New England Bay Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely welcome, brilliant site

We received a lovely warm and friendly welcome and immediately felt comfortable. Great site and what a location! It wasn't busy when we were there and we only had time in our schedule for the one night, but managed to get down to the beach to see the sun setting and then rising in the morning. Hope we get to come back some time.

ClubMember7133A9DA97

Campervanner

Reviewed on 31/10/2023 13:28

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic site

Fantastic site which is wild and remote and if you want peace and quiet then this is absolutely perfect. The staff on site are very helpful and friendly and offered advice on arrival of where to pitch as Storm Agnes was approaching and we took the advice and had a great sheltered and quiet pitch. The staff were very knowledgeable and informative and nothing was any trouble to them. We had a fantastic time with walks along the beach and time out visiting the lighthouse and nearby botanical gardens and lots of nice beaches where we saw seals and birds. We would like to thank the staff at would hope to return some time

Hubby2020

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/10/2023 17:03

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

5 * plus Assistant Wardens -Martin and Julie Ewart

On arriving I had an accident, hurting my shoulder and arm. Julie saw to me and informed me to call 111. After speaking to 111 i was told to get to Stranraer A and E. Though i am sure it is not in their remit Martin drove me to the hospital made sure i was seen too and informed me to give him a call so he would return and collect me, which he did, also refusing my offer of fuel money etc. I was xrayed and found to have broken my clavicle, and informed not to drive for at least 6 weeks. Both Martin and Julie have continued to support, sorting out paper work etc for all our onward bookings extending our stay and offering to obtain goods etc while we wait for a friend to arrive to drive us back south and home. We could not have managed without Martin and Julie’s help and kindness, we are so appreciative and thankful to them They are to my wife and I, a wonderful friendly couple and a great advert to our club and the club should be very glad to have such a friendly , professional and dedicated couple working for the club. Sue & Graham

GRASUE

Reviewed on 13/09/2023 12:24

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A real gem

Fabulous peaceful location with direct access to the most wonderful beach. Great for swimming and watersports

ScreenName3EDB4C3CB6

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/09/2023 18:37

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A hidden gem!!!

This site is perfect if you like peace and quiet. Great walks and very child/dog safe. Beach is on site too! Staff are extremely helpful.facilities block( only one just now) spotless. About 6 miles to a shop or post office...Sandhead shop shuts at 6....Drummore at 5. Both are post offices. Nearest fuel/gas is Stranraer. Very hard ground so you will be best with rock pegs for your awning. Dont forget the storm straps!!!! Free Wi fi has just been upgraded and works really well. Great place for all water sports. Plenty places to launch a boat too. Port Logan is lovely. All in all the team couldnt have been more helpful. Im going again SOON !!!!

ScreenName57A1862ECA

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/09/2023 15:12

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

New England Bay.

As with previous reviews, somewhat disappointed to arrive and find the one toilet block was closed. I can understand that the club needs to manage it's running costs, but the weekly booking cost at New England was higher than a private site that we previously visited in Keswick, and that had three toilet/shower blocks ! Not value for money. That having been said we do like this site. Arrived just after 13:00 and booked in quickly after a long drive. The departure/arrival system works well on sites with narrow roads and avoids having to squeeze past late vans leaving. Beach nice and quiet and only a stones throw from most pitches. Rock pools great for kids. Locals friendly. Plenty of walks locally. Would happily return providing the Cost versus toilet/shower ratio was more realistic.

CSE1Steven

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/09/2023 22:08

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site soo peaceful

Had a great stay at New England Bay would highly recommend. All facilities clean and well kept. The staff are lovely and very helpful and keeping the site in tip top condition. Thank you we will be back.

ScreenNameA15AC0302E

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/08/2023 14:22

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Dissatisfied

Sadly had to raise complaint as despite booking in July arrived to find half the facilities were closed from June until rest of year- so despite paying high season prices site set up as in low season! Complained and offered to move site!! Informed reason for this was to save money!! Grass not cut for 8 days long and ensured wet feet every day. Very disappointed. Also staff abrupt and rude regarding 1pm arrival even where campers have travelled for more than 5 hours! Wi-Fi not available all year! Spoke to several other campers disappointed also in attitude and lowered standards Have visited numerous times a year for past 5 years so very sad at decline.

 

Response from the Club:

 

Many thanks for your review and we are sorry to read you are disappointed with your recent stays at New England Bay. As such we wanted to address your concerns raised. 


Firstly, unfortunately the grass hadn't been cut because of the continuous rain we have been experiencing. Please be assured our site staff do cut the grass regularly when possible but with wet weather this isn't possible. 
As a Members Club, funded by the Membership and with utility charges at a record high, you’ll understand we have to operate as efficiently as possible from a financial perspective, and also support our sustainability objectives at the Club too. Having carefully considered the occupancy and bookings we currently have at some of our Campsite's for the months ahead, we've made the decision to keep some of our 2nd or 3rd facility blocks closed. We will continue to monitor the situation very closely and where we see increases in bookings and higher usage, we'll review this decision.

With regards to the 1pm arrival time, we realise this may cause inconvenience for some, and for this, we’re really sorry. We’ve made details of the closure's available in our pre-travel information and members with any accessibility concerns or disabilities have always been able to make a request to be pitched closer to our facility blocks or service points; we’ve made this request even simpler, for those that require it, in our new booking system too

Arrival times have become an increasingly emotive issue and feedback on this subject from the wider membership has grown over recent years. We know it causes mixed feelings if we allow one or two guests to check in early, but then ask other arrivals to come back later because we can't accommodate everyone equally. The fairest approach is of course to ask anyone arriving early to find an alternative place to wait, and as well as this, we feel it's reasonable to expect members and guests to plan their departure from home, or location to arrive from 1pm or the advised time, planning a suitable 'pit stop' or two en-route to allow for variations to their journey. This change was made in the 2022 season and going forward, our Director of Sites & Accommodation and Senior Management team have asked our site teams for greater consistency of service across the Club’s campsite network and maintaining arrival times is a big part of this consistent approach.

davidstorm

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/08/2023 15:12

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic site, great staff

We arrived here late after weather delays on the roads, we were allowed to select our own pitch in a nice quiet sheltered area of the site. Brilliant service from the staff and beautiful quiet site with walks along the sandy beach and crystal clear water. Lots of space between pitches and smooth level ground, even with lots of rain the drainage is great so no need for hard standing imo This site really is a gem, with Mull of Galloway, port Logan fish pond and Portpatrick all short drives away the location is great. All in all a brilliant experience and one we will be sure to visit again and again

DLSFRC

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/07/2023 19:54

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great Relaxation

Stayed here for a week from 1st July site is among the dunes right on the bay with direct access to the beach. Pitches are all large and mainly grass/sandy with 2 toilet blocks one at each end of the site (one block closed as site only 30% full). Facilities are due for a refurb but wardens keep them spotless. Access roads all good and lots to see and do in the area. There is a post office and store in both Sandhead and Drummore which are well stocked. Drummore has a nice pub, The Ship and Port Patrick has a lot of eating places both are reasonably close to the site. It is 15 years since we last stayed at this site but we will be back and cannot understand why it was so quiet. For families it has the beach (and you can launch boats, canoes etc FOC), kids play area and inside play room with table tennis but yes I would agree there is little else for children in the area. In my opinion, if you want to stay away from everyone cramming for the best view pitches 62, 63 & 64 are the best for this. At £27 per night I feel this was good value for the week.

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer