Winchester Morn Hill Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A good first experience of CAMC

I stayed here for 1 night at the end of half term. I chose the site because it was on route to family I was visiting the following morning. On arrival, my first impressions were excellent. Easy access, welcoming staff and immaculate grounds with well spaced pitches. I stayed on pitch 8, hard standing, ehu and no awning. The pitch was a really good size for my micro camper. It backed onto the dog walk and was situated near established trees. There was distant road noise but apart from the odd falling twigs on to the roof of the van the site was peaceful. The lower half was almost fill on the night I stayed but there was ample facilities for everyone. The toilets, showers and washrooms were spotless and lovely hot showers. Bus service to Winchester or Alton is every 30 mins and runs until late. I went into Winchester for £4 return. There isn't much for children on site but locally there is the Watercress line steam railway in Alresford plus a lovely river walk with lots of ducks. Opposite the site is a Science Museum and in Winchester a number of things to see and do. I will definitely return.

ScreenNameDB604824C5

Campervanner

Reviewed on 02/06/2024 17:14

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Ferry Pitches.

Booked for one night to stop over after ferry crossing from St. Malo to Portsmouth. Received an email a couple of days prior advising of the arrival procedures for before 22:00 and after if arriving late and paid in full before arriving. Arrived just before 22:00 to a friendly welcome and quickly established on a ferry pitch. So far so good!. Unfortunately the A31 ‘racetrack’ that boarders the upper site provided a constant roar of traffic noise well into the night and from early morning. I realise there is nothing the Club can do to prevent this but members, particularly those seeking a decent night’s sleep before or after a ferry crossing, should be aware of this and perhaps look elsewhere. Rookesbury Park site also has ‘Ferry Pitches’ and from past experience I have found this to be much more peaceful. Morn Hill has been extensively refurbished in the last year or so to the club’s high standards and is first class……if you’re deaf!

jayaretee

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/05/2024 11:33

44 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Nice clean site but too much traffic noise

Friendly welcome, level pitch, clean facilities block. Nearby bus every 30 mins to and from Winchester for sightseeing - but - relentless road noise on the upper site all day making it unpleasant to sit out and read/relax. A constant background roar.

ClubMember79C47D2F5C

Campervanner

Reviewed on 19/05/2024 16:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Second visit in as many months

This was our second time on site and we booked a serviced pitch, friendly welcome and as we had paid in full prior to arrival we were not held up getting in, clean site and very clean facilities, the only gripe we have is that the connection already on our tap was leaking, we spoke to the manager who blamed the people there before us, the connector wouldn't come off and he said the people there before us left it as they tightened it too much, he told us to remind him later but after that attitude we didn't bother......the tap continued to leak the rest of the weekend, if his manner was more helpful we would have been more than happy to remind him but blaming others and a negative attitude was not the answer, Good bus links into Winchester but always check the later times and they are then hourly not the normal half hourly, we will return again

fowlersmith04

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/04/2024 15:25

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A Standard Facilities site

Spent two nights here, utilising my "one night free" voucher. Had I paid full price for a mid-week stop in mid-March I would have regarded it as too expensive and sought an alternative. The site is almost two separate smaller sites which meant that after two laps of the lower site, I had been unable to locate a pitch of the type I had booked which then entailed exiting the barrier and travelling up to the second site. It's redeeming feature is the relative proximity to a half-hourly bus service, otherwise could, like many CAMC sites, be regarded as somewhat remote.

cyberyacht

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/03/2024 17:36

26 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Cold facilities

Have stayed here many times and think it is a great site,friendly welcome and well kept site. My only comment would be that the new facilities are very nice but not enough toilets,with one disabled and two others which was not enough when the bottom site is nearly full and the top site facility closed,there were not many staying at the top site but they had to walk down and adding to the number using one facility. Heaven knows why you would go to the expense of building 2 new facility blocks and leave one closed (cleaning i suppose) and then not put the heating on in the one that is open,it was very cold ! Will stay again during the summer but would look elsewhere in the winter.

ScreenName6EFF8552C0

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/03/2024 10:20

19 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Good Club Site

The refurbishments of this site are very good, with new clean facilities and decent hard standings. The site photographs really should be updated to reflect the positive changes made. The serviced pitches are very large and most overlook a central grass/tree island, which means you are not facing another unit across from you. The turning area to get onto them is tight, but doable with care. There were some very large motorhomes/caravans and all had got on/off with no issues. Though, by the state of the chain fence and posts on the grassed area opposite, not everyone manages it! The wardens were pleasant and efficient despite the site being busy and full. The site was clean and tidy, as were the facilities. The only thing that let it down were other members who felt putting items in the right bins, or following basic instructions not do certain things didn't apply to them! Obviously, being near busy roads there is a constant hum of traffic and this can increase depending on the wind direction. However, noise is a personal thing and what is really annoying for one, is nothing to someone else. We found the noise was pretty much as we expected it to be, loud but not intrusive when in the caravan. We cycled into Winchester (and beyond) along the NCN23 which you can pick up if you ride along Chapel Lane (next to the site). You can also follow this route in the opposite direction to New Alresford. All in all a nice site, conveniently located for a range of activities.

WiltsUnicorn

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/02/2024 11:16

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great for walking into Winchester with excellent modern facilities

Our second stay on this site on a fully serviced pitch. The facilities are the best we have found on a Club site. Wardens friendly and helpful. Lovely walk over the nature reserve into Winchester or around half to Winchester stop off and have a meal at the Golden Lion. Very welcoming pub with excellent freshly cooked food. There is a regular bus service into Winchester just up the road from the site and the Science Centre opposite the site is great for children. We love this site and highly recommend.

The Whitt Wanderers

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/02/2024 11:46

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site with refurbished facilities

This is a great little site (I stayed in winter when only the hard standing side was open), with huge flat pitches. It was beautifully maintained, and it was my first time staying at a CAMC site with refurbished facilities - they are excellent. I was very pleased to see the inclusive bathroom, which is in addition to the accessible bathroom, as not all disabilities and diversities are visible. The wardens were absolutely lovely, despite being in recovery from the recent IT crisis. Bus stops to and from Winchester are close though the Sunday service was cancelled during my stay. Taxis easily available at around £11 into town. I’ll definitely return.

AgentFruit

Campervanner

Reviewed on 06/02/2024 11:32

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

New year New site,

Our first time here, during storm Heck. Despite three days of non stop torrential rain, the site was not flooded but had good walkable paths. The Christmas lights at the entrance made returning to the site at night magical! News Year Eve drinks and nibbles was a welcome surprise and very well hosted by wardens. Slight road noise during the day but quiet at night. Warm shower block, always clean. Another first was the photo murals in the utility block. Very eye catching. The walk into Winchester took just over the half hour, with a half hourly bus service return stopping outside the gates. BEWARE however the Club electric hook up is expensive when compared with hook ups at Tesco or Gunwharf Quays. Nearly. 3times more! Come on CAMC this should be fair especially for members.

PeterBrenda

Reviewed on 03/01/2024 19:50

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer