Camping Bal (REF : P04)

500 rue du Vieux Chateau, Tournehem-sur-la-Hem, 62890, France

View on map

Rated 4 of 5

Community rating

Read reviews

Ideal for ...

  • Dogs
  • Peaceful stays

Why stay here ...

Situated close to the ports of Calais and Dunkirk, Camping Bal is ideal for an overnight stop at the beginning or end of your stay. With a peaceful, laid back atmosphere, you'll receive a warm welcome from the friendly staff at this small site. The onsite hotel restaurant serves excellent food.

Camping Bal is within driving distance of Boulogne-sur-Mer with its sandy beaches, aquarium and charming old town. Bird watchers will enjoy a few hours at Cap Blanc Nez, while the Caps et Marais d’Opale nature park has some pleasant walking trails.

Around and About

Calais, St Oner, Boulogne, Shopping Mall "Cite d'Europe", Coastal beaches, The Two Caps "Blanc-Nez and Gris-Nez", Cycling, Coastal walks

Things to do on site ...

  • Daytime entertainment (high season)
  • Play area
  • Tennis

Facilities on site ...

  • Barbecues allowed:: charcoal, gas, electric
  • Disabled facilities -: average
  • Late arrivals area without electric hook-up
  • Restaurant
  • Wi-Fi
  • Wi-Fi availability: bar, restaurant

Prices

Useful Info

Latest arrival time - low: 9:00 PM

Latest arrival time - high: 9:00 PM

Earliest departure time - low: 6:00 AM

Earliest departure time - high: 6:00 AM

Is there a set arrival day? No

Nearby

Map

Directions

Take exit 2 from the A26 signed Licques and Tournehem. After the toll booths turn right on the D217 signed Eperlecques/Ardres. At the crossroads turn right on to the D43 signed St Omer. After 0.8miles/1.4 km turn right on to the D218 signed Tournehem. The site will be on the left in 1.3miles/2.1 km – PLEASE DO NOT FOLLOW SAT NAV DIRECTIONS TO THIS SITE.

Sites key: Overseas Site

Postcode:
62890
Region:
Nord-Pas-de-Calais
Distance to Calais: (kms)
18
GPS:
Lat 50.808728 / Lon 2.05519
Michelin map no.
301

Transport links

  • Nearest port: Calais (805 kms)

Winter programme

Here‘s some additional info that you’ll find useful if visiting in the winter months

  • There are limited toilet block facilities available for touring pitches in low season
  • During low season, the adjacent hotel restaurant is open, with the exception of Sundays and during site owners’ holidays
  • No arrivals or departures are possible on Sundays between November and April

Reviews

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Nice little stop over

A small site that is ideal for your first or last night stay in France. The facilities although not the best are ok for the one night but if you have a shower and toilet onboard then what’s the problem? We used the restaurant which is just right with a very nice dinner served by the very charming lady owner and I think cooked by her husband. We will definitely be back next year on our way home.
Caravanner from Fife

Reviewed on

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Great For A Stopover Only

Cheap site which I'm certain is only used as a stopover as it is about 20 mins from Tunnel/Ferry in Calais. Lovely staff in reception and excellent bar and meal. Only saw the 10 hard-standing pitches behind the bar but they are narrow - thankfully only 1 other occupied when we were there. Club says that there are 82 pitches somewhere and 0 touring??? Adequate as first/last stop for the night.
Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on

46 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Overnight stop only

I used this site as an overnight stop going south. The entrance is badly rutted, drive with care! The pitches were hardstanding but small and the general impression was poor. There was nobody on reception until after 18.00 No information was given when I did manage to get booked in. The toilet block close to the pitches was poor. The one W.C. had a door that couldn't be locked. I cannot recommend this site except as an overnight stop.

Response from the Caravan Club:

 Thank you for leaving this review on our website.  We appreciate your time in posting this online.  Both the Caravan Club and Camping Bal are disappointed that you did not have a good stay here.  We do recommend Camping Bal as just an overnight stop as it is convenient for the port.  If in future you want any advice regarding the opening hours of any overseas that we work with please do get in contact with us and we will be more than happy to help.

 Response from Camping Bal:

Bonjour,

We are very disappointed that you were not satisfied with your stay with us.  

The reception is open every day from 08.00 to 12.00 and from 16.00 until 20.30 with the exception of Sunday afternoon and Monday morning from 1st November until 31st March because the campsite is shut, the toilets and the showers are closed with the key left in the lock.

 Our pitches all partly hardstanding to aide movement in wet weather and some grass to enjoy when the weather is fine.

 Please be assured that we always do our best to make our guests stay as lovely as possible.

Best wishes

Guillaume/Manager

        

 

Caravanner

Reviewed on

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Very pleasant experience

Hotel Bal used as 1 night stopover both ways en route to Spain. Very quiet site, hardstanding pitches are very narrow with enough room for the caravan wheel base and not much more, soft grass in between pitches. Some Reverse polarity hookups. There is a shower and loo at the side of the Hotel. Hotel bar and restaurant open at 1830, serving excellent food, expect to pay 60 Euros for 3 course meal with wine. Dog walking off site was easy. being only 20 minutes from Calais this is ideal for late arrival or early departure.
Caravanner

Reviewed on

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Handy stopover in winter!

Had 2 nights here before we caught the Eurotunnel home. Small and very quiet site. Good access from main routes. Facilities limited but very good. Note that in early off season the attached hotel/restaurant is closed and it is a way to get supplies. Good value for money.

Reviewed on

27 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer