Du Vivier aux Carpes

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Worth a visit

Mature site with good size pitches. Facilities well maintained and clean.  Peaceful site.  The village supermarket is currently closed for repairs after a flood. No indication when it will reopen. No other food shops in village. The supermarket also provided the bread delivery to the site. That has stopped until the shop reopens. Nearest bakery 3/4 miles away in Saint Simon. 

Reviewed on

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Not again

Was disappointed with the overall site which looked very neglected.  In fairness there must have been a lot of wet weather because the pitch we were given was extremely muddy and was only big enough for caravan and vehicle.  The facilities were clean but I wouldn't choose to stay there again.

Response from The Caravan Club:

Thank you for your review, regrettably this year the weather in Northern France has been very wet and disappointing.  Given these circumstances our sites have done their best to maintain their pitches and grounds, however with so much rainfall over a prolonged period this will have an adverse effect on conditions on site.  We really hope that the rest of this year’s season will be drier and brighter.

Response from Du Vivier aux Carpes:

Hi, thanks for your stay. Unfortunately we had a very wet spring and all June, so yes, pitches were wet and muddy. I don't think so that we can do anything about the weather. Also, we had a terrible storm with hails and rain, 2 weeks  ago causing much damage on the site. We try to do our best to clean and repair quickly. Looking forward to seeing you another time. Best regards.

Reviewed on

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Proper French

Stayed twice, on the way to and from Alsace and this is a super little site. Very quite with fishing lakes and wooded areas. The local village provides all the necessary amenities, bakery, bar, and bistro! Close enough to walk to a 1914-18 war cemetery if you want to remember (and you should). Well run and very clean. And if your sat-nav takes you the same way as mine you'll never forget Chemin Blanc!
Motorhomer from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Lovely peaceful site

Very friendly and welcoming. Nice pitches surrounded by water and wildlife. Facilities warm and clean on a stop over in April. Accessible motorhome service area. Village has a small shop for basics. An English World War  Memorial site 10 mins walk away. 

Motorhomer

Reviewed on

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

A Lovely Little Site For A Stopover

Very helpful and friendly staff. Nice pitch for a one night stay. If you like fishing you will love it, photos in the hallway of the sanitaires of 19 to 20kgs carp caught recently from the onsite lake ! Very nice clean facilities, well above the average. Bread van calls each morning 9 to 9.15 am. Nice little village with a shop open 7 to 7 adjacent. Would have liked an extra day there to enjoy the village and visit the British Cemetery.

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Convenient Stopover

Lovely quiet site, convenient for a stopover whilst travelling to/from Calais or Dunkerque. The site is set around a number of carp lakes so if you like fishing, it's a lovely stay. Not a lot in the immediate surroundings unless you wish to drive or cycle although there's a very moving British War Memorial & graveyard within a quarter of a mile. There's a village shop, 5 minutes walk which seems to be open most days for amenities & a restaurant about 10 minutes walk, if you don't fancy cooking. The site does have a bar but didn't appear to be open whilst we were there (Sept). Kept nice & clean though & the reception are quite helpful.
Caravanner

Reviewed on

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Delightful stopover

A very friendly and helpful site. Beautifully laid out and good size pitches. Lake side areas beautiful and if you like fishing it's close at hand. Young children would need supervision at all times.Sanitary facilities clean and roomy. Good easy access to motorhome point. Short walk into village with well stocked shop,pharmacy and cafe/bar. We were made to feel very welcome and will stay here again for a longer visit to explore the area.
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

lovely ambience

An easy drive from Calais, the site is set in a lovely village. It is possible to walk to the British cemetery and there is a circular walk around the lake. Facilities are clean with powerful showers. All grass pitches had been taken at the time of our arrival so we were allocated a pitch on tarmac between two stretches of water. Particular care would need to be taken by families with young children. The atmosphere on the site was friendly and relaxed. There is a small supermarket and a pharmacy in the village (and an easy, walk from the site). Baker's van visits the site in the morning and there is hypermarket with reasonably priced fuel within a ten minute drive. Fishing is available on-site and we watched a 30lb carp being pulled from the water. We enjoyed our stay and will return.

Reviewed on

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Tranquil

From the moment we entered the site the owners could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Peaceful site, friendly neighbours who have statics, a daily morning visit by the bread van, from the mini market 200 meters away which caters for all your needs. Excellent snack bar. This was our last stop over on our way home and when we were booking in mentioned about vet to treat our dog for his return to the UK. Without further ado all the arrangements were made for us which impressed us immensely. Overall a relaxing week and we will be using this site again.
Caravanner from Essex

Reviewed on

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Lovely

This was our first venture to France in our tourer. Site was easily found and very welcoming (staff and fellow campers). Our pitch overlooked the lake which was lovely. Facilities very clean. Site close to St Quentin which is well worth a visit. Will definitely return.
Caravanner

Reviewed on

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer