Whitehouse Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

LISTEN TO THE SILENCE

Wow.. The quietest site we have ever been to.. Absolutely no background noise what so ever.. A great little CL.. We stayed for 3 nights in our caravan over August Bank holiday 21. Easy walking access to the Tissington Trail.. Great walk both ways along this old railway line and lovely walks over the fields too if you prefer, The site consists of 5 small hard standings with decent grass around them.. The site has good clean water access ; decent toilet disposal system into the septic tank and grey waste get put in the longer grass at the bottom of the site. Some beautiful villages in the walkable / cycleable locality (Hartington; Tissington) and even more a short drive away such as Ashford In The Water and the small town of Bakewell, We took our 3 dogs and as expected the Tissington Trail was busy but quietened down considerably later on in the afternoon enough to let the dogs walk off lead same on The Monsal Way. Loved our stay here and adored the sound of silence.

2Adults3Dogs

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 31/08/2021 19:46

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Don’t drive on the grass!

Very pleasant owners, Tissington trail close by (easiest access by bike not down the public footpath but back to lane top, turn left and a few hundred yards the road bridges over the trail with an incline down to it from the road). Motorhomes fill with water in the lane before entering field over the wall with provided long hose. Motorhome access to grey waste not possible without long waste pipe extension hose as it requires driving on the grass. DO NOT DRIVE ON THE GRASS! I got stuck in August and had to be towed out by tractor! We got one of the 2 pitches with the amazing view. The middle pitches seem hemmed in and no view, a shame really as a redesign of the hard standings and removal of a couple of the smaller trees would give everyone that amazing view over the valley, it’s like where the Hobbits live in Lord of the Rings!

Wasteney2

Motorhomer from East Yorkshire

Reviewed on 25/08/2021 10:47

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What can I say??

We really should keep this little gem of a site to ourselves. Just had a 4 day stay there in weather which could have been better but that's not the sites fault. The site is within easy walking distance of Hartington (lovely village with 2 pubs and a few shops) which is about one mile away(definitely need a torch if going at night). Tissington trail is on the doorstep. Scenery and walking is fantastic and the site facilities are good. Warm welcome and great help when needed from both Richard and Janet. Will definitely be back at some future point, probably in summer, when this site will be glorious. Thanks to both Richard and Janet

CLeak

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/11/2020 19:10

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful

We've just had a lovely 3 nights at Whitehouse Farm. Access is easy from the local road network, and the gateway to the site is large and easy to manoeuvre through. The site has 5 hard standing pitches, with drinking water, and waster disposal close by in the same field. The bins are located in a nearby barn. It was good to see that covid secure procedures were in place, including contactless check in, and hand sanitiser at all the water points and bins. The location is ideal in that it's completely peaceful, yet near enough to the road network to be able to travel around. If you want to walk instead the Tissington Trail can be accessed from near the site, along with plenty of other footpaths. We'd happily recommend the site, and will certainly visit again.

Craigderby

Motorhomer from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 27/10/2020 12:28

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A great location

Had a 7 night stay in October 2020. The CL was busy but Richard Mason even took the trouble to mow the site between showers. There are 5 hard standings and electric is close by each van. The black waste goes into a sceptic tank which can be unnerving when the waste doesn't disappear as quickly as expected but it was perfectly clean. Richard had installed Sanitizer on all facilities along with PIR activate solar lights which is handy when the water needs refilling at night!!! Although free Wifi is advertised it is difficult to access it as the signal is poor. We shall be returning next year when the weather is kinder. Thanks Richard

Stuart44

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/10/2020 16:05

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Location Location Location

A lovely quiet site in the beautiful Peak District. Easy and quick access by foot or by cycle to the adjacent Tissington Trail and High Peak Trail. Amazing scenery. Will be back!

madClanod

Reviewed on 12/08/2020 10:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

Just back from a marvellous midweek break and a perfect location for our first stay in the beautiful Peak District. Richard gave us a warm welcome on arrival and the site is well set out and maintained. Numerous local walks from site and we walked back from Hartington numerous times after visits to the local pubs; torch essential and we had hi viz jackets too.

will05

Reviewed on 02/04/2019 09:23

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

At the centre of some amazing scenery!

We really enjoyed a short stay last weekend. The Site is at the centre of some amazing scenery. The walking cannot be bettered, Wolfscote Dale, Beresford Dale etc etc. Last weekend was stormy and very windy, we even had overnight snow. It is to the credit of the CL that we were able to drive away from the snow without any difficulties. We must all be grateful that we have access to CLs such as Whitehouse Farm. All the services and facilities are fine. I think this will be even better in the summer so will definately be back in a few months. Thanks for a lovely visit.

jkwallis

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/03/2019 20:45

90 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Would have stayed longer had the weather been kinder to us.

Booked for four nights at the end of Feb when we had the warmest Feb weather, just our luck that it changed in the first week of March when we arrived in Heathcote. This lovely CL on a small Farm in the lovely village of Heathcote, was ideally placed for long walks with our greyhound had the weather not been very windy with horizontal rain and the threat of snow on our planned leaving date. It was with heavy heart that we decided to cut short our stay, but we did console Richard with promises that we would return in the better weather as his CL offers us everything we could want. The services are conveniently placed on the perimeter of the walled field that the pitches are in. Great views from the site which included seeing an early evening Barn Owl out on his hunt! It's ideally placed for walks on the Tissington trail and lots of other walks from the site or a short ride away. Definately one that we will return to.

Nicechor

from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 09/03/2019 20:52

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quite site nice views

Booked this site pitch after viewing photos on line. was a little disappointed with the owners as we were just left to find our own way round. The information , signage, and notice board could do with an update! The owners seam more interested in there holiday accommodation that is set up.

Comment from the CL Owner:

I am sorry to hear that you didn’t find us welcoming that certainly wasn’t our intention. We pride ourselves on being relaxed and informal, which most cl users are very happy with, however we will bear your comments in mind. Thank you for staying with us. Janet

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer