Rutland Caravan and Camping Site

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site

Stayed for 3 nights and found it to be clean, tidy, with very friendly staff and great facilities. The swimming pool is superb and a great asset. Great dog walking and only 10 mins walk to the shop and pub. Highly recommended and we will definitely return.

JohnandBev

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 08/01/2017 09:40

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Autumn weekend

Just back from an excellent weekend on this gem of a site. Easy access from the A1, warm welcome and impressive facilities. Large pitches (only hardstandings in use at this time of year) with EHU, water and grey water drainage on the pitch. Outstanding shower block. Easy walk to the village with its two pubs, village shop/post office and church. Excellent walks from the site. Highly recommended!

matching731

Motorhomer from Essex

Reviewed on 30/11/2016 00:51

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

FAB SITE WOULD DEFO RECOMMEND

We stayed at this site on way home to Scotland coming back from France what a lovely friendly site, shower block is brilliant very own en-suite well the ladies toilets anyway

TIABABY

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 31/10/2016 17:30

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Country living

On arrival we were given a nice welcome and sent off to our pitch in the Adult only area which was nice, especially finding the pitch was level and we didn't have to level the van. Loved the new toilet block, the en-suites are bigger than my home bathroom! Such a shame that the water ran cold due to boiler problems. I ended up using the old shower block to get a hot shower. The toilet cubicles are thoughtfully larger too with doors that open out, a nice design. You do need to carry a 'pass' card all the time if you want to visit the village or drive offsite. I've only put four ticks on the peace and quiet as we were placed next to the dog walk/path to the village. There was a steady crunching of feet for most of the day enlivened by verbals from the packs of dogs that were in some of the vans. It did go quiet around 10.00pm and I did love hearing the village clock striking the hours at night, as a poor sleeper it saved me having to look at a clock! We didn't use the pool as it seemed a bit complicated trying to get in. If you have a motor home and need to shop in Oakham use the Co-op on the way in as it has much better parking than the Tesco in town, the latter car park is quite a challenge with a 7 meter vehicle. On the whole we thought the park was very nice and would be happy to visit again one day.

bigfoot

Motorhomer from Hampshire

Reviewed on 24/09/2016 19:40

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Rutland in August

3 Vans came to Rutland in August in our party. We absolutely loved this site. We stayed in the Adult field which has recently had a refurb on the toilet block. The weather was amazing and this site is a great location for getting out and about to Rutland Waters, Greetham and nearly villages. We walked miles that weekend. Have booked to go back in April next year. The staff were welcoming and really friendly. A gorgeous site in a great location. Easy to get to straight off the A1. Andrea and Andy Parratt x

LadyP72

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 23/09/2016 10:48

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful

We have a motorhome and so the fact that this site was within walking distance to a village is great. We don't have children and I thought the idea of an adult only section was fantastic we really relaxed here (although a family did walk through quite late from the village making lots of noise and doing cartwheels!). The dog walk is great and there is a nature walk which extends this. The pubs are dog friendly, although beware the wheatsheaf doesn't open on Mondays. The Plough however serves fantastic homecooked food.

Robinson2011

Motorhomer from Lancashire

Reviewed on 02/08/2016 19:24

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Rude staff spoil a good site

Great location, nice new shower block(runs out of hot water by 9am) Dogs must be on a lead at all times even when they are in the awnings( I got a telling off from a member of staff who had no customer relation skills,was totally against german shepherd dogs and to be frank she was the one who should be on the other end of a lead)for not having my shepherd on a lead when he just jumped out of my car and took 4 steps to get in the awning. Smaller dogs are ok she turns a blind eye to them Never used the over priced swimming pool. Or  The shop on site(make sure you take supplies with you) Don't forget to keep the noise down to a whisper after 21:30 as the above said will jump on you from a great height but again small dogs can bark all night. Understandably sites have rules ( and so do prison camps )but sometimes they should be re evaluated and implemented accordingly 

simon567

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/07/2016 15:02

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Rutland Water

This was a really nice quiet site, shame the one toilet block was being refurbished on our visit but I was pleasantly surprised to find water and waste facilities on pitch. Its a short walk to the local plough pub , enjoyed that. Went to Issac Newtons house and Belton not to far. Big plus for us was close to rutland water for the biking. Overall nice and would go back.

wazzadog

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/06/2016 16:05

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Shop? Seriously?

For such a large site, I was struck that only having one operational toilet block (the other being extended and thus out of action) was not ideal. We were hit with a plague of flies so on enquiring in the shop I was told "a few people have been complaining last week about flies, perhaps I will add some to the stock list".  I then realised there really was nothing in the shop.  No fizzy pop, no cold foods etc.  So, when asking how far the nearest supermarket was, we we told five minute drive.  Being in the motorhome, we decided a walk was OK as that sounded reasonable.  14 mile round trip later we were a bit miffed to say the least! The village shop is not much better either so make sure you have EVERYTHING before you go. Oh, and charging £4 for a half in the pool?  I think £3 per child for half an hour could get very prices very quickly as it's impossible to drag most kids from a pool when they are enjoying themselves! The site was clean enough and I enjoyed the quiet of being in the adult only half.  If it had a good shop and was a little less grasping over the pool I would be inclined to recommend it.

Digitsdavid

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/06/2016 17:31

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Awful weather but very good site!

Despite the rather cold and damp April weather, the site was in good condition. The welcome was pleasant and the office helpful. There are two parts to this caravan site - the side for people with families and the side for people without. We were on the family side. This part has well set up pitches, many of them with their won water and waste facilities. The area is in the form of a large square with an excellent recreational area inside, with picnic tables - ideal for families with children or even pensioners like us when the sun shines! The site is quite close to Greetham village - there is a direct path through a small woodland which emerges near the Parish Church (which we went to and found very welcoming). Nearby is the Plough Inn which, we discovered, serves excellent food. Overall, weather notwithstanding, a very enjoyable stay. Recommended.

Keith Wignall

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/04/2016 21:48

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer