Fontanelle

Via del Magone 13, Moniga del Garda, 25080, Italy

View on map

Rated 4 of 5

Community rating

Read reviews

Ideal for ...

  • Dogs
  • Families
  • Motorhomes
  • Walking

Why stay here ...

Set on the sloping banks of the south western banks of Lake Garda near the historic village of Moniga, Fontanelle is a medium sized site with terraced pitches with stunning views of the lake which can be enjoyed from some of them and the restaurant. There is direct access to the lake’s shore, where families can bathe and fishing is permitted, and a pool complex that’s ideal for younger children.

The friendly, English-speaking staff do their best to accommodate guests’ needs, and keep the site clean and tidy. Guests can also order fresh bread daily.

Lake Garda has a wealth of walking and cycling routes that offer scenic views, and its waters are a great place to try water sports. Fontanelle is also an excellent base from which to explore the historic city of Verona, with its impressively preserved Roman amphitheatre and 12th century cathedral.

Around and About 

Towns and villages of Lake Garda, Verona, Brescia, Bergamo, Milan, Parco Regionale Dell'alto Garda, Roman Ruins, Horse riding, Water sports, Spa, Cycle routes, Walking trails.

Things to do on site ...

  • Daytime entertainment (high season)
  • Evening entertainment (all season)
  • Fishing
  • Paddling pool
  • Playground
  • Tennis

Facilities on site ...

  • Bar
  • Barbecues allowed:: charcoal
  • Beach (direct access)
  • Disabled facilities -: average
  • Motorhome service point
  • Restaurant
  • Shop
  • Swimming pool
  • Takeaway
  • Wi-Fi

Prices

Useful Info

Nearby

Map

Directions

From the A4 take the exit towards Desenzano, then follow signs to Salo. On entering Moniga take 2nd exit on 1st roundabout towards Salo (Centro), then take the 1st right into Vai Roma following the sign for Centro. Immediately after the API garage on the left take the 2nd right into Via Paolo Caccinelli (very narrow). Take 1st right onto Via del Magone following the campiste signs - site entrance will be on the on the left

Sites key: Overseas Site

Postcode:
25080
Region:
Italy
Distance to Calais: (kms)
1205
GPS:
Lat 45.52555 / Lon 10.54333
Michelin map no.
562

Transport links

  • Daily public transport within 2 kms

Reviews

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site Next to Lake Garda

Fontanelle
Stayed for 3 night over Easter Break 2019. Lucky with the weather and toasted ourselves wonderfully. Welcomed at reception with no problem and booked in fairly quickly. All staff were pleasant and welcoming. Pitch size is not conducive to a large awning with van and car but suited us in a Motorhome. Make sure you have Ramps because every single van was using them as were we, nothing is flat. Showers and toilets are very good and clean and bright. All other requirements met with chemical toilet and Motorhome service area. Swimming Pool was wonderful. However, the shop was shut as was the restaurant. But we went up to the village for a meal on the first night and enjoyed that very much. Bit of a steep climb but it was easy coming down 😂 Lake Garda was beautiful and enjoyed strolling along it for quite a distance. All in all We recommend the site.

CHEZDAVE

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/04/2019 15:13

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Very Pleased

Fontanelle
WE have been touring Europe for many years, and Camping Fontanelle compares favourably with many other continental camp sites we have visited. This year our holiday was during the peak summer holiday period, and the site was full, which is ti be expected. The pitch sizes compare well with those on other sites we have visited. We arrived 1 day early, and the staff in Reception were extremely helpful, finding us the last remaining pitch, for the night. Nothing was too much trouble. The only criticism that I would make of the site, is that the toilets and showers are cleaned from about 8:30 each morning, which means that some of the facilities are closed at a time when many people are starting their day and need these facilities. A cleaning time in the middle of the day might inconvenience fewer people. The small shop on site was well stocked, but fresh bread was limited, it is essential therefore to order your bread in advance to ensure that you can get what you want. The lakeside location was perfect, and thge site is just a 10 minute walk to the Moniga Ferry port, although, ferries are infrequent, so there is a need to plan your trips carefully. Overall though we were very pleased with out stay at Fontanelle.

colinjones1950

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/08/2017 18:11

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Pitches very small, people on top of eachother

Fontanelle
We stayed four day in this camp, the location is brilliant next to the lake. The toilets and showers were clean. The swimming pool was closed, apparently the day before we came there was a storm, so the had to clean it, but the process took about 2 days, so no swimming in the pool for us, but the lake was amazing ( the beach is made of little stones so swimming shoes are recommended). They have a good little shop with everything you need. The bad points are that the pitches are so small, we arrived later in the evening as we travelled from France and we couldn't have hitched the caravan without the help of about 6 men. We had a corner plot, very tricky to get in, but luckily we had some neighbours handy to help us. They had good entertaining at night, the food was ok, a bit expensive compare to other restaurants from the village Moniga del Garda. All in all, it was a good stay, just the staff using the customers washing machines for the chalets from the camp, was a bit inconvenient.

Deliax

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/09/2016 22:54

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing

Fontanelle

This was our first venture into Italy with our motorhome and given the location right next to Lake Garda I was expecting this to be the jewel in the crown after spending a week at two sites in France. Unfortunately we were packed in like sardines and part of our pitch was occupied by another family. I truly felt that had one van set on fire it would have taken another four or five with it. On the plus side the village was nice though you had to climb a hill and we enjoyed ourselves in the lake.

Response from The Caravan Club:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about Camping Fontanelle. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the campsite. In Italy, unlike in the UK, campsites are not obliged to leave a gap of 3 metres between outfits, so they may feel less spacious than some of our UK Club Sites! If you ever experience problems on one of our campsites again, please feel free to give the Continental Sites team a call, we are always happy to help and could potentially help secure you a different pitch. 

Response from Camping Fontanelle:

Dear Caravan Club customer, I am sorry for your experience. The comfort pitches reserved for Caravan Club customers measure plus or minus all 10 meters x 6/7 meters, therefore a normal size campervan/caravan, should not have parking problems. Of course in the very high season, there are a lot of people on the site and it could happen that to go into the pitch itself, it could be a little bit difficult. There are no possibilities that other families are parking on the pitch reserved from the Caravan Club. I am glad you enjoyed our lovely village despite the walk! 

3agetraveller

Reviewed on 25/08/2016 22:25

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing

Fontanelle

This was our first trip abroad with our caravan and having had the luxurious space that we got whilst on UK sites, there were parts of this site that looked like a refugee camp given the space between the tents and caravans. Narrow roads around the site.

Response from The Caravan Club:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on line.  We are sorry to hear about how disappointed you were with Fontanelle.   

You mention that the site was poor by UK standards; many of our members expect the same standards that they have experienced at our UK sites when they stay on an overseas site.  In some cases our overseas sites exceed our standards in the UK but occasionally our members find them to be inferior.  What our overseas sites might lack in facilities they generally tend to make up with ambience and surroundings.  As we don’t own our overseas sites – we just work with them we cannot control them in the same way as we can our UK sites.  All sites, however, are inspected by experienced overseas site inspectors every year. If you do encounter problems at one of our overseas sites and you have made your booking through us please contact us at the Caravan Club and we will do our best to resolve the situation whilst you are on site, as your Club we are happy to act as an intermediary.

Response from Fontanelle:

Dear customer, to us it looks a little bit extreme to say that our campsite looks like refugee camp, after so many years in this campsite, we have never heard about such a bad consideration of our campsite, and we are very saddened.  The streets are not so narrow, but of course, in the very high season the campsite is completely full, but we do not know when you stayed here. The Caravan Club inspector came this summer to look at the campsite and speak with us about the contract, and did not have any problems with the space. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. 

Markbrereton

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/08/2016 13:53

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer