Winchester Morn Hill Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great site

Lovely site. New toilet blocks are so modern with a lovely but not so sure needed mural as you walk in. Showers lovely and powerful. Walked in to Winchester for the Saturday market with two Shih tzu in a buggy. If your satnav tells you to go through a lovely park- don’t as there’s too many steps on way out. On way back to site there’s a steep hill at the start of your journey so if you’re not fit.. get the bus back. Walk took about 45 minutes each way. Nice walk. Market ok. Sat in a park at the entrance of the city to have some lunch.

Curlyhairdo

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/05/2023 10:21

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful facility’s on this site.

This is a newly refurbished site and it really is wonderful. But location wise it’s not the best. No great opportunities for walking no shops or pubs nearby and right next to a busy bypass which seems to be a boy racers dream so can be very noisy at times. We only stayed one night which was ok but wouldn’t have been keen on stopping much longer.

Jux

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/04/2023 15:30

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Hard to beat

This site is well located and easy to reach. It has amazing facilities and really helpful staff. If you're looking for peace and quiet, but not a hideaway, this is for you. It's refurb seems to have thought of everything.

ClubMember04ED82239F

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/04/2023 19:40

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Just Perfect

This was our 3rd visit to Mourn Hill, the staff are so friendly and work hard to keep everything tip top. The location is perfect with Bus Stops within easy walking distance of the site. There is a lovely walk over the South Downs to Winchester and you just happen to pass The Golden Lion which we cannot recommend highly enough, the food is wonderful. Looking forward to our next visit to Mourn Hill.

ScreenName76302DB00A

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/03/2023 09:08

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very impressed by facilities

We stayed at Morn Hill partly to test out our campervan after winterising it for the first time, ahead of a long trip to Europe. We appreciated the well-spaced hard standing pitches (the weather wasn't great). The new facilities are fantastic - clean and warm (the under floor heating in the showers was great). The layout and number of clothes hooks in the shower stalls was well thought through. No problem with wet shoes or clothes. The dishwashing area was warm and had a decent sized bin. We felt the facilities had been designed by peple who really know what campers need and what makes their experience better. I've never gone on at such length about the toilet block before so it must have been remarkable!

JArmstrong

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/03/2023 16:18

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Pleasant site, friendly staff.

We only stayed for a couple of nights so we could visit Winchester, but it was a great location for this. The staff are really friendly and welcoming. If you’ve looked at this site on Google earth, it looks like there’s no hard standing- but there is-it’s all new and well laid out on 3 levels (lower site- upper site is grass and closed over winter) The shower block seems brand new too- lovely spacious cubicles and plenty of hot water. We were parked right by the black waste point, but you wouldn’t know it- everything is squeaky clean! There’s a couple of super serviced large pitches if you’ve got a much bigger motorhome. As far as getting into Winchester is concerned, it’s not far if you cycle (a couple of miles?) but it’s pretty hilly, especially the last hill that drops into the city. However, the bus service (number 64) stops not far from the entrance to the site and was operating every half an hour so we took that on the second day! Some reviewers have commented on traffic noise- The staff said you could sometimes hear motorbikes on a Sunday morning? But only on some parts of the upper site. I heard nothing at all. The leaflet for the site says there’s a shop, but at the time of writing this (March 2023) this is not yet set up.

Clarabucket

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/03/2023 15:40

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Superb site

Great location for the city via the downs. Superb facilities. Friendly staff.

Robot Col

Reviewed on 02/03/2023 15:17

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Back to the future

Having used this site for many years it was a pleasure to return and see the improvements first hand. The layout and hardstandings have made the bottom site,that was mainly unusable in winter months, a dream to see. The motorhome service point is a welcome addition on both halves of the site. Not sure 3 WC's in the men's toilets will be sufficient in the summer for 51 pitches, as it was there wasn't a problem when we visited, as very few were brave enough to use them choosing instead, to use their own facilities, the heating in the toilet block was meagre to say the least. You can expect an early morning call from the rookery but they were there first! Last but not least, our thanks to the staff for a pleasant stay and for moving the tractor.

Jasper

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/02/2023 21:14

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Water, lovely and warm!

The refurbished site is delightful and we found the shower is to be nice and warm, even though it was frosty. My only negative comment is that the club does insist on using small stones or pea shingle for the pitches and the caravan jockey wheel will not run across these stones, it just tends to make a groove. It’s a shame because most of the club sites are using this material and it doesn’t work with caravans!

captainslt

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/01/2023 13:29

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site, friendly staff, great location

I have never been to Winchester before and love a Christmas market. I heard Winchester had a great Christmas market. I found the site and googled and found that the site is walkable to Winchester and also has a great bus service. As we approached the site, I thought I had made a mistake and that we were quite a way from Winchester. In actual fact it was a lovely walk through fields, and there was a regular bus service that ran late into the night. The wardens were nice and friendly and very helpful. The site is such a lovely location, nice and quiet and great new facilities, that are kept lovely & clean, and a pleasure to use. We only visited this site to visit a Christmassy Winchester, but I would definitely return as I feel there is a lot more to explore in the surrounding area.

KathR

Campervanner

Reviewed on 21/12/2022 11:32

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer