Moreton-in-Marsh Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

First time staying in the Cotswolds

We stayed here for three nights on our way back up north after a week in Dorset. Lovely site, located just outside the town, just a few minutes of easy walking and you are right in the bustling centre, with pretty little shops, cafes and pubs. Site staff were welcoming, despite having an obviously busy day. The layout is a bit baffling at first, as it’s a large site, but it’s nicely set out Facilities were good, we had a serviced hardstanding pitch, which was just big enough. Unfortunately the grass patches between some of the pitches are in the process of being renovated, so we had a weedy earth patch between us and our neighbours, but as the weather was glorious, at least it was dry. Dog exercise area is excellent, our two loved it and made new friends! We’d definitely return to this site, and would stay longer next time, as the location is perfect for us.

ScreenName7513DEAEBA

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/05/2023 15:32

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Stayed here for a week

Stayed here for a week to visit some of the Cotswolds scenery,you can walk into the town plenty of places to eat,and some super markets coop and butchers. Very handy for visiting the local Cotswold area small villages and towns.

Moderator Comment - Title edited to reduce length but comments added into review.

davlyd

Reviewed on 12/05/2023 17:34

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Love the Cotswolds!

We always enjoy staying in the Cotswolds and have been to Moreton on many occasions. Last year there was much work being carried out on the site, but we were rather disappointed this year at the condition of the site, felt there is still more too be done. Showers need some work on them, hose in Elsan room was split and roadways are in poor condition, my husband, who has mobility problems had a fall outside the disabled facility. We didn't really feel that the site reflects the standard we have come to expect from the Club. However despite these negative comments we enjoyed our stay and the wardens were lovely.

Graham Lance

Reviewed on 12/05/2023 07:01

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site, very welcoming and conveniently placed

What a great well cared for site with lovely, welcoming wardens who were happy to help with any questions we had and always with a smile. Some of the pitches are nearer to the road but the traffic does seem to die right down in the evening so didn’t bother us. Facilities nice and clean and showers lovely and warm. Just a 5 minute walk into Moreton in Marsh with its high street having everything you may need. A number of supermarkets, pubs, coffee shops and independent shops are there and there is a bus service from near the site too (not on a Sunday though). We walked to the Arboretum which was stunning and visited the cafe there. Lovely lunch and beautiful scenery to enjoy. Will definitely be back to this site.

CuppaT

Reviewed on 01/05/2023 22:34

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Not April Fools 2023

Visited Moreton in Marsh April 01 2023, excellent visit, no problems, we were expecting rain and we were disappointed, dry bright and sunny for 6 days out of seven. There was some upgrade works going on but only when we were out on walks. Moreton is a lovely small town, 6 minutes walk away, with lots of nice shops and local walks. Some reviews told of the road noise, but we didn’t notice it until we went up close to the road. A friendly suggestion is to build a living wall (willow and earth) along the road line and this should reduce any noise still further. But as I said, we didn’t notice the noise anyway.

ScreenName Chris

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/04/2023 18:54

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

January Blues

A 3 night stay in mid-January. Pitches were being limited to the eastern side of the site due to there being ground-works completed on pitch updates on the far west side. Misfortune had struck the washroom block on the side we were being required to pitch and so there was a fair old trudge across the site to get to the other washroom (despite there being works completed on that side of the site!). The pitches were a mixed bag, and there was an awful lot of leaf and tree debris apparent. The site roads were somewhat potholed and puddly. TV and mobile reception were pretty poor, largely due to the overall countryside location. The ice-cold weather meant that the service areas were badly frozen up and emptying and rinsing the cassette was a challenge therein, despite the pipes/taps being heavily lagged, it still made getting any water a frustrating time. Not really a fault of the site, but with the other little disappointments it just sits up there as a "meh" moment. Moreton itself is lovely and The Black Bear is definitely worth a visit for both ales and pub grub. Take a torch if returning to the site from the town after dark, it is pitch black along the pavement. We enjoyed our time in the area but felt that there ought to have been a reduction in pitch price for the limited facilities made available during our visit, especially as we could have pitched on the western side quite safely without fear of getting run over by a rampant mini-digger, and have been closer to the facilities which we had paid for. We would visit again, but with there being so many places in the UK to visit, when that might be is a bit of an unknown.

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Inconveniences

The western side of the site is currently closed (a few pitches are being renovated) so arrivals are told to pitch on the eastern side of the site, however, we were told to use the toilet block on the western side because the eastern toilet block was out of action for a few weeks. This resulted in everybody on the eastern side having to use the facilities on the western side - how inconvenient is that? After rainfall parts of the roads were not draining well so you either had to walk through a puddle to get to the western toilet/shower block, or take the even longer route past reception and along the footpath. I certainly got a few steps in each day whilst staying here! In addition, upon arrival we were informed that the tumble dryer wasn’t working in the eastern side laundry room but the one on the western side was working. I did use both the washing machine and the tumble dryer but have to say that my washing did not smell clean after washing and the dryer seemed inefficient. The shower cubicles are starting to look shabby but the rest of the toilet block was OK. Even though the facilities were inconvenient there was no price reduction. Given the situation I think the club should have swapped the two sides over and pitched everyone nearer the open facilities block and renovated pitches on the eastern side where the facilities were closed.

Debbie Pearce

Reviewed on 28/01/2023 17:42

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Enjoyable despite upgrading and toilet block closed, BUT.....

Picking up on a previous reviewer's comment about Wi-Fi, am I the only one to be thoroughly irritated by the club's Wi-Fi package whereby only one device is allowed at a time? How many individual members have only one Wi-Fi device and given that most people staying at club sites will be couples or families, how many of these will be using only one Wi-Fi device? It is such a nuisance to have to logout of one device in order to use another, and on some devices virtually impossible, meaning that one has to wait a few hours to be automatically logged out. I can understand the club being careful not to allow unlimited devices to be used by one account but surely to allow two or three would not drastically affect the club's coffers? Failing that, could we not have a heavily discounted second and third (or more) wifi package linked to the first? Or best of all, as others have mentioned, with (I imagine) pretty well every member wishing to use wifi on site, why not make it a free and integral part, and perk, of the club membership, even if the annual club fee then has to go up by a pound or two? On the club's Wifi page, it says "We are constantly reviewing performance and grading performance and grading of our Wi-Fi provision in line with customer feedback". If you want to waste a good couple of hours, you try finding a link to use to give feedback. I did and I couldn't!

OxfordPeter

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/01/2023 11:34

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

New Year Stay

This was our first stay at this site and we received a warm welcome. Conveniently situated for the town, bus stops and train station. However, I have to agree with a previous reviewer in that the site's roads need upgrading. There were lots of potholes and very deep puddles, which didn't drain very much during our 5 night stay. Wellies were needed and waste containers had to be carried, not wheeled. There were a lot of fallen leaves and the pitch next to us was barely visible because of them. We had no TV reception, which wasn't really a problem on this occasion as we were spending time with other family members. We don't have an aerial lead (points available on electric hook-up) but will consider getting one. The toilets were cleaned late afternoon, which was fine, but on several occasions during our stay I encountered toilets that were dirty and hadn't even been flushed. Also, on using the chemical waste point on the last day, the previous user had obviously not rinsed or ensured the area was clean for the next camper. It would be nice if people were respectful of others by leaving facilities as they would wish to find them. This is the first site where we've encountered this. Not a fault of the site but I feel that with CAMC price increases this year, free WiFi should be included during your stay.

MC1Moho

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/01/2023 16:46

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great location ..in need of an upgrade.

Just returned from four nights at this site over the New Year period. Site was almost full upon arrival and so ended up on a pitch next to the main road. No TV Signal and no internet and a lot of traffic noise. Tv is available via the pitch bollard which requires a long cable , which we didn’t have and the site office had sold out. Paid for internet access but terrible signal. It had been raining for most of the day that we arrived and clearly there is an issue with drainage on this site ,with most of the roadways covered in water with large puddles forming over the very poor condition surface which was full of large pot holes and broken up tarmac. The few drains visible were blocked by mountains of leaves which also covered most of our pitch to several inches. It seems that no maintenance or leaf removal had been carried out for sometime .. however we did see on our last day the wardens removing piles of leaves from several pictures near the entrance. Toilet blocks okay but clearly getting dated with broken shower panels and fixings. It is clear that if this site , if it is to be open all year needs some serious investment in drainage, improved roadways,kerbs and an upgrade to the toilet blocks, improved internet access would also be good. The location is great with a few minutes walk to the town with some great shops and the garden centre Is worth a visit ,if that’s your thing. We have stayed on a lot of club sites and this is the first time I have felt the need to write a review .. come on club you can do better than this.

Bugalow

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 08/01/2023 19:56

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer