Moreton-in-Marsh Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Another good stay at Moreton-In-Marsh

Always enjoy this site as it is well run and so close to the village. An easy ten minute walk sees you in amongst lots of individual shops, pubs and restaurants. The site has plenty of facilities but watch out for the trees and the traffic. If you get in the wrong spot, you may get no TV, no internet, and traffic noise for most of the night. We have been a few times now and know which pitches to choose - get it right and all of the problems disappear. Would definitely recommend.

PaulF1968

Motorhomer from Buckinghamshire

Reviewed on 01/12/2022 16:01

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Well set up, but feel I got fleeced

Only booked for one night, arrived around 30m, check was OK. Found a pitch and got hooked up. Facilities we really good, super clean. When I checked in explained we were meeting some friends for lunch on Sunday and would it be OK to leave around 3pm. I said I was happy to pay a fee for this. I was informed to check this again in the Sunday, so in the morning I did, I was told this would be 2pm latest, which didn"t really work for me. I said I was happy to pay a concession bit hat wasn't acceptable. I ended up having to pay a full fee for 2 people with hook up to stay an extra hour. The staff were just unempathetic and said everyone wanted a late checkout. I was happy to move to a new spot or park in the late arrivals spot. They said No, when we left at 3pm the site was barely a third full. There was lots of space. It just left a sour taste and feel I was just ripped off, paying a full fee for what was an extra couple of hours on site and the staff were just unwilling to give consideration. The site was pretty well set up, facilities were very good, super clean. There was quite a bit of noise on Saturday night, loud "partiers" in a caravan next to us, banging doors early hours, music and a lot of loud chatting. Not the site's fault but just woke us up. I'd go back but as long as you just want to check in and leave within what seemed stringent parameters in low season, don't expect too much.

ScreenNameEB55D2A91D

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/11/2022 19:35

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Cotswolds site

Very convenient for a gentle stroll in to Moreton -in-Marsh for motor-homers with its cafes and pubs . Moreton-in-Marsh itself is not the prettiest Cotswold town ; it’s a little tired . There is a market on a Tuesday and a Co-Op and an Aldi . There is little else of particular interest within close walking distance although Batsford Arboretum is a pleasant walk away across fields. Broadways’ site is also just short stroll into a much prettier more interesting village. The walking from the Moreton-in-Marsh site is not a picturesque or as interesting as Broadway or elsewhere in the Cotswolds . The site itself is the usual club standard , although some pitches are on the small side . The wardens were helpful and cheerful. This site is perfectly OK but the location isn’t really our cup of tea.

Graham M

Reviewed on 19/11/2022 16:00

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Ideal location

Sometimes I read other reviews and wonder if we have stayed at the same site and this applies here.The site is ideally placed , a short walk into Moreton in the Marsh along a busy road, or an alternative path across fields. It is attractively laid out but there is some road noise hence my overall rating of 4 stars. The pitches are quite small in places and can be slightly difficult to reverse onto. Also there was a lot of leaves which did make it difficult to see the hardstanding, and is perhaps my only real complaint, that a bit of leaf blowing would be beneficial. The wardens however were very friendly , I rang a few days before to check about the late night arrivals area and they were very helpful. They clearly have a problem with people arriving before 1pm as we observed, but this is not the wardens fault but the members who think arriving early is ok and then moan when they can't get in. How many self catering would let you arrive before 1pm? The facilities were spotless, and the baby changing room was ideal with a small bath and very warm in the room. The site had several food wagons which called in various evenings, we had the pizzas which were excellent and reasonably priced.In fact I would say some of the best pizzas we have had They took your order and then gave you a time to pick it up, which was fine. Ideally placed to visit the Cotswolds and Stratford upon Avon, we will definitely use again

Heather2020

Motorhomer from Devon

Reviewed on 15/11/2022 19:15

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Hoping for a good weekend away.

Arrived for a much needed weekend break and first thing on arrival was to be told off several times by the warden as my card wasn't signed then proceeding to tell me all the dos and don'ts for another 5 mins. Not a nice greeting and far too many rules! Busy on site so found a pitch in a cul de sac after a drive around. The pitch was absolutely covered in leaves mud and bird droppings. Why are leaf blowers not being used or raking up the worst? Understand the leaves are dropping but its just being left.The hard standing wasn't even visible. The toilet blocks were clean and tidy as usual but why wait for new arrivals to then close the blocks in the afternoon? We normally enjoy visiting this site as been many times the location is brilliant but not so welcoming this time.

sparky100

Reviewed on 13/11/2022 12:15

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Good site

Stayed at this site many times over the years what ever you do...do not arrive before 1pm you'll be turned away to go God knows where mabe a lay by who knows. Be on your best behaviour and what ever you do don't break the rules otherwise the wardens will have great pleasure in telling you about it. The site itself is clean well looked after as you would expect..the toilet blocked is closed for cleaning at a sensible time. Their is a pizza van on site at certain times over priced for what they are and the proprietors I feel don't appreciate your custom . Their is also a fish and chip shop van that sells awfull frozen chips dry and tastless. With the site in close proximity to town I'd go there for my takeaway. This site is well worth a visit but as I've said the wardens don't suffer fools gladly. The 1pm rule must be obeyed for the obvious reason they can't allow queues on the main road .

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Returned for second time this year

This was my second visit to the site. Once again was really happy with my stay. A pizza van came on site one night and a fish and chip van the next night. I believe there are other things on several nights though haven’t been there at that time. Pizza’s were lovely… didn’t have fish and chips so can’t comment on that.. The toilet/shower block is very clean and well looked after. There is a service toilet at the back of the block which can be used when facilities are being cleaned. The site is strict on rules such as when you can get on site etc, but I knew the rules before going so it wasn’t a problem. It is a fairly easy walk into the little market town. I’m disabled and have difficulty walking but managed it.. would happily stay again as the staff were very friendly and good at their individual jobs. The site is well cared for and there is wildlife around day and night which I liked.. overall, a fab site and nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff..

ScreenNameEDFA8D70E2

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/11/2022 18:44

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

We finally stayed!

After driving past this site for years, now as members, we finally stayed for a few days at the end of October. The wardens were lovely and friendly, it was nice having little chats here and there. We had a big, tidy pitch lots of space, no issue with parking, but our Dandy is considerably smaller than some other units. Huh The washrooms were clean, spacious, light with great hot showers. One of the wardens pointed out the service toilets around the back of the block - who knew (not me!) so if cleaning is in progress, you can always nip to the loo! As for road noise, well to be honest, it can be heard across the whole site as it's on the A road... that's the pay off for such a convenient location. If it's going to bother you, then I'd go elsewhere rather than let this spoil your stay. We didn't find it an issue particularly. There is indeed wildlife - rabbits, squirrels etc as the site is in the countryside, but the impeccably behaved dogs onsite on our visit didn't seem to be bothered by them. And as for location, easy to walk into Moreton, excellent for visits to the usual hotspots, fabulous for walks from the site and further afield. Brilliant site, looking forward to booking again next year!

Kirstjw

Trailertenter

Reviewed on 04/11/2022 18:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

How one event can ruin the weekend when handled in the wrong way .

Stayed at the site to enable us to visit the excellent Moreton in Marsh show on Saturday 3rd September . Our stay was for 3 nights . We stayed at the same time last year to visit the show . We had an excellent weekend and spent a day at Bourton on the Water . On arrival it was frustrating finding a pitch away from the road noise and also several areas which were cul de sacs . After an excellent weekend and torrential rain the night before we packed up the caravan and were ready to hitch up at 12 o clock . Packing up had taken longer than expected after the heavy rain . We then decide best to use the toilet and wash our hands etc before hitching up . Only the EHU connection was to be disconnected . On return the warden approached us and asked if we were leaving , I told him yes and we had just been to the toilet . He told us it was 12.10 pm and the rules were that we should be gone by 12 . He then said 12 means 12 not 10 past or 20 past 12 . He walked away saying something like “you will know next time 12 means 12 . I then went into rush and panic mode making several mistakes honking up that could have proved dangerous . As we left the site at about 12.35 I stopped and asked the warden his name , he told me his name and I replied that he had ruined our weekend by his attitude . He told me he was sorry I felt that way , I told him I wouldn’t be visiting the site again . I know rules are rules but attitude is important and at my age I resent being spoken to in the manner of a teacher ,policeman or prison warden . Older caravaners take more time and need to take more care .Safety and security are the main concern not trying to exercise authority . Then after driving a few miles in a frustrated and upset state I had a contact from the Swift tracker control because I hadn’t switched off my tracker . I hadn’t followed my checklist for safety and security before driving away . I’ve got over it now but the site were also turning away caravaners who arrived before 1pm . So beware if you visit the site that they are very strict on arrival and departure times . Other wardens were friendly and welcoming on our arrival and we also had a nice chat with 2 visiting wardens from Portsmouth . Then I suppose the whole country is under stress at the moment .

givingup

Reviewed on 07/09/2022 05:32

3 reviews

5 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Back after 15 years

Last visited this site in 2007, its changed a little since then ! Very easy to find and plenty of room for arriving units to get you off the main road. Wardens were very friendly and we were quickly booked in and off looking for a pitch. The site is easy to navigate with plenty of pitches to choose from however.... We initially pitched on 133 and started setting up but soon noticed that this block of hardstanding's (120 - 135) were very close to each other and we did feel like we were sitting in a goldfish bowl as people walked past, and the only place to park your car was in front of the caravan which made even more tight. Before we fully set up (Awning and water etc) we had a walk around the site and found a much more quieter spot (104) so moved and got settled. It was only then around 6am the following morning that the road noise started from passing cars, HGV's and tractors. So pitches 104 - 116 back onto the main road and even though they area screened by trees you cannot fail to hear the passing traffic. The rest of the site is well set out, Glamping pods and family tents are on a separate field as is the enclosed spacious dog walk. There is a gate that gives a short 10 min walk in to the village with plenty of pubs and places to eat, the Tuesday market is also a good visit but gets busy. All in all a pleasant stay.

Pacman14

Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 29/08/2022 18:08

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer