Au Clos de la Chaume

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A nice, peaceful site.

We have stayed here for the past week and found it to be a good place to stay. The owners are extremely helpful, the site is very clean. As we were on a serviced pitch we didn't use the showers but they appeared to be very clean and we're always empty when we used to loos. The Route des Cretes is not far away and has splendid views. We also visited the Cite des Automobile at Mulhouse. Would recommend this site and would return if in the area again.

Cleocairn2

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/06/2017 13:40

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Our third visit which says it all

This is the third time we have used Clos de La Chaume, but all three outside of the main holiday periods so we cant offer comment what its like when its full. The facilities: toilet block, shower etc and washing up areas are cleaned regularly during the day and kept as clean as is practicable. We had one of the LP pitches with water and drainage hook ups if required. It had plenty of space for the caravan, awning and car. Its your choice as to which way you pitch the van The pool with its roof is a welcome bonus making it much more usable outside of the main summer period. The scenery is what has attracted us back with so much to see in different parts of the Vosges / Alsace region. Don't expect to get anywhere quickly - the roads typically twist and turns as they climb the various cols. The views from the higher points are well worth the drives. Kayserberg is a must visit and less commercialised than its neighbour Riquewihr. Stray off the main roads and there plenty of picturesque villages to wander around. Corcieux hasn't got a lot going on. Its a nice pleasant walk to the boulangerie each morning for the bread. We have used the restaurant at Hotel Du Commerce and found the owner and staff charming to deal with and with good quality food. We gave up on the other main restaurant: Au Grain De Sel. On each occasion we went to eat it over our three visits to Clos de La Chaume it was closed at the times it stated it was open. Overall a nice site, well laid out with helpful and friendly owners, Mike and Pascaline who do there best to maintain a clean and well run site. Plenty to do in the area but be prepared to drive (or cycle) to see the best parts

enyajtrebor

Motorhomer from Somerset

Reviewed on 14/09/2016 18:44

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great holiday site

Excellent site. As a couple we enjoyed the clean facilities, large pitch, friendly site owners and relaxing atmosphere.  There is plenty to see in the area, it really is spectacular from the top of the mountains. Good cycling and walking, but you've got to like hills. Would recommend to couples and younger families.

tamsinmutch

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/08/2016 16:56

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

Very well maintained and friendly site. Covered pool with removable sides is fantastic! Would use this site again. 

Dave Storey

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/08/2016 21:44

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful, quiet site

Lovely, quiet, rural site, with large pitches. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Lots of activities for children (indoor & outdoor), a covered pool & good WiFi coverage. 5 minute walk through the woods to the village, but most essentials available in the shop, including fresh croissants & bread every morning. The mountain passes nearby are quite spectacular, but you need to drive quite a way to get to places of interest. 

helen s

Reviewed on 22/08/2016 21:22

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A lovely family site

We visited Clos de la Chaume in high season so it was very busy. Owners very friendly and helpful with wine tasting and local produce to try. When full however, the toilet facilities became a little stretched. All in all though a lovely site for young families - very friendly and a very natural environment - well worth a stopover

Lunnage

Campervanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 22/08/2016 18:16

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site and hosts

Stayed here for two weeks, this lovely little site, was quiet and peaceful despite being early August. The owners were knowledgeable, very attentive without being intrusive, whilst the facilities were kept very clean and the swimming pool was a real bonus. Although not everything is on your doorstep, such as the cities of Strasbourg, Colmar, Freiburg and the amazing town of Riquewhir, they are easy to reach on the empty French roads, however the local town of Gerardmer, and the stunning views of the Routes des Cretes and La Schult are. A great site with great hosts and definitely worth a visit.

Ratkinson36

Reviewed on 18/08/2016 22:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site with friendly owners

We ha ve stayed here before but never in August. In August this year the site was full but Mike and Pascaline made sure everything was OK for us and showed us to our pitch. The toilet facilities are a little stretched and you might have to queue for s while, but they were regularly cleaned and all worked OK. There is plenty for children to do and also a regular kids club is run from reception. Bread, milk etc is available from reception or you can walk half a mile or so into Corcieux for supplies if you want. You do have to drive to get to any places of interest, but the driving is easy. A weekly programme of on site events is posted in French and English at reception and the owners are more than happy to advise and help when asked. The pool is covered and nice and warm. This is a site worth visiting.

nutter

Caravanner from Essex

Reviewed on 16/08/2016 17:33

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site

I'd agree with most of the other comments posted except that I felt that the facilities were stretched as there is only one block for the entire site however, as others have noted, they were regularly cleaned. We felt that Corcieux whilst a nice village, was some distance away from most of the Alsace Tourist attractions and given that the main road to Colmar is by means of a very twisting road, it took us some time to get anywhere in that direction. We also felt that Corcieux has an air that indicates it is dying as a village as many shops are closed and up for sale; that said, the essentials like a Spar and boulangerie, and Post Office + Bank remain so we tried to support these rather than taking the easy option of buying everything in the local Super U. We would certainly recommend the local open air market for good value food from local producers. Would we return? Certainly, but we are not in the habit of caravanning in the same location every year so it could be some time before we come back.

pegwr33

Caravanner from Buckinghamshire

Reviewed on 12/08/2016 19:46

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Outstanding small site!

A most welcoming and friendly couple run this delightful site. Mike and Pascaline are just lovely people and so hospitable and friendly.They both are very visible around the site and are always ensuring everything is going well for their guests. They make an outstanding effort to have lots going on; we were only there for two days and had a wine tasting, local produce tasting, welcome event, and the site was visited by a pizza van and roast chicken vendor. Equally, if you want peace and quiet, it is a great site. Pitches are spacious and washrooms are spotlessly clean. The lovely swimming pool and nice environment make this a great place to explore Alsace and we shall certainly return many times in the future.

Andrew and Sarah

Reviewed on 02/08/2016 15:03

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer