Tanhouse Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great M5 retreat.

Chose this CL for a break in the journey to Devon, easy to find and so relaxing. Beautiful village and did some canal walks from site. Only stayed stayed two nights but could have stayed much longer. Recommended.

Marydavie

Reviewed on 19/09/2020 19:39

31 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First time on a CL and loved it

We are new to motorhoming and because of the Camping in the Forest sites failing to open this year I had to look for an alternate site to replace one of our booked forest sites. Found this site on the club website and it was close to the area we wanted to be and offered country side so we could stay away from others because of the virus. This was the first CL we'd ever stayed on and absolutely loved it and will return. Several country walks local to site and also a very pretty village to walk round.

Derek Atkins

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/08/2020 06:50

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely, peaceful site

We had just bought our van and wanted somewhere, not too far away, to get ourselves familiarised with it. Tanhouse Farm is a circular field surrounded by trees. The site is flat and the grass kept short. Each pitch has it's own EHU. The site is quiet and has plenty of options for dog walks. Our visit was during the pandemic and the site had ample hand sanitising gel at various points. A 10 minute walk gets you into Frampton on Severn which is a lovely village with a shop on the village green, apparently the longest village green in England, and a pub, The Bell Inn. There is another pub, The Three Horseshoes which was temporarily closed during our visit. The Gloucester Sharpness Canal is very close to the site and it's a 30 minute walk along the canal towpath to Saul Junction which has a lovely cafe. The energetic could continue walking from here to Gloucester Docks! Access to the site is good via gated access and is a little off the road so may not be immediately obvious. Contact the owner for directions.

Forest Gate

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/07/2020 21:55

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very peaceful site

This is a lovely secluded site just outside a very pretty Gloucester village. The site is flat and very peaceful. You just call at the owners before siting your unit, and you are left to your own devices. The village has a couple of pubs - the Three Horseshoes seems to be the locals, and we really liked it. Nice post office village shop which has basic requirements. Good walking and cycling along the canal. You may just feel a little isolated if you were the only one on the site - but I can't imagine that happening very often as it is such a lovely situation

wesley

Motorhomer from Lancashire

Reviewed on 18/05/2019 15:30

29 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Hidden treasure

This is a beautiful and quiet site right next to the canal. Easy cycling along the canal to Gloucester and Sharpness. A couple of pubs within walking distance. Slimbridge wildfowl centre is less than 3 miles away with an easy cycle along the canal. Plus we've had the bonus of hearing a cuckoo repeatedly.

derekandliz

Reviewed on 01/05/2019 16:24

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Recommend site

As the other reviews have said this is a gem of a site. It is reasonably close to the M5 and on the outskirts of a pretty little village. Detailed instructions were left outside the house as it is down a lane in their private woodland. It was very clean quiet and peaceful.

WinhallWanderers

Caravanner from Somerset

Reviewed on 02/07/2018 16:17

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic!

We really enjoy d this site! A small clearing in you g briadleaf trees right next to the canal. Access to the canel is back down the track and you ate there, a 2 minutes stoll, idyllic. The site is located on the side of the canal with no tow path and access is rxtricted, however There ate signs that once thete was anaccess to the canal bank from the site but is now overhrown with nettles if this coukd ge te-instated and a small decking area made on the bank for the ise of the clib this woman kd in my virw mak it one of the best cl's around. Bins,waste and water all easilt accesible. Lovely walk into Frampton on severn....loved it!

homewardbound

Reviewed on 18/06/2017 16:37

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic peaceful CL

We stopped at this CL for 6 nights in May 2017. We were lucky enough to have this extremely secluded spot to our selves for 4 of those nights. The area is very flat with nice short grass and completely surrounded by trees and dense undergrowth nearly all the way round apart from the way in off the private lane. We had no trouble with the electric or TV signal. There is fresh water, waste bins and wet waste points the other side of the lane. There is peace and quite just the occasional tractor going down the lane and bird song filling the days. The village is just half mile or so away with two pubs, a café and a small shop. The canal is close by with nice walks in both directions. We loved it here as did our dogs due to the many and varied walks from the site. We are certainly planning on going back next year for another week. We never saw the owners just their son when we called in the farm to pay. A really nice and quite CL if that is what you like.

Juschilling

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 29/05/2017 14:36

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Re electrics

We were on site the same time as the people complaining about the electric. I wonder what they were using as I cook by electric, frying pan as well as a microwave, use an electric kettle, sometimes a fan and more often than not my husband is watching Tv at the same time and we have never had a problem. In fact we are returning to the site in August which will be our third visit this year. The site is very well maintained very peaceful with plenty of walks and very convenient for fishing.The site is well sheltered and a lovely sun trap. The owners are very pleasant and help[ful. In fact a perfect site for a relaxing holiday. 

2happywanderers

Reviewed on 14/08/2015 11:42

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely little site

We stayed here for 7 nights mainly to visit family. It has great access to m5 and a38 these being only a 10 minute drive away, but the site is lovely and peaceful. Well kept and beautifully mown grass, we had no problems with either electric or tv signal, although mobile was a different thing altogether. If you have Vodafone you can send and receive texts but nothing else, however o2 seemed fine. The reason for 2 stars for arrival is that we didn't see the owners at all (only to pay after walking back to the house after a couple of days). We only found out where everything was because another couple on site told us. Would have been nice to have put a face to the people we booked with. All that said we will be using the site again.

Oggie001

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/08/2015 13:53

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer