Richmond Hargill House Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Beyond the call of duty!

We met Mick and Carol (new wardens) on our way down south to pick up our new caravan. They were very pleasant and helpful even though we were only staying the one night. On our return north we stayed one night again, this time they both went beyond the call of duty after my wife had an incident involving a trip to hospital. As I was unfamiliar with the area Mick offered to drive my wife to Darlington hospital (15miles away) to receive treatment. He kindly offered to drive back later that day to collect her. This was way beyond the call of duty for site wardens. Greatful thanks to both Carol and Mick for helping us in the situation. Very much appreciated!

blaclor

Reviewed on 06/08/2022 21:44

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great stopover with local attractions

Now added to our favourites list. Great place to use as a stopover for a trip to Scotland. We used it to go tour the area going to Darlington and Richmond. Bus stop across the main road to go straight in to Darlington and the return bus stops right outside the site gates. Try and gate a pitch at the lower side of the site as it’s much quieted. Saying that, the traffic noise does reduce a lot by evening time. Special mention to the wardens who helped my wife organise a taxi to hospital when I tried to sever my finger on a tent peg hook. They were even willing to drive us there themselves. Above and beyond, many thanks.

Spyder27

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/08/2022 19:30

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Pros and cons

The site is well placed for the lovely Market Town of Richmond. Its a well maintained site adjacent to the A66 so there is traffic noise 24/7 if your pitched at the top of the site. Much quieter further down. No swings etc. for the kids but there is a small grassed area for ball games. We are independent travellers and rarely trouble the Wardens for information or assistance. However, we had to ask the Warden to dispose of diseased rabbits that had taken up residence on our pitch. Our dog was going crazy and we had to keep him inside away from them. The Warden was less than pleased because it was after 5pm. He said he wasn't a qualified vet so was just going to bin them. You don't have to be a vet to know that convulsing rabbits covered in bluebottle flies are sick. When my husband went back to ask him to take away a 2nd rabbit and went to his caravan as this was 15 minutes after the 1st rabbit was disposed of. The Warden was rude, admonishing hubby for going to his van and went on about not being on duty after 8pm. It was 7.40pm. Hubby asked Warden if it was OK to leave our awning, which ripped when taking it down, by the bins. He said to ask the next Warden on duty at 9am. It was 8.40am and we were going so as the new Warden wasn't on duty and this one didn't care, we left it. Not the kind of service we expected from Caravan Club Wardens.

sandlsmith

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/07/2022 08:29

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Some good, some bad experiences

Bad: We were pitched on the field adjacent to the A66 and there was a constant drone of traffic from around 05.00 hrs. Not a place to be on warm evenings with roof vents open. Not suitable if you have a young lively dog. No dog walking or exercise area. Being surrounded by main roads and fields with livestock and plenty of rabbits we had to constantly make sure the dog was restrained before opening the van door. Good: The site and Shower block were clean and well maintained. We visited Richmond and by chance found Billy Bank Wood which was a lovely walk through forest glade dropping down to the banks of the River Swale. A bit further upstream we came to the waterfall, near the castle with people bathing in the crystal clear water running over a pebbly bed with sandy edges. The town itself was clean and well kept with old fashioned bakeries and pie shops. We stopped for a tea and a bite to eat in the Little Drummer Boy cafe. The catering and service were first class. Highly recommended. Even Lidl was impressive. Looked more like a stately home than a supermarket. Even Wetherspoons looked posh.

traore

Reviewed on 28/06/2022 11:02

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

The best experience of the trip

We thought this was a lovely site the moment we arrived, the advice we received from the warden when we arrived was very helpful. the site itself is a delight especially the ancient hedges (hawthorn/ holly) which divide the pitching areas they are maintained to a high standard and the smaller birds loved them. Our visit to Richmond was lovely a very nice place to visit, didn't get a chance to visit the highest pub in England (Tan Hill) but Hey/Ho with any luck "we will be back"

THE WOODTURNER

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/06/2022 08:11

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Service not with a smile

On arrival for an overnight stop we had accidentally left our members cards at home as we had received our new ones that day. After we had got our pitch I went up to show the woman on my phone the booking. She told me in not a nice manner that I really should have my card as that’s why they get sent to your house. I apologised and said it wasn’t done on purpose. There is a man there and he was lovely and told me not to worry about it they would have a way of checking up. My husband went up afterwards and showed her the membership card on the app.and she was as nice as pie. Apart from that the site was lovely and quiet. A wee dog walk which was okay you could have a wee walk across the road. Spotless site very well kept. We won’t be back but as I said the gentleman was so friendly he made the visit better.

Dysartbay

Motorhomer from Fife

Reviewed on 12/06/2022 19:55

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Unexpected visit turned out to be a gem

We booked at short notice having never been before. We arrived early and thought we’d be able to wait. This wasn’t possible but wasn’t an issue. We turned around and stayed in the lay-by literally a couple of minutes away on the A66. There is a lay-by on both east and west directions so it’s no bother having to wait. We returned at 5 minutes to 1. Check in wasn’t a bother, the usual efficient way of the CMC. Our pitch was fabulous. At the bottom in the cul-de-sac with lovely views over the fields. This area was quiet, but to be honest though the site was busy we didn’t notice a lot of noise. It’s a lovely open site, you weren’t particularly overlooked. It was always lovely and tidy, the grass and landscape was well kept. The pitches are quite sloped so ramps and kit to get the van level are essential. The facilities were as expected for a club site, they were clean and we never had to wait for showers and toilet to be free. The wardens were excellent. Pleasant and friendly, which makes a site what it is. The site is great for North Yorkshire generally. Richmond is 4 miles away. We went to Thirsk, Northallerton and Mount Grace Priory which was beautiful. We’ll visit again no problem. It’s only just over an hour away for us so ideal for weekends. Well done Janet, Phil and the other wardens.

Pamela47

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/06/2022 17:59

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great wardens

Agree with earlier comments re easy access and road noise but felt I had to give 10 out of10 to the wonderful wardens here. We arrived, a bit stressed out as we were returning home early as hubby was ill and in a lot of pain, after a 235 miles drive and the wardens couldn't have been more caring and helpful. A total credit to any organisation and we are lucky to have them.

39 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site for visiting the area.

The site is easy to get too and extremely clean. You will need ramps to level your unit as we were on pitch 36 and the site provided us with one as we left ours in the garage! The wardens were a credit to the club. It is not the most luscious and green site but it is easy to pitch up and has wide roads. It would be a good site for newbies. Two points to mention: 1. The main road is right next to the dog walk so be aware of this and it isn't very long but at least it is there. The road is very busy and therefore can be noisy. 2. My main gripe is the women's toilet door is the furthest away from the pitches and around a corner out of sight and surrounded by fencing. I personally did not feel very secure going to it on my own at night as you cannot be seen. I was not the only lady to say this.

lupuslooney

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 05/05/2022 15:51

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Really nice, convenient site with a couple of downsides

A nice, friendly, well-run site with good big pitches and spotlessly clean. Wardens extremely helpful. Modern, clean toilet and shower facilities. Lovely views. Drive-over waste - good! Downsides? A66 noise particularly at the top of the site. Very limited dog walking from the site (although there is a small, fenced dog exercise area). Quite a way out of Richmond so no restaurants/pubs within walking distance. Ideal stop-over (exactly half way between our home in Scotland and our grandchildren in the south of England) and literally on the A66 but not, for us, a holiday destination site. We will definitely use the site again for stop-overs, it is that good. The dales are beautiful but for a longer stay we would choose a site more peaceful and better connected to shops, restaurants and other facilities without having to move our campervan each time.

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer