Winchester Morn Hill Club Campsite

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Morn Hill Surprise

Well ... this was a Lovely 'Surprise'. The Site is well maintained with the Historic and Beautiful City of Winchester accessible by Foot about two Miles on a Path and with Cycle Route 23 just a short distance away. There is so much to see and do in the Local Area including the local Village of Easton and The Horse Chestnut Pub with covered outside catering, but make sure you book first! Our First Visit to Morn Hill, but I am confident that we will be returning soon to carry on exploring the Walks and Cycle Routes as there is more we want to do. With the current situation we like to be 'Self Contained in our Motorhome so can't comment on any of the Toilet Blocks, but the Service Facilities are easy accessible and cater for the current Coronavirus CO-VID19 issues. The Site Team were Great ... Thank You!!

Chocol8UK

Motorhomer from East Sussex

Reviewed on 08/05/2021 16:36

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site abs staff

Can not fault this lovely site, if you want to chill out this is a perfect site. Scored 4 for peaceful and quiet, the only down fall for us was the crows in the tree, the noise drove us mad but that’s just nature and nothing to do with the site, apart from that lovely and peaceful. Staff were so friendly and helpful, facilities very clean but have the essentials but nothing else, I scored 3 just because nothing is there, but that was fine because the town is only a few miles away and if you are mobile very easy to walk or catch a bus which comes in very half an hour near the Holiday Inn and easy to get back, Winchester is beautiful and people so friendly. Nothing for children to do unless u go out or take thing with you, I would visit again and happy to give this site a thumbs up for the price it was a bargain

Telko

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/04/2021 18:41

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Not as we expected

We had a pleasant enough stay but the road noise was a disappointment. At home we have screeching gulls all the time, well here the lower field is subject to rooks/crows screeching all the time so watch where you pitch. No pub or walks in easy reach but a short drive or cycle sorts that out. And a final issue i was not expecting was unisex shared facilities-not in favour al all, there really is no point with two blocks on site with male and female facilities in each or is the club trying to be on trend with the current gender madness we are subjected to just about everywhere now.

hulln000

Caravanner from West Sussex

Reviewed on 19/04/2021 17:45

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Will definitely come again!

This was our first time at this site, wardens welcoming and pleasant, pitches perfect with loads of space. We wanted a quiet weekend away and this hit the brief entirely, plenty of walks for us and the dogs, plenty of respect from fellow campers as well as patience and understanding when it came to accessing toilet facilities due to Covid. We will definitely come again next year.

malcreid

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/10/2020 19:14

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Well worth a visit

We have visited this site several times. The big drawback is the state of the very dated facility blocks but we believe these are due for refurbishment soon. The site is very pleasant with ample space between pitches. A big plus for us is the excellent bus service from outside the site. Every 30 minutes to either Winchester or Alton via Arelsford. Need to take the car to get a morning paper but Tescos is only 2.8 miles away. Well worth a visit and recommended.

HampshireRover

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 27/09/2020 16:21

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Another lovely stay.

Another lovely stay at Morn Hill. This site is only 45 mins away for me but why go further when this is on your doorstep. Fab wardens always cheerful and helpful. The new couple who are taking over for the remainder of the year and next are great and will do a fantastic job. Lets hope the Covid situation does curtail opening or closing times for the 2021 season as I have a some bookings already. With the clubs new discount of 12.5% on pitch fees I stayed there last week with me and the dog for just over £11 a night, what value !!! Just hope the prices don't get hiked too much when the planned refurbishment takes place at the end of 2021. See you next year hopefully.

Nick Tilling

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 23/09/2020 08:55

12 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Start of holiday

Spent three nights at Morn Hill, greeted by the wardens In a friendly and safe manner,we enjoyed our stay visiting two National Trust Properties which were close by. Covid 19 measures in place worked well and we felt secure. Our only issue was we feel that toilet and shower facillities were becoing tired.

pilly

Reviewed on 22/09/2020 18:32

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Perfect location for us

We love this site. It's very convenient for visiting family in the area so we will become regulars I'm sure. Yes, there is road noise but very few sites in our experience don't have a little noise from roads. What's noisier are the crows when they're roosting in the many trees surrounding the site. I see in previous reviews that some people are berating the toilet/washroom facilities. In our opinion it's a great idea to have unisex blocks and in the current situation (Covid) 1 person OR 1 family unit at a time. The site was full whilst there and we had no trouble getting in to the facilities. Hubs and I used them together and as there are just 2 or 3 toilets/showers per block we didn't feel it was overkill, unlike other sites which have 8 toilets/4 showers and only 2 people allowed in on a wrist band system (just returned from one such site). I really can't speak highly enough of Morn Hill. Lovely welcome from friendly wardens, large pitches, user friendly facilities AND cheaper than the huge Rookesbury Park club site which is half an hour away.

PeeBee149

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/09/2020 16:56

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

The good,the bad and the ugly

Stayed at the site for two weeks recently, so will begin with: The Good - friendly welcome from the wardens who were helpful and pleasant. The site is extremely spacious and has two levels. We decided to pitch in the lower part and enjoyed an extremely generous size spot. The pitches are all grass which is very beneficial for pegging down your awning. The site is surrounded by many trees and bushes which make it particularly pleasant when sitting out. The Bad -if you need WiFi forget it. Although it clearly states WiFi is available what it means is that as long as you either sit in your car at reception, or on a bench by the hotspot, you won't get any signal at all. We had bought CC WiFi for the purpose of working away some of the summer, but it was of no use here. The toilet blocks, as have been well documented, are old, tired and in need of bulldozing. As the club have known this for a while I can only surmise there not keen to update. It has to be said that in the new normal we now live in a rethink of shower blocks could be undertaken. Having 5/6 cubicles with toilet, sink and shower for individual bubbles would not lead to........... The Ugly - at Morn Hill the procedure for using the shower blocks involves the potential for 1 person alone to have total use of the whole male/female facilities as they are now Unisex and require you to lock the outer door, thus 3 people might want the use of the look but only one can go in at a time. Extremely frustrating and it's pot luck whether the toilet is actually available. Last, but not least, dog owners!! We've been to a few sites this summer and have found that SOME dog owners allow their pets to run free and do their bits and bobs in inappropriate areas. Some don't even bother to pick up after them. This is becoming a more common trend sadly.

bigpolish

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/08/2020 15:32

21 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer