York Rowntree Park Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Perfect, Always kind and welcoming.

We stay at the site quite often, usually just for 1 or 2 nights and every time we have stayed it is always easy and friendly to check in. The site is well set out and have a variety of different pitches, with awning or without awning we have always found a pitch we like. We would just like to thank the staff and hope they enjoy being at Rowntrees Site and never get any difficult customers.

Salandra

Reviewed on 14/04/2024 20:50

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Perfect!

Warm welcome, great facilities and a short walk into York. We will be back!

JamesMcQ

Caravanner from Cleveland

Reviewed on 04/04/2024 19:43

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great Location

We stopped here for three nights on our very first caravan trip. The staff could not have been more helpful with parking and setting up on the pitch. Site is clean and well maintained with only a 10 minute walk to the centre of York. Have already booked to return.

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Access and speed bumps

I always read the access before leaving to make sure there are no hiccups along the way. The access to the site is down a road with parked cars mostly down one side. However, we are 8ft wide and on our visit a car parked towards the bottom of the road which meant it was extremely difficult to pass. Without the help of a couple of friending locals watching each corner as I had to reverse and nudge forward, we would still be there! I would like to point out that I am not inexperienced and very know the width of my unit. It is fine for motorhomes or smaller caravans but an issue when 8ft wide. Could I suggest you add this information to your before you travel notes. When on site we were on pitch 65 which was positioned next to the speed bumps. Not normally and issue when people are observing the five miles an hour rule, but when motorhomes are hurtling passed, it does become an issue. Rather disappointingly too, is that there are notices about the speed limit and the wardens do not seem to be concerned about the restriction either.

ScreenNameA567258762

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/03/2024 17:20

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Good weekend stay

Great weekend stay, good location and handy for york centre. Only 2 negatives, I have a 8m caravan and they forgot to allocate a pitch so ended up squeezing onto a small pitch. Was also unaware it was 11.15 departure, I knew it used to be when it was 12pm arrival but why cannot it be 12 departure when it is now 1pm arrival. When I said that she replied you have to be off as people arrive early, well sort that problem first and don't let people on until 1pm and then people could depart at 12.

22kevinr

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/02/2024 11:49

10 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great for York Centre

We've just returned from 3 nights at Rowntree Park. We had a great time in York, which is a easy walk from the site. The site itself is basically car park with pitches. The wardens were friendly and helpful. The facility block is a typical club shower block and was clean throughout our stay. Next to the site is Rowntree Park, which is a large park with tennis courts, kids swings and a dog walking area, the park was closed throughout our stay due to flooding. All in all we had a great time at this site and will visit again. The site does have 2 faults. Fault one is because of the River Ouse right outside the site then in winter the site has to be regularly evacuated because of flooding. The 2nd problem is that because the site is so handy for York Centre you have to book months in advance to get a pitch at weekend. Those issues aside we can wholly recommend YRP & its wardens.

fatbelly

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/02/2024 18:39

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed

This is a first rate site we have used several times but the attitude of the club when you are required to vacate the site when there is a flood anticipated and the EA decide to close the barrier is disappointing, you might expect to receive a refund for the missed nights, unfortunately not, buyer beware.

CHARLES F HAY

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/02/2024 09:34

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great Christmas break

Booked the stay at Rowntree several months ago but a late worry as the site was closed due to flooding to only a few days before our booking. Fortunately site opened before our stay which was brilliant! Lovely warm welcome on arrival and pitch just as we requested. Wardens so friendly and helpful and facilities block clean and tidy. Short walk into the heart of York with all the lovely pubs shops and sights the city has to offer. On leaving on our planned day, it had rained heavily overnight and there was a sign on exit that campers need to keep in touch with site. Later that afternoon the site was evacuated. Brilliant site, brilliant wardens, brilliant location, but just be aware of the flood risk.

ScreenNameD790CD09BD

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/12/2023 17:55

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Christmas markets visit

Haven't been here for a while as we have found alternative at better price and handy bus. Queue for motorhome water point in the rain.possibly time for 2 considering amount of motorhomes that use the site. Toilet block cool most of the time and water could be hotter. Used bus from by sainsburys bishopthorpe road. City busy as expected. Will use again Subject to price.

72 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great location

Great location, very near centre of York (10/15 mins walk) with river to one side and a park to the other, The other sides of the site had houses/hotel so may have felt a little over looked, but we were the park side and that was great. We used Streamline taxis to get about, excellent service, prompt, friendly drivers and not expensive, highly recommend.

ScreenName15A8FC8152

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/11/2023 14:59

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer