Moreton-in-Marsh Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Definitely one to avoid if you want a peaceful stay and pleasant staff

I've just returned from a few days at this site and I must admit it's one I'll never return to if I can help it. Upon arrival I wasn't met with a pleasant welcome at all, the lady who checked me in was very sour faced and indeed quite rude, I was even 'thrown' a pen across the desk and forced to sign my membership card before I given a barrier key. What's the point in signing a card these days? Especially when the club doesn't even have a record of my signature!! I was then told my pitch number and informed how to find it via the maze of narrow roads and farcical one way systems on the site. I'd paid the premium for a serviced pitch only to find it right next to the services anyhow and really close to the main road. I was informed it was a new pitch, however clearly not designed very well at all. If you didn't have a motor mover there was absolutely no way you'd get a caravan on the pitch, even if you were an absolute expert at reversing, indeed the folks opposite would have had to have had their car facing the wrong way down the roadway in order to achieve pitching on their pitch. All around the pitch itself the grass was churned up and muddy as the roadways are so narrow it's very difficult to manoeuvre without clipping the grass. The pitches themselves were all very close together and the smaller ones where a car had to be left in front of the caravan, often meant the car was almost on the already narrow roadway. One pitched up I was very annoyed to find the bins were emptied each morning around 9.00am, using a very noisy tractor like vehicle with the wardens appearing to take as much effort as possible to make as much noise as possible when emptying the them. This isn't a 1950's Maplins style holiday camp where everyone is woken by a chirpy Gladys Pugh at some on-godly hour in the morning, I went away for some peace and quiet and perhaps even a nice quiet lay-in or two! In 2021 I don't think that's too much to ask. In all the time I was there I don't think I once saw a warden smile at anyone and upon departure, one of them just stood by and watched me struggle to put my barrier card in the required box. It really wouldn't have taken much thought for him to step over and help rather than just glare at me. So in summary, if you want a peaceful, well planned site with nice pitches and friendly staff then best avoid this one.

westieville

Reviewed on 26/10/2021 11:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

One club site to steer clear of

Is it me or are the standards dropping at many of the club sites, or maybe since covid and stay cations the clientele is playing a part too? We had someone with a big camp fire on the go last night who obviously is totally unaware of the clubs rules. Someone had done a number 2 in the ladies shower cubicle and people walking all over your pitch to get through gaps in the hedge. The site itself is generally shabby but obviously full and I guess if its full then why bother just take the money and run. Nice for the clubs executives but not great for its members and their holiday The glamping pods look like glorified plastic sheds surely they could have bought something a bit more pleasing to the eye. But I guess they have been full all season so happy days! Summing up I would really like to know what the clubs vision of a modern site is because I dont think its this one!

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great location , busy site

Stayed for a week in October. The site was full the whole period of our stay, we were lucky to get a nice pitch, not refurbished but fine as weather dry. Due to the sites location being within walking distance of Moreton it’s popularity makes check in time a bit of a bun fight over pitches, and leaves little time for grass cutting ,we found the wardens very efficient. Pitches near the main road are somewhat affected by traffic noise. Would highly recommend the Mermaid Fish in Moreton

Chris Cart

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/10/2021 21:06

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Never go again....

we stayed here in October 2021 for 6 nights. it was very enclosed , very close to the road which keeps you awake at night. and our last 2 nights we had a group of another 4 caravans around us which were outside drinking loud talking some words I would not like to repeat ....this went on every night till gone 01.00.am. No wardens came to tell them to be quiet. this was not like a CAMC Site. grass was long and wardens at reception the worst I have come across we could not wait to move on...not worth the money to stay here..

sharon89

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/10/2021 22:52

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed with pitch

We arrived for 5 nights on Tuesday 27th September. Lady on reception wouldn't accept my membership details on my phone so had to go get my card then queue again ( bit old fashioned). Its a great location, good for public transport links.We travelled with family in 2 small campers and were told there were not many pitches left, mainly by the road. We pitched up there. Yes it is noisy but we didn't mind that, what we did mind was the lack of gravel. The pitches were muddy, when it rained it flooded under our awning, got muddy and we ended up having to leave a day early. If you haven't upgraded all pitches then you shouldn't charge the same amount until you have. It did spoil our visit.

ScreenNameFBA658285F

Campervanner

Reviewed on 19/10/2021 15:19

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great improvements

Just spent a few nights here for the umpteenth time. In recent years the site suffered much criticism for various reasons but it would appear, to their credit, the current wardens have done a superb job of addressing those issues. They have restricted 'corner cutting' by placing red and white marker poles to keep the grass edges in tact and stop mud being spread around the site. They have added some new Serviced pitches, stocked the site shop (on previous visits the shop was empty) and generally tidied the whole place up. A brief chat with one of the wardens described how the site is quite old and thus there are plans to widen the smaller pitches to modern standards. Well done to the hard working wardens in bringing the site back to what it should be. Ps. They have also arranged for food vans to be on site virtually every night so no complaints there as they seemed to be very popular.

H and G 62

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/10/2021 11:17

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

1 night stay at end September

Nice site. Best thing is the proximity to Moreton-in-Marsh itself, walkable in less than 10 mins either via the pavement alongside the A44 or via the footpath at the back of the site. Go a mile or so the other way on the same footpath and you get to Batsford Arboretum, well worth a visit. Due to the closeness to the A44 there is quite a bit of traffic noise, and some pitches back on to the road.

SteveAmandaAndRufus

Campervanner

Reviewed on 07/10/2021 20:19

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Short Break

Stayed for 4 night short break, site facilities clean and well looked after, disappointed at having to drive around site to look for a pitch not much guidance at check in. Site position for the town is excellent, just a short walk to shops restaurants and cafes, many welcome pets. Tuesday is market day so take note for traffic. Would recommend for short break or stay over in transit.

Kevin and Wendy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/10/2021 10:43

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Nice site

We stopped at Moreton for two nights to break our journey, the site is very close to Moreton in Marsh being only 5 minutes on foot. The check in process isn't the best, we were told to go and look for a pitch without any guidance as to the ones available (which is the normal process at other club sites). So we drove around and eventually found pitch number 62 which was large enough but a little too close to the road. This proved to be the case with the traffic noise continuing into the night. We also saw many other new arrivals driving around searching looking lost. Would stay here again but try to be more selective on the pitch.

ScreenName571BA01716

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/10/2021 11:45

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed

We had a 3 night stay here in September. On arrival, I thought that we were back in the 1970s at a butlins holiday camp. People wandering about everywhere, and a general feeling of disarray. The site was full, and the only pitch that we could find was a non hard hard standing! Basically a patch of mud with very little stone covering. The pitch was small and had no defined area, as such. The adjacent pitches were also small, and when a European unit and a large unit with large awning arrived on the day after and pitched up, we felt very squashed in. The pitches opposite were better spaced, having just 3 in the bay, where there were 4 on the side that we were on. The road noise and also noise at night from what sounded like a quarry, was very annoying. This site has a lovely enclosed dog walk, but you have to go past the Glamping area, which basically looks like a homeless families settlement. The walk into Moreton in Marsh was easy and only about 5 minutes, but nothing much to see there..not what you expect of a Cotswolds town. Nearby Batsford arboretum is well worth a visit. The visiting Vinnies Mac n Cheese van is a lovely addition, and the food was delicious. Didn’t rate the fish and chips. The wardens here seemed a bit despondent, and the only ones who spoke to us, were the ones who were near the glamping units, and to be honest, i would hazard a guess that they are local people, bought in to manage that area, rather than the whole site. We really do not feel the necessity for the CAMC to have these glamping pods/ safari tents etc on sites. They would be better off using the space for more pitches, of a decent size and good quality. We can have visitors on site, if we must, anyway, so surely they could stay in nearby accommodation . With more people now buying caravans and motorhomes, meaning that the sites are always full, surely this should be the priority for the club, as per its name? The Caravan and Motorhome Club.

Blythespirit

Motorhomer from Suffolk

Reviewed on 02/10/2021 15:58

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer