Freshwater East Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

May 2024

Lovely site with good amenities and facilities. The staff were very friendly and wished everyone out of their vans good morning on there way to cleaning the amenities blocks. There is a small bay just outside the gates across the road which was great for exercising the dog. Just over the aforementioned Bridge is a Restaurant / Bar called Jaks where we had a very nice meal and it also has free WiFi if you need it. If you like walking this is a really good spot to start from for walks all along the Coastal Way. We only stayed one night so didn't really get to do a great deal. The site was easy to get to (if you follow the instructions provided), do not do what we did and visit Barrafundle Bay before arriving at the site. The sat nav took us the quickest route down a very narrow road with a bridge at the end which was only 7 feet 9 inches wide and we just got through with no damage.

ScreenName8F14EF37ED

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/06/2024 12:24

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great location

Great location for hiking the Pembrokeshire coast path!

camperman1000

Reviewed on 27/04/2024 14:48

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

July 2023

Wow, what a lovely site, 2 minutes from the beach! The wardens were lovely and very helpful. Cleanliness of the site was great. Lovely places to see, a must is Tenby (stunning) We would definitely go back

ScreenName4DB643DCAF

Campervanner

Reviewed on 10/10/2023 21:46

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful & Quiet Relaxing Site

Spent 5 nights here in early September. It is one of the most peaceful and quiet sites we have stayed at. Only the sound of the birds could be heard and the donkey occasionally which was very therapeutic. As you come in to the bay you lose the mobile signal, we are with Sky which runs on O2, but that was quite pleasing in many ways. There are TV points on the serviced pitch bollards, not sure about the others, if you cannot live without a TV fix. It is very handy and a short drive to Pembroke and Castle, Pembroke Dock and Carew Castle. You are about an hour from St David's and we would certainly recommend visiting St David's Cathedral, it is a very impressive and pretty cathedral and well worth the visit. If you have mobility issues, as my wife currently does, email Judith at the Cathedra, and you should get a parking space at the side of the cathedral building. We only visited the Freshwater Inn and Jack's for a drink, we did not eat but from what we observed the food looked good with a reasonable range of options and seemed popular. Be aware Jack's limits tables as a couple were told when I was at the bar they were not accepting any more tables that afternoon and it did not seem overly busy at the time (4:00 pm). All in all a lovely site, well located to visit Pembrokeshire attractions and the staff were very friendly and helpful and informative too. Also, the beach is only a 5/10 minute walk from the site and is dog friendly too.

Bill and Theresa

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/09/2023 12:38

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Golden silence! Oh yes and Sand.

We booked Freshwater East on the recomendation of fellow CAMC members. Descending Trewent Hill and then cautiously entering the site we were delighted to discover this 'gem'. The welcome from the wardens was super, the advice well heeded and the pitch absolutely super, it couldnot be better. The closeness to the beach and other faciltiies made for a fabulous stay, our ten days passed all too quickly. Interested to learn that we were amongst the minority who did not miss the lack of wifi, we came away to escape the contact pressure of being at the beck and call of the 'rat race'. No phone signal, no wifi was golden silence and just what we needed in order for me to switch off completely. The layout of the site was brilliant. We enoyed seeing the families and we loved the beach, but we also enjoyed the quietness of our 'little haven' (pitch 118) during the evenings. Fabulous sunsets, walks and evenings on the beach especially in the rain when the dog and I had the beach to ourselves. Storm Betty added to the fun! Through 'Betty' we were intorduced to two fabulous new friends at 2 a.m. in the morning as we wrestled their awning to safety. I could write much more, but only to endorse what has already been said. One fabulous site, a brilliant team of wardens, a place of welcome that will make us want to come back, again and again. Thank you.

Canon Graham Morris

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/08/2023 18:27

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fabulous place

A great site to come to. A warm welcome to the site by the wardens. Place is well maintained and clean. Great playground for the kids. Very close to the beach, which you can walk to. Tenby is a short drive away. This site has 2 shower blocks which is great, when one is closed the other is still open for use. Which we find useful as most sites only have one. It also has a outdoor shower for wetsuit user, which is a great idea. Only problem is the Wi-Fi. No signal at all, unless you go down to the reception (where everyone goes).

juniper22

Campervanner

Reviewed on 16/08/2023 16:48

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely location right next to dog friendly beach

Really lovely site. Great location right next to dog friendly beach. Small dog walk on site just enough to get dogs out for toilieting. Disabled shower /toilet room fantastic really helped me manage my showering /dressing Nice food at freshwater inn and jacks The only thing is absolutely no phone signal and no internet on site at all. To be honest jt really lets this amazing site down. My husband lost the keys to our vehicle on the beach which left us in a terrible position. On a site with no means of contacting insurance company to try to get a new key sorted out plus my elderly mother who has not been well could not contact us. Both These situations need at least a phone signal. Not to bothered about no internet. Surely the caravan club could sort this out a lot of people where talking about it. Had to go to walk jacks cafe to get a phone signal to try to sort out our predicament of no key for our vehicle Luckily for us a saviour had found them on the beach and handed them into jacks We were so grateful to that person who saved us a hell of a lot of hassle. No tv signal at all but the reception sold extra long tv cable which could go into the tv booster on the electric hook up tower so happy days👍 But we did love it here though and will be back for short breaks 👍❤️

bizzielizzie1958

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/08/2023 10:55

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful location

I have recently returned from a wonderful 5 night stay at Freshwater East and I can admit I didn’t want to leave. The site is long and narrow in shape which I think helps to keep it quiet and peaceful. The site location is really the star of the show. It is an easy 5 minute walk from a superb dog friendly beach with sandy beach and I enjoyed two sea swims in the clear water. It is also wonderfully placed to join onto the coastal path and I had two stunning walks, one along to Broad Haven and back. The other walk was a one way 11 mile walk along to Tenby where I returned by bus. I had an amazing Sunday lunch at the Stackpole Inn. Be prepared to struggle with phone signal (I didn’t get any) and wifi is only available near reception. I will definitely return to this lovely location.

Off to xplore

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/08/2023 13:31

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A most enjoyable and relaxing stay.

We recently spent ten nights on this site and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The close proximity to the beach (5 minute walk) was brilliant as was the easy access to the coastal path walks. The facilities on the site were excellent and very well kept. The only downside was the very limited access for wifi and mobile phone.

simonlittlefield

Reviewed on 09/07/2023 20:43

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Very close to beach

Great site, very close to the beach (under five minutes walk from the site entrance). The beach is sand, dogs allowed, and long enough that paddling from one end to the other takes about 15 - 20 minutes. A great way to spend the evenings. Site is very clean and quiet (I stayed at the end of June, weekday nights) with great, plentiful facilities. Walking either direction form the site along the coastal path gives great views (even in the drizzle). A cheap day out is to pay the parking costs (National Trust £6 in June 23) at Stackpole (there are several carparks) and thereafter everything is free with a lake, gardens, coastal path, dunes, woodland and sandy beach at Broad Haven (or the more popular Barafundle Bay). My mid level response to is it good for families is that I travelled alone so don't know and there's not a Not applicable option.

ClubMemberD8F52A7F3A

Campervanner

Reviewed on 02/07/2023 20:44

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer