Jervaulx Abbey CL

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice site

Jervaulx Abbey is a nice site, in a lovely, quiet walled garden. Some traffic noise, but certainly not enough to be an issue. Paid when spoke to the owner on line and didn’t see anyone at all during our visit so can’t really say anything about a welcome on arrival as there wasn’t one🤗 I was told over the phone that the facilities were closed atm and assumed it was because of Covid, but actually it was because there’s still no plumbing or electrics in the building! I did think that was a bit naughty as they’re still advertising as facilities available and they clearly are not. But, I still think the site is worth a visit, there’s some lovely walking in the area and as I said above, it is a nice site.

Dave and Diane

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/07/2021 19:41

32 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful site

This is a remarkable site. Situated v close to the main road between Richmond and Ripon, and with many interesting towns and villages lying between, this excellently cared for site is one I’m glad to have visited during the recent great weather. There are innumerable birds in the tree lined grounds and beyond. We saw Oyster Catchers by the river. A busy service runs along the main road. The pitches are hard standing in the main CL field. Inaddition, there are a small number of grass pitches that have electricity. There are also pitches in a field (‘rally field’) that have no electricity. There is a small toilet block which was closed at the time of our visit. Adjacent to this block is the sewage facility. The proximity to the ruined abbey means there is a place of interest very close. The Cover Bridge Inn is a lovely two mile walk along the bank of the River Ure. The pub serves good meals and beer. Although the site is one of great appeal, the 10 amp ehu is potentially limiting. Our induction hob failed, for example. There is no recycling. There is a recently installed new toilet block awaiting completion which, I was told, may not happen. The tearoom is closed for this year and possibly permanently. There is some distracting road noise. The owners are on site and happy to chat.

GoneRoving

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/06/2021 20:46

14 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely peaceful site

Great site. Flat and spacious in beautiful surroundings. Lots of nice walks nearby and the Coverbridge Inn for great food and beer. Will definitely return. The adjoining tea rooms also well worth a visit.

Donna Burnett

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/04/2021 22:10

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Happy Stay

The site is spacious and set in a large walled area surround by attractive parkland, there is an adjoining rally field. Lots of local walking and the Abbey itself is in a beautiful setting, one of the best for atmosphere and discovery. We sampled some tasty fare from the tea rooms, do hope Covid restrictions won't affect them further. Enjoyed our stay, thank you!

brue

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/09/2020 16:31

60 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant little site

The site is quite pretty, being in a walled garden area with lots of trees. The Abbey itself if just over the road. Next to the CL is a rally field, which was quite busy while we were there, although that didn't detract from our stay at all. There is some road noise, as the main road is quite busy. This didn't disturb us at night, and we didn't sit around on site all day, but it's something to bear in mind if you do sit on site during the day. We had a nice walk along the river to Middleham one day and a stroll through the grounds on another. There is a very hands off approach to arrivals at the moment, in that no-one was around when we arrived so we simply pitched up in the spot we fancied and later discovered that we had to pay in the tea room between 9 and 10 the following morning. Some prior communication would've been appreciated. NB: The toilets are not open this year due to Covid (owners should update their listings accordingly)

Squeezybottle

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/08/2020 12:41

19 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Site and Surroundings

Had a lovely bank holiday weekend here, completely peaceful, lovely flat site with the choice of 8 hard standing pitches, good clean facilities along with 2 toilets and wash basins. Right on the door step is Jervaulx Abbey and tea rooms along with a lovely 1.5 mile walk along the river to the Cover Bridge Inn. Ian very helpful but not intrusive. Dog walk on site. We will be returning soon.

11 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Bank Holiday Weekend

We have visited this site on a number of occasions and you cant ask for more. Welcoming Owners, set in a lovely setting with lots to see in the area,short walk to the river and the abbey which is wonderful and has lots of wildflowers, very atmospheric, towns of Masham, Middleham,Leyburn all within short drive.Only downside this visit was inconsiderate members making a noise until turned midnight, not very fair. Having said that it is not the fault of the owners and we will certainly return, thanks once again Ian for a wonderful stay, see you soon.

pilly

Reviewed on 28/08/2017 15:45

15 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Well kept small site in beautiful countryside

Lovely small site, well kept. Jervaulx Abbey is within 5 minute walk. Tea rooms on location. Amenities basic but adequate. Recycling facility for refuse. Bus stop at entrance. Set within a walled garden and surrounded by open countryside and mature trees, nearby stream and short walk to river. EHU available, to be vacated by 12 noon however notice does say you may move your unit to non hook up area if you wish to stay in area for longer on day of departure. Lady owner very pleasant and helpful. We shall return.

allylee

Reviewed on 09/01/2017 00:13

9 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful Break

Set in a beautiful location and easy to find.  Peaceful enclosure away from cafe parking. Hardstanding with hookup but if electrics not required spacious pitching in rally field, if vacant. Easy walk to abbey and to riverside.  Pleasant walk alongside river to Cover Bridge and dog friendly pub.  Buses to Ripon and Leyburn from site entrance.  On site cafe has outside seating area and good food.  Toilets and hand basins primitive but clean.  This was our second visit and we shall be back again.

Crafty Cabin

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/08/2016 17:48

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful peaceful. Site

Stayed on this site for one week . Lovely  site  in a beautiful. Location  ,   We have been caravaning  for over 30 years this is on of the best , we will be back to this site  in the future  , The owner Ian made you feel welcome  , Good place to walk the dogs   ,  loved this site would recommend .

poppyeve1

from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 15/06/2016 19:44

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer