The Manor House

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect Location

What a lovely site! As it states on the description it is a working farm but nothing that really impacts your stay. We were welcomed by Judy shortly after arrival she clearly cares about her guests ensuring we had everything we needed. The shower and toilet block were amazing and a lovely addition. We were sent access code at the time of booking so no issues accessing it. The information room was fantastic and helped us plan our stay - walk to and around Maiden Castle is a must from the site! Bus stop was a short walk and 20mins from Weymouth. Would definitely recommend this site no issues at all!

ScreenNameC87F6BF8C4

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/08/2021 05:44

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of the best!!!

We have just had two glorious weeks on this delightful CL. We were lucky to have those two weeks of constant sunshine in July and saw parts of Dorset at their very best. This is a beautifull site: big enough to have well spaced pitches but small enough for getting to know your neighbours. Judy is the "host with the most", with a friendly welcome and appearing every now and then to chat and make sure everthing is okay. She also keeps the grass imaculate. There is a delightful information chalet and in close proximity to the site part of an old barn has a spacious shower room with disabled facilities incorporated and a separate toilet all accessed by a code. Other facilities are adequate and a television aerial cable is provided at each pitch to enhance reception which is necessary. It is a quiet and peaceful hamlet, despite the main road to Weymouth not far away, with a few cottages and a charming church. Dorchester is just up the road and a Tesco supermarket is only a couple of miles away. The Brewers Arms local pub in nearby Martinstown is excellent. It is a working farm and it was lovely to see hay making and harvesting the barley in progress as well as a large dairy herd. There is plenty to do in close proximity: the Tank Museum at Bovingdon is well worth a visit. Catch up with Thomas Hardy history at his birthplace, house, church and monument and nearby Poundbury, Prince Charles's masterpiece is unique and definitely worth walking around taking in the incredible variation in architecture and layout. There are many lovely coastal walks on National Trust property and visits to Athelhampton Manor and Keyneston Mill perfumery centre are well worth it and of course the seaside towns of Lyme Regis and Weymouth are close albeit busy and there is a lot of traffic at holiday times. All in all this is one of the best holidays we have had and we thoroughly recommend this site to those who like to get away from it all!!

Janousan

Caravanner from Leicestershire

Reviewed on 31/07/2021 09:53

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great welcome in glorious Dorset

Had a great couple of weeks in glorious Dorset just recently. The reviewer 'Very, very disappointed' must have been staying on a different site. Judy couldn't possibly have done more to make us feel welcome. She was easily available if any problems had occurred. The extremely clean modern shower and loos were accessed by a code prominently displayed outside the nearby information chalet. The water and disposal areas were well kept as was the entire site. It is a working farm and it was a joy to see it working as it should. There was a little road noise occasionally but never intrusive or a problem. Beautifully located and so near to so many attractions. Thanks for a great stay Judy, we'll be back! Celia & Ken Martin

Mr Cheese

Caravanner from Leicestershire

Reviewed on 05/07/2021 13:16

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our preferred CL in Dorset

Just completing our 4th stay here during last 2 years : 9 nights this time. Booking direct and payment has always been easy. Very warm welcome. This working farm site is more than adequate for 5 units. Pitches 1 & 2 have partial hardstanding which is great for our motorhome. Satisfies our basic requirements of fresh water + chemical disposal. Haven't needed to use the toilet/washroom but it looks absolutely fine. An onsite cabin has plenty of useful tourist info : a prominent white sign by door gives basic info including code for washroom. Quiet during that all important night-time.Looking forward to our next stay here in 6 weeks time. Ted & Gill

TED POCHRIBNIAK

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/06/2021 21:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very, very disappointed

From the cleverly taken photos this looks a lovely site. In reality it is a dump. It is next to a tip with abandoned farm machinery and rubbish containers. The A35 and A354 are a constant noise 24/7. This is our second day and we have yet to meet the owners. I cannot comment on the facilities as they are behind a locked door with a combination lock and I cannot find the number anywhere. Had there been either WiFi or a signal we would have found another site and turned round strait away.

Comment from the Club:

We appreciate how disappointing it can be if visitors’ expectations are not met, and we are sorry we were not able to resolve this with these guests before they left.  We work hard to keep the site well maintained, but being situated in the heart of a historic village and farm, the agricultural surroundings, including working machinery, are an integral part of staying here.  Welcome notes are clearly displayed outside the information chalet.   We do not disguise that the village is close to the A354;  road noise may be a factor for some visitors but for most it is not intrusive.  There are benefits in our proximity to a main road - a regular bus service, and easy access for caravans and motorhomes.

I hope you will be able to use some of these comments, in balancing the critical review.

mattjaneking

Caravanner from Merseyside

Reviewed on 20/06/2021 08:57

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Hidden Gem

An easily accessible site, an oasis of tranquility in a beautiful setting. Access for all facilities, clean also heated. Owners and farm staff helpful and friendly. Wonderful historical church on the farm. Well situated for all that Dorset has to offer visitors. We will return. Joe & Mags Adams.

Jodoad

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/06/2021 08:28

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic Site

Great site with great facilities, showers and toilet are very clean and very good shower, has information shed on site with lots of information, even has books to borrow!. Judy is a very good hostess and you can tell she takes great pride in the site and is very conscious of making sure guests enjoy themselves and have everything they need. What was especially pleasing is her enthusiasm to talk with guests to try and improve, however the site is near perfect. Near to both Dorchester and Weymouth but still of the beaten track, a feeling of being in the countryside. A very well looked after site. many thanks for a brilliant stay we will return Duane and Ayesha Jones

taffydragon

Caravanner from Clwyd

Reviewed on 05/06/2021 22:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Glorious stay at The Manor Farm

We've just returned from a lovely week's stay at The Manor Farm CL. The site is flat and spacious, its equipped with a toilet and separate wetroom, also on the site is an information centre with useful information about the local area. It was nice to see a CL with general waste, recycling and glass bins which were regularly emptied. The site is nicely tucked away but within walking distance to Dorchester. Other reviewers have mentioned some slight road noise, however we found this to be minimal. The site is an ideal base for exploring both the local area on foot and further afield. Booking was made very easy via Judy who welcomed us on site and was extremely helpful throughout our stay. We look forward to returning again.

ScreenName8F9D7BB07B

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/06/2021 21:31

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

See you again soon!

A brilliant place to base yourself to explore this stunning part of historic Dorset. It’s very easy to get to and with a nice flat field, makes setting up really quick and easy. Judy is very friendly and helpful, she made us very welcome and we had a wonderful couple of days here. Next time we’ll take the bikes to go exploring the lanes and hamlets of Dorset.

Judith and Graham

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/04/2021 19:35

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ideal central CL for seeing Dorset

We were lucky that Judy had just had a cancellation and was able accommodate us. The site is in a lovely little hamlet on a working dairy farm. Access is very easy and Judy works hard to keep the site welcoming and spotless. There is a pretty little village church a stone's throw away and well worth a visit. Maiden Castle iron age hill fort is easily reached on foot from the site and offers amazing views from the top. Road noise can be heard on the CL, but it's really only minimal and didn't bother us at all. Although rural, access to a large Tesco is a less than 5 mins away journey should you need to top up on groceries. The only problem we had during our stay was the flies. We were inundated by the blighters and despite buying fly paper and always keeping our mesh screens down, we had to swat appx 50 flies per day in the caravan. I appreciate that we were on a working farm, but have never suffered flies to this degree on other farms we have stayed on. Perhaps it was the time of year or that the fields were being harvested (although these were proper flies and not tiny black thrips). Such a shame as otherwise this site would have been 5 star.

pippins

Reviewed on 27/09/2020 15:10

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer