Richmond Hargill House Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Pristine facilities and excellent wifi

Stayed here for our last trip of this year, mid to late October. Some previous comments about road noise, yes there is some but it didn’t impact onto our stay. Superb views from the site when the weather permits! Excellent area for walking, however you do need a car to get to the walks. The toilet facilities are the best we have ever used on any site, they are pristine!! There is also wifi that actually works! The first reliable wifi so far this year!

DaisyMay26

Reviewed on 21/10/2021 17:08

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A favourite site for loads.

This site is one of our favourite sites to go and we have been to lots. What makes it even better is the very helpful wardens who if you ask will do their utmost to help in any way they can. The plates to go from here are loads just need to ask wardens they are very informative on where is good to eat places and where to go to see things you should not miss while in this area …. Very well run site. A Dixon

Scubababe

Reviewed on 13/10/2021 18:38

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice stopover on way to Scotland

We've stayed at this campsite a few times over the years as it is a convenient stopover for us on the way to Scotland. The site was pretty full by the time we arrived at 6pm on a Friday with only grass pitches available and the ones that run head to tail up to the toilet block. The warden followed us to our pitch to make sure we were happy and comfortable with our pitch which was level. It seemed a little limited on space compared to others but as it was only a quick stopover we were happy with the convenience of the pitch. The warden was very helpful and chatty about our travel plans with recommendations for the local area. We had already booked into the Black Swan and decided to walk into the village, with a steep walk back!

Leah16

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/10/2021 20:30

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Nice site ideal for stop over and more

Stayed at Richmond site to and from a Scottish tour. The site was very full on our outward stop Excellent clean facilities and pleasant friendly warden. We often stay in the Yorkshire Dales and would certainly consider staying here for a longer period in the future. As previous members note, the traffic noise from the A66 can be intrusive if pitched at the top of the site but further down there is no problem. Nice views over surrounding countryside.

Johno Rus

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/10/2021 10:00

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Hargill House September 2021

We used this site as on overnight stop going to and returning from Norfolk. On the way down, there were only grass pitches left up the top of the site, and yes there was road noise from the A66, the positive was it was a 2 minute drive in the morning to get back onto the A66 to continue our journey. On the way back, the warden suggested that we use a non awning pitch, as that way we could get a pitch further down the site, what a difference, the road noise was only a faint rumble. Shower Block was really clean and there are lovely views to enjoy. Absolutely would stay here again as a stop over and next time will book a non awning pitch as we are there able to avoid the grass pitches at the top of the site.

Fenda F

Reviewed on 26/09/2021 15:34

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great location but noisy road

Great location for an overnight stay so we decided to take a chance on the road noise, but it proved too much for us. That said, it is a small, well-kept site with pretty views. Don’t arrive early - nowhere to wait and it causes a hazard in the lane.

emjaytoo2

Caravanner from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on 23/09/2021 13:18

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely little site

Stayed for 3 nights, we were out all day but back every evening. Found the site very quiet and relaxing. There is road noise from the A66 but we were far enough away that it didn't bother us. Facilities were excellent, very clean and modern. Some amazing views out from the pitches , a really enjoyable weekend. We will be back.

TheGopherGordons

Campervanner

Reviewed on 21/09/2021 21:29

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

What about the road noise?

Pleasant, well run site with good facilities. However there is no mention of the closeness of the A66 and the subsequent road noise 24/7. We were lucky and had a pitch at other end of site so just low rumble through the night. But most motorhomes were right up against the boundary to A66. If I had been sited there I would not have stayed. Convenient for Richmond so long as you have a car or ebike. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Broon98

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 17:50

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

good stopover site

Pleasant site to stay for a few nights there are things to visit in the area although you will need your car. The site can be noisy if you park on top of site near the A66. Good to see the wardens do not let in early arrivals ,why people cannot read there club book beats me . Wardens are friendly but insist on allocating pitches when there is no need . There is the usual problem with all club sites . Kids on bikes cannot understand the 5mph speed limit . Parents teach your kids to obay rules please before an accident happens . having said all that we will stay here again .

29 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Management

Well.. After reading all the old negative reviews in regards to the management, we were a bit apprehensive about staying there. However... The management were absolutely lovely and very helpful. The site itself is well looked after, and the toilets and shower block are spotless. The only negative I can mention is that the top of the site is on the main A66, and can get a bit noisy... it didn't really bother us too much thought Large pitches... we'll spaced out. Yes, we will make a return visit, and would recommend the site.

ScreenName1F5A0A75F0

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/08/2021 18:30

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer