Meadow Lakes Caravan Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Amazing find

This was our first outing in our new motorhome and we pitched up with some trepidation. However, we were greeted like long-lost friends and Stephanie and Julian could not have been more helpful, willingly sharing a host of great tips. Their enthusiasm was infectious and has inspired us to venture further afield next time. The setting is stunning and we found walking around the lakes very peaceful and restorative. The night skies were amazing, the wildlife was wonderful and we even saw a hare! Can’t wait to return again to this tranquil idyll. Thank you Stephanie and Julian for such a warm welcome and all your support. It was a great start to our new ventures.

ScreenNameEB2D775C08

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/08/2020 18:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of the best on the Island

After staying here for the last 4 years, we have got to say what a fantastic and peaceful site this is. And if you like trout (fly) or course / carp fishing then there is an added bonus. Walks from the site are plenty and the local village of Shorewell provides a great pud with great ales and food on offer. We generally split our holiday between here and Ninham as they both offer different styles and access to local attractions. If you want peace, quiet and easy access the West Wight (Freshwater, Yarmouth etc,), then what Julian and Stephanie offer here is hard to beat. We enjoy every minute.

Age is just a number

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/07/2020 14:44

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic Long Weekend

We've just enjoyed a lovely long weekend at Meadow Ponds. Very well kept site and though it is popular with local fishermen, it is so quiet and tranquil. If you need to unwind, this is an ideal spot. Stephanie and Julian made us feel so welcome and relaxed from the moment we arrived. The pitches are generous and well laid out and all on the level. We walked around the beautiful ponds and saw lots of fish! The site is perfect for walking and cycling as there are lots of quiet lanes, footpaths and bridleways surrounding the area. We walked to a quiet beach and then along the cliff path to Brighstone and back along the quiet lanes and through fields to the site. We have stayed at many sites and this has to be one of our favourite! We would definitely recommend it highly and look forward to returning soon!

Mavis Barry

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/07/2020 07:42

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Five Star Plus

After staying here at Meadow Lakes I can’t wait to return. On arrival Julian and Stephanie’s hospitality was amazing 😉 they greeted us with genuine smiles, offering tea or coffee, which was served on a tray with a small jug of milk. From that moment on my husband and I knew we’d found a “gem” of a place to stay with our Campervan. All the information we needed for our stay (and more) was given in a clear and concise manner... We thoroughly enjoyed the first day by staying on site - relaxing, listening to the wildlife, admiring the views and taking short walks around this this beautiful, secluded spot, although it’s vast in size.... We ate out in the lovely village of Brighstone (delicious food) also at “The White Mouse” on the Military Road. All meals reasonably priced. This site is not just a fisherman’s “dream” location - it is also for those who respect and appreciate “tranquility” And finally:- I was blown away to see the highest standard (5 ⭐️ +) of “cleanliness” and “fittings” in the shower and toilets. The whole site is a credit to Julian and Stephanie’s hard work. Thank you for a memorable stay. In a review someone else said:- £15 per night is a steal. (We’re in total agreement)....

TrueKev

from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 28/09/2019 11:06

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Top Notch

We arrived on site early, as we caught an earlier ferry. A quick call was made, they said it was ok to come on to the site.The weather was not good . The welcome was excellent and made to feel at home. Site clean and level, nice views of the fishing lakes and surrounding area. The only thing to worry about is the road down to the site which is narrow in places, but has passing places. I would recommend this site for peace and quite and friendly welcome . We will book again next year but hopefully with better weather. Enjoy we certainly did, dispite the weather.

GarDaph

Motorhomer from Mid Glamorgan

Reviewed on 27/08/2019 15:58

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Little Gem

Stayed for 7 nights in August this year, booking was a doddle, Stephanie organised the ferry for me and I got a good price for the crossing. I was greeted with a very welcome cup of tea and biscuits on arrival, the site is in a good location with flat pitches (did not need the chocks ) the toilet and shower were very clean a tidy. The local shop which stocks everything you need including local produce is about a mile away. For the fishers amongst us there are 3 well stocked ponds the largest has some serious carp in it, but even in the smaller pond which stocks up to 10lb the fish really do fight !. Highly recommended.

sinbad007

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/08/2019 11:02

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tremendous site

My wife and I stayed a week on this site July 2019. We targetted it because of the fishing lakes (I am a carp fisherman) and we both were very, very pleased with our stay. As soon as we arrived, owners Stephanie and Julian were on hand to tend to every needs (it's not often you're offered a cuppa on arrival!) and from then on in, they were always in or around this beautiful site, busying themselves in it's maintenance and upkeep. It is located on the downslope of the central highland and commands lovely views across to the cliffs at Freshwater Bay and the surrounding flat farmlands in all other apsects. The lakes onsite are gorgeous - stuffed with splendid fish (trout in one, carp in two others and a general assortment of coarse in the others) and they are fished by visitors which shows their worth to the local angling community. Meadow Lakes also sits well between Ventor and Freshwater and Newport, so any of these are reachable through some pretty car (or bike - if you're up for it) journeys. We ate at the local pubs, the Crown at Shorwell, the Blackmiths Arms and the Sun Inn which are a bit further away and they all gave us excellent food. But the real jewel of this site has to be the owners who I have said, are professionalism and friendliness to the max. We felt totally at home and they even put on a 'campers barbecue' in their purpose-built covered area. Superb. My wife and I can't recommend this site enough, and we will be back there, definitely. Vic and Teresa Woods

Vic Woods

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 19/07/2019 21:31

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First stay in a CL

This was our first stay in a CL and it will not be our last at this one. Julian and Stephanie made us feel welcome from the start and we quickly got settled in. This spot is very secluded, although the lovely village of Brighstone is only a mile away with a great village shop and a pub. This site is in a really quiet area of the Isle of Wight, giving the opportunity for cycling and walkers of all abilities to get out and about. Fishermen would love this this site, given the various fish in the lakes. Lots of wildlife around as well, with owls, heron, swans amongst the menagerie we saw during our stay. £15 per night is a steal.

WalkingWizard

from Isle of Wight

Reviewed on 30/06/2019 21:47

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Not to be missed

This is was our second visit in succession to a peaceful, secure, level and closely mowed cl and for Julian and Steph the site owners nothing is too much trouble. There are lovely walks around the fishing lakes and out of the gates. The Isle of Wight offers so much for everyone of all ages and this cl makes your visit complete. We will definitely be returning.

swiftphil

Reviewed on 30/08/2018 09:39

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect Hosts

This is the quiet side of the island, however, nothing is very far away. We were immediately welcomed by Stephanie and Julian who provided a welcome coffee whilst we pondered the pitch. Our friendly and helpful hosts were always available as they attended to the fishing lakes. Nothing was too much trouble. As I waited to photograph the swans taking off for their early morning flight, Julian walked by and suggested that they wouldn't be flying that day as they are quite lazy and required a SW breeze. Thankfully they obliged the following day after Julian gave them a gentle nudge into the water. The site is well laid out, with the lakes providing a little evening stroll. Julian's smoked trout pate is fab. I saw him with 6 large fish on the Monday which were to be smoked Tues and available Wed. You don't get fresher than that. It was a great holiday and we will return.

PeterAShaw

Reviewed on 23/08/2017 16:45

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer