The Horns Dam

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Delighted to visit this lovely site again

We last visited this lovely site 4 years ago but are always a little apprehensive about returning to a site. However, it didn't disappoint. It is an immaculately kept and well run site with good, clearly marked facilities. Mrs Fletcher had been anxious when I booked several weeks previously to tell me that the local pub had been sold and was currently closed whilst being refurnished. She also said that the field behind the CL was now having chalets erected but there would be no building work during our stay to spoil the peace and quiet. We love the views of the fishing lakes through the trees, the birds hoping for a catch and the hares frolicking in the field. There is a small, well kept toilet block and shower shared with the larger, separate caravan site for which we were given the access code when we checked in on arrival. For us it is an ideal site with easy access to some wonderful walking country such as the Forest of Bowland and the Ribble Valley and further afield as well as to the local town. If we didn't live so far away we would definitely return more frequently.

MichaelandJanet

Reviewed on 07/07/2021 09:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful site but complete lack of hospitality

This is a beautiful well kept CL site, especially good if you are an angler. But, in all my years of travelling around the world I can honestly say that, as a paying guest, I have never felt less welcome. We parked in the wrong place on the small pitch, then we filled up our motorhome water in the wrong place, after being told where to fill. The hard standing pitches are actually pretty good, but the problem is that there is no margin between them so it is all but impossible to maintain the recommended 3m distance, especially for a caravan, awning and car but we were left to feel that we were in the wrong, when in truth it wouldn't have mattered where we had parked on the pitch we couldn't defy the laws of physics. We told the owner when booking that we were in a motorhome and when we booked in and paid she sold us the fresh water tap was in the field. We proceeded to drive across the field to fill our water only to be told that we should not drive across the grass and that there was a different tap for motorhomes. Add an extra day if you want to read all the pointless signs telling what you can and can't do. These comments may appear relatively trivial but you were certainly left feeling that your host considered you a problem when you had in fact simply listened carefully to what you had been told and acted accordingly. A little bit less time spent churning out pointless notices and a bit more effort made to make you feel welcome would transform this from a good site into an excellent site.

Comment from the Club:

Many thanks for your review. The CL Owners at The Horns Dam CL Site have been in touch as they work incredibly hard to ensure the site is well cared for and that everybody on site has the best experience possible. As such they would like to address your concerns.

Please be assured that all pitches are installed to regulatory requirements and there is only one A4 size notice containing the necessary guidelines in order to keep everyone safe on site. There have been no other complaints of the positions of the water taps and as such the owners believe this to be a one-off unfortunate incident. They would also like to assure you that had you raised these issues during your stay, they would have been happy to address them and find a resolution.

trezeau

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/09/2020 13:18

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Little gem of a site

Well run site tucked away in beautiful countryside, facilities rival any club site, very clean with hot water and excellent shower, it's fantastic for fishing, lakes well maintained and stocked with a variety of fish, we did not fish ourselves this time as we only planned an overnight stop but this place is definitely on the cards for our next visit to Lancashire. owners met us as we arrived and told us where to pitch, could not ask for a better site it's a little gem.

Jeanh

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/09/2017 11:41

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Little Site

We stayed here for 2 nights - arrived on Friday after a hectic week at work and horrible traffic on the motorway. Greeted by a lovely friendly lady, who was very helpful. The site was very peaceful, with lots of lakes for fishing. Local pub 5 mins walk down the road served good home cooked food.

Anggriff

Reviewed on 02/08/2016 11:09

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely quiet fishing venue at the Horns Dam

We had a really enjoyable stay recently, with good weather on a really clean and tidy site, several well stocked fishing lakes very near our hardstanding giving us pleasant views when not fishing. A good local pub completed our experience. A big thank you to our hosts who made us feel very welcome. We will return.

sibbo

Reviewed on 20/06/2016 19:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely tranquil place to unwind

Stayed one night to break the journey on the way back from Scotland. Was given a warm welcome by Mrs Fletcher and access codes for toilets etc. Pitched with a lovely view of one of the fishing lakes and enjoyed the sunshine. Pitches are part hard standing and the grass kept short. When we tour we like to be completely self contained so didn't use toilets or showers but did use EHU. Access to water and chemical toilet dump point is good. Thank-you for providing a lovely CL. WE will return.

jcf055

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/05/2016 13:26

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site in beautiful area

We were warmly welcomed by Mrs Fletcher and shown where the CL field was situated, given the toilet block codes and shown where the water and toilet tip were and left to pitch up where we wanted. The site is beautifully maintained, short lawn length grass (grass taken off), very clean toilet block (cleaned daily), level with nice outlook over the fishing lakes and fields. Very close to Longridge (excellent shopping facilities and parking) and in easy reach of the beautiful Ribble Valley and Forest of Bowland.  Superb peaceful site which we will use again when in that area.

RobandAnneH

Reviewed on 09/08/2015 11:42

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just what we needed

We have visited The Horns Dam twice and on both occasions we have had a lovely, quiet stay. The facilities are very clean with plenty of hot water and the owners are very friendly. What more do you want!

briggerdave

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/06/2015 15:43

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquility

Visited in early July, Mrs Fletcher welcomed us, explained the minimal rules and pointed us in the direction of a large field with both hard standing and grass pitches. EHU's and water easily accessible and very clean toilet/shower block a 3-4 min walk away. Central to everything we needed and a host of attractions. Access to site very easy even for a novice like myself. A pub serving delicious food just 10 min walk. A very tranquil and welcoming site, well kept and very friendly. We will certainly be visiting again

nannypat

Reviewed on 25/09/2014 09:40

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

Just back from our first visit to this lovely peaceful site. Facilities small but well kept with 1 shower and 2 toilets each however we didn't have to wait at all. Surroundings beautiful and lots of space for each pitch, especially on the grass ones. 2 places to eat in walking distance, and Longridge only 3 miles away for shops etc. Easy to find off the motorway. Hope to be back very soon.

KennedyClan

Reviewed on 13/07/2014 21:24

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer