Castleton Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Hikers paradise but not for me

This site is up to all expected club standards. A peaceful site with nice size pitches and friendly caring wardens (They even took the time to come check how I was the day after a bad fall off the site and being taken to hospital) Yes, dog friendly and great to see dog owners adhering to the dog on leash rules. We were disappointed with Castleton itself as the only shops open were outdoor clothing/equipment shops and places to eat. The fish and chip shop opens for a very few hours but food was lovely, so would recommend. Very few places to walk without hills to climb. The walk to Hope via the footpath from Castleton is very pleasant but there are several stiles and gates. There is also a steady walk just passed the youth hostel that takes you behind the site and brings you out on the road to Hope, but the drivers of the farm vehicles using this track did not seem visitor friendly. One vehicle did not slow down nor move over causing us to get right into the hedge with the dog. So if you enjoy hiking then you will probably love the location of this site, the castle, the caves and the many places on offer

Crazy Caz

Motorhomer from Norfolk

Reviewed on 18/07/2021 17:19

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Mighty Castleton

Stayed at Castleton Club site two weeks ago, we received a warm welcome from Neil and his wife as we always do. The site is kept clean and tidy, facilities are spotless. From the site you can walk all over the hills or if you don’t fancy the hills there is plenty of low level walks to do. Castleton is the best site we go to by a country mile we just want to stay more often.

Haydn Emmett

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/07/2021 09:54

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Perfect location

A lovely spacious site with a tranquil atmosphere. Castleton Club Site is in a perfect position and is just a short walk away for all shops, pubs, cafes and tourist attractions which Castleton has to offer. Just a little further in the opposite direction Is Hope with even more places to eat and drink. There are so many stunning walks from the site too so perfect for anybody who likes to explore on foot. I’ll be back.

Dalet21

Reviewed on 11/07/2021 16:27

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great stay

First time at Castleton Club site, welcomed by warm and friendly staff. close to Castleton centre 5 minutes walk away plenty of pubs and restaurants and plenty of great scenic walks , would definitely recommend. We will be back 😃

BettyBoop64

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/06/2021 17:38

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

amazing walks

The site is absolutely beautiful with the best walks. Would recommend the caves but you have to book before you go. Pubs and all very good with very good food and service. Would highly recommend a visit

carolineb4900

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 08/06/2021 19:45

11 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Missing something

Serviced pitch and shared facilities were absolutely fine, however there is no shop for essentials on site and no food vans visit. Yes there are small supermarkets and pubs to eat at in Castleton and a curry house in Hope (about a mile in either direction) but when the weather is bad, you don't want to cook and you are on foot, a food delivery service would be welcome. I appreciate the warden might not want to recommend anywhere to eat or drink locally but here was no relevant info at all available for first timers to the area. If you are going to walk one way or the other for food or drink, head for Castleton. The Swiss Tap bar on the main road just before the village is recommended. The local attractions are great, but not the local amenities.

Jed L

Reviewed on 30/05/2021 21:43

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent stay!

A first time visit to Castleton. The facilities were excellent, exceptionally clean.All the covid measures put in place worked very well. The staff are very friendly and happy to help, they all do an amazing job, Thank you! Castleton has a lot of places to eat and a few local shops. All within a few minutes walk of the site. We are returning again.

mani126

Campervanner

Reviewed on 30/05/2021 21:42

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Not all that you might have come to expect from this site

A favourite site and it will remain so, however not all of the advertised or expected facilities/amenities are available. Just back from Castleton and currently the site has NO gas (so the website needs to be changed to reflect this), and has no 'little shop' facilities. Discussed the matter with a warden, and my interpretation is that there is an ongoing dispute between the wardens and the Club over the operation and supply of gas bottles. Hence the site no longer supplies Calor gas bottles. Whether you consider the availability of Gas bottles on site as an expectation given the price we pay for pitches, or as a bonus, then thats up to you, but whatever the website needs to change to reflect the situation. As a result were also unable to comply with the Club Health and Safety requests posted around the site, along the lines of 'use your own facilities where possible to reduce the risk of spreading Covid', Basically we didnt have enough spare gas to use our own Motorhome shower without risking running out for cooking and heating. (Without boring you further with a full report of how this affected our holiday the nearest Calor supplier is the garage in Hope, about a mile away. Delivery is not a service offered by them). The site also now has no essential shopping amenities, like bread, milk, kiddies ice creams etc... Again a dispute between the wardens and Club. Otherwise, given the current Covid restrictions affecting the shower block limiting numbers, and no drying room facility, things were to their usual high level of cleanliness and organisation. So, in summary, if any of the above is of significance to you then give the site a call before you arrive to check the latest situation. Thanks for reading.

howie and lin

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/05/2021 11:25

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

First trip out 2021

We knew it was going to be different. Castleton site is in an excellent location a short walk into the village where there is a good selection of pubs cafes and shops not all of which were open. The village is Dog friendly with most of the pubs accepting dogs some providing water for them. We loved Plant and Planet a Vegan takeaway in the village. Most of the pubs and hotels are now also offering a Vegan option on their menus, our favourite was Pizza Box at the George Hotel. There are many walks however with elderly dogs we are restricted, the walk from Castleton to Hope is lovely with a dog friendly pub at the end of it. Facilities on the site were very limited due to Covid restrictions which did make life on the site difficult, no showers and queues for toilets wasn't pleasant. The site is dog friendly with two dog walks and bins provided. Some of the staff in my opinion appeared anxious I got the distinct impression one or two didn't really want to be there. Overall we enjoyed our stay and yes of course we would go back because we love Castleton Village.

Gwen Rogers

Reviewed on 20/05/2021 20:34

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful location

Booked 4 nights here. It’s our first trip to this site. A wonderful location although a little tricky getting here. The roads are a bit tight in places. We booked 4 nights because it was fully booked for the weekend. However, 21 people decided not to turn up with nearly half of them not bothering to contact the site to cancel. This seems to be a very common practice and something the club needs to address. The wardens work very hard on our behalf and for this many people to not bother turning up is very unfair. We would have liked to stay longer but according to the website it was fully booked. Members should be made to pay at least a 20% booking fee non-refundable at the time of booking. Every CL and private site we have stayed on does this so why can’t the club.

7 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer