - couldn't hear any infrequent cars/bikes. Easy access for those who want to use the river, good walking or cycling. Phone connection isn't the best, certain parts of field pick up different signals, tv was ok though. All in all a stunningly beautiful setting, with ample room for 5 vans. We will be back if we can get a pitch as it's so popular - and no wonder

Mad Welshman

Reviewed on 14/06/2021 21:11

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer