Moreton-in-Marsh Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

First visit... but not the last time we will visit this site

We found the overall experience at this site to be above the average expected from a club site. For such a large site it was very peaceful and relaxing. My only gripe is the condition of the toilet block we were using which was beyond its best and in need of a full restoration/ refurb. The cleaning was a bit hit and miss and i presume was done by an external contractor, in the male toilets after they had finished it was always left swimming in water and a slip hazard to all. The one working soap dispenser was left empty for 2 1/2 days and the only hand drier in the female block never worked for the 5 days we were there. Apart for this we really enjoyed the stay and found the large variation of mobile food vendors on site every night was a great benefit especially the Pizza I would thoroughly recommend the nearby pub/restaurant, The Horse and Groom in nearby Bourton on the Hill. we will be back again soon

Grovesy

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/10/2021 14:32

11 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Only a Fleeting Visit

We only managed to stay one night as we were on our way to catch the ferry at Southampton but we will visit again. From what we could see in the dusk the site is quite big and well equipped. Shower facilities were clean and plentiful. We wished we had more time to explore but it gives us an excuse to come back.

ScreenNameDACF230F9B

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/09/2021 13:40

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Hugmans on tour

Arrived for a 4 night break 50 minutes early to check in time and it was nice that they let people in early an extra bonus Not many pitches for non awning but we found one and parked longways Showers and toilets were kept nice and clean and grass areas were kept well cut. Didn't think much of the fish and chip van hubby took my fish back it was like rubber they exchanged it for another piece wasn't to bad but not brilliant (wasn't cod as advertised) Walk into town takes about 10mins would recommend the black bear pub nice pint good prices. Train station roughly 12 mins walk £8 return to Oxford Will return when this way again

Paul Hugman

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/09/2021 16:03

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Consider others

Just had a 4 night stay at Moreton in Marsh arrived at 12.20 thinking we should have a good choice of pitch but no such luck. I feel over the past few years this site has deteriorated. The up grade in progress seems very slow but time has been made to add further glamping pods. We had pitch 83 which is supposed to be hard standing. Hard to believe there were so few stones more like a mud pitch once it rained. It was also supposed to be big enough to take an awning but our awning overlapped on to the grass. Feel bitterly disappointed. The club now needs to clearly identify different pitches for caravans and motor homes and not rely on guest to consider others as some motor homes were on the large pitches. The grounds on the site were unkempt bushes over grown and in regards to meadow grass looks untidy and unsure how much it helps the On a positive note it is in a great location.

NigelDH

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 21:10

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

We visited this site and enjoyed as ever a very nice stay. The toilet blocks as ever as always clean and tidy and enjoyed by all. You do get a bit a noise from the road close by especially early mornings but thankfully not all day long. They only downside of the site is the wonderful trees ,but unfortunately they do not allow tv pick up . We have digital tv reception but also we were unable to pick up a signal ,but there is booster sockets on the electrify connection posts ,but you do need to have an aerial lead. So take a tip if you want to watch television buy yourself a lead before coming to the site ,although available from the shop they are quite expensive and much cheaper on line. It is always a pleasure coming to this as it is our favourite and the town itself is a little gem. Obviously COVID has effected the town like most places and there are shop closures ,but never the less it is still vey enjoyable . The White Swan pub at the end of the end onto Moreton is quite good and welcomes dogs. The Cate in the little arcade across the road in Moreton is very nice and good is excellent and the staff very attentive. There are Yorts and Safari nets place cabins for hire on site now ,so if you have friends who wish to visit you these are available to hire ,but I hasten to add book well in advance Don’t know if it is the site atmosphere or not ,but certainly the members staying here are always friendly and talkative ,unlike some we have stayed on anyway come here and have a great stay

vicofcanterbury

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/09/2021 11:53

12 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Like the Curate's Egg - Good in parts

Pitches close to the road (like we were on 63) can suffer an inordinate level of traffic noise late into the night and early in the morning. A nearby quarry seems to generate a lot of 4 axle tippers going each way past the site and boy are they even noisier when empty! At least the motorbikes stopped early on in the evening but I rather liked the growl of an odd Ducati heading away into the distance. A very distinctive engine note. Next time I'll try for a pitch well away from the road. I'm ambivalent about dogs. Don't love 'em and don't hate 'em. But I really don't appreciate them being 'allowed' to continue barking and thus setting off a chain reaction of barks as other dogs latch on to the canine communications super highway. At times I thought we'd set-up inside Battersea Dogs' Home. It's not their fault I know but I feel that responsible owners wouldn't let that continue. Maybe during our stay we just happened to have more irresponsible owners? I wasn't sure of the etiquette of complaining about dogs barking so didn't. You can never be sure of an owner's reaction to criticism of their beloved pooches, especially when they can hear for themselves. To be fair towards the end of the week the barking did quieten down a bit as people moved away and new people (and dogs) arrived. Maybe we were unlucky? I'd come back again but more enlightened about pitch selection. The proximity of the town and all the facilities was absolutely mustard!

ScreenNameABE2B85AE3

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/08/2021 18:17

1 review

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great 3 night stay

We managed to get 3 nights on a standard pitch just before the August Bank Holiday. We’ve stayed here before and it was as good as ever. Perfect location for town and country - very close to Moreton for shops, eating, drinks etc but plenty of great walking nearby. Facilities are clean and of a very good standard. Staff very helpful. Can’t fault it.

DBR

Reviewed on 30/08/2021 17:39

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely 2 days here

Came here for 2 days 23-25 Aug on pitch 51.. Pitch was a lovely size being a standard without awning.. But we were in the shade on 2 lovely days.. But not many pitches left tbh.. But we were bear the toilet facilities and wash up area which I like to be by.. Morten is a lovely place to go the village itself is 5-10 min walk away. With quite a few pubs cafes etc.. Can be expensive.. The market on a Tues is lovely to selling lots of different items. The huge pork pies are scrummy. The campsite itself is very big, and very confusing to go around when looking for a pitch.. Some of the pitches it the bigger area were quite unkept and could do with a face-lift.. The yurts glamping area is nice, but me personally I wouldn't go this area as its right by the kids playground, so a lot of noise all day if your trying to chill. WiFi well unless u got mobile data or oay for it it is shocking.. TV.. If u only have an. Indoor aerial then you won't get any TV... Like us... But a lovely gent next to us let us borrow his that plugs in from the electric outside (which we didn't know about) but now we have 1.. Never even thought about it tbh... So I could watch my prog without missing the final... This site is lovely and wardens don't stop fair dos,, Slight noise where we was from the Rd outside continuously mind.. And some drive like loons All in all tho we will be back. But will opt for a pitch with awning as there's more choice next time...

beanystravel

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/08/2021 11:41

10 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Weeks stay

Very convenient place to stay to explore the Cotswolds. Buses good from centre of town. Went to Stratford upon Avon, Cheltenham and Bourton on Water. Took motorhome to Batsford Arboretum, although there is a pleasant footpath direct to entrance but elderly dog not quite up to that as well. Really worth a visit as very tranquil with amazing views. Bourton lovely but get the early bus as it gets VERY busy later. Visited Birdworld which again worth doing. Bit of road noise on our pitch and trees which meant cleaning the top of the motorhome when we got home, and birds chucking down acorns which showered the vehicle behind as we drove off!! As usual helpful friendly wardens and very clean...just a shame some visitors can’t be bothered to clear up after themselves in washing up area or showers. Would certainly come back, but maybe not in August as traffic awful.

DavidandJanet

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/08/2021 10:18

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Good site

stayed 2 nights in August, motorhome, hardstanding. Many HS pitches and some serviced. two toilet blocks. Great location to get on to Monarch Way trail to Stow, unfortunately one cant come back on Fosse Way. Taxis available from Stow to Moreton. Centre of Moreton is only a 10 minute walk with many restaurants and pubs.

menon

Reviewed on 10/08/2021 13:30

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer