Henley Four Oaks Caravan Club Site (REF : FOU)

Marlow Road, Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire, RG9 2HY

View on map

Rated 5 of 5

Community rating

Read reviews

Ideal for ...

  • Cycling
  • Dogs
  • Families
  • Walking

Why stay here ...

Henley Four Oaks Club Site is a pleasant and green location, with grass and hard standing pitches for your comfort. The caravan park is surrounded by statuesque mature trees, adding privacy to your stay whilst enhancing the area's natural beauty. Nearby Henley is said to date from the early twelfth century. It has many old and interesting buildings for you and your family to discover, and is the home of the famous Regatta in June and July. This is followed a week later by a popular music festival and traditional boat rally, which involves the odd wooden-built craft for a touch of nostalgia.

The ornate stone bridge that spans across the River Thames is a popular landmark for visitors to Henley Four Oaks Club Site. It dates from 1786, though there is evidence of an earlier bridge dating from as early as 1170. The town is easily reached from the caravan park and there are many antique shops, art galleries and charming boutiques for you to browse. Another fun excursion would be to take a leisurely boat ride on the lovely Thames, travelling as far afield as Marlow or even Maidenhead. The site is well placed to visit some very interesting places including Windsor Castle, Hampton Court Palace and the city of London. Legoland, approximately 15 miles drive from the site, is a great fun day out for children.

Things to do on site ...

  • Playground

Facilities on site ...

  • Baby changing facilities
  • BBQs allowed: charcoal, gas, electric
  • Disabled facilities: facilities for wheelchair disabled
  • Disabled shower room
  • Dishwashing area
  • Dog area on site
  • Drive over waste disposal for motorhomes
  • Electric hook-up
  • Family washroom
  • Gas
  • Laundry facilities
  • Motorhome service point
  • Toilet block
  • TV reception: poor
  • Wi-Fi
  • Wi-Fi charge
  • Wi-Fi rating: Gold

Prices

Extras

Price per night for extra car: £2.00

Supplements

Pitches

Touring pitch types Awning Without Awning
Standard (electric & hardstanding)

Yes

Yes

Standard (electric & grass)

Yes

Non-electric (hardstanding)
Non-electric (grass)
Serviced (electric & hardstanding)
Serviced (electric & grass)
Super (electric & hardstanding)

Nearby

Walking notes:

A good walking route near the site is the Thames Path, about half a mile from the site.

Supermarket notes:

The closest is Waitrose in Henley-on-Thames, about 1 mile from the site. Tesco is 2 miles away. Both are accessible for motorhomes.

Great savings on days out

Offers available to Club members

View all savings

Map

Directions

From the East take the M4 junction 8/9 onto the A404 and then take the A4130. Cross river bridge into Henley-on-Thames. At the third set of traffic lights (including pedestrian crossing) turn right into road signposted Marlow, Oxford. In 0.25 mile at mini roundabout fork right onto A4155 (signposted Marlow). The site is on the left in about 0.5 mile (500 yards past entrance to Swiss Farm Caravan Site). From the M40: leave at junction 4 onto A404. Turn onto the A4155 (signposted Marlow, Henley). The site is on the right about 7 miles past Marlow (0.5 miles past Toad Hall Garden Centre). Please note, those who do not know the town well are advised not to drive or tow through Reading.

Sites key: Club Site

Postcode:
RG9 2HY
GPS:
Lat 51.54952 / Lon -0.90285
Plan a route to this site
OS field ref:
SU762840
OS map ref:
175
Handbook map ref:
J4

Transport links

  • Bus stop within 1 mile
  • Buses go to: Henley, Reading, Marlow and High Wycombe
  • Car hire on site
  • Daily public Transport within 1 mile
  • Nearest train station: Henley on Thames
  • Shop within 1 mile
  • Train station within 5 miles

Reviews

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely warm shower block

Great location, have stayed twice, helpful friendly staff on both occasions. Some road noise, lots of rabbits for our dog to watch. Cannot comment on 'Good for Families' (need an N/A option)

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Usual CMC standards with helpful wardens

We stayed at Henley Four Oaks for several days in early November and unlike the previous reviewer found the wardens pleasant & friendly. We had a problem on arrival with our vehicle and the wardens were extremely helpful and returned to our pitch on several occasions to check that all was ok. Our thanks to them both. The site can be noisy at times as it is next to a main road but it certainly didn't bother us. The facilities, as expected of a CMC site, were spotless. The dog walk was small but adequate, well illuminated and secure. Henley Town with its many shops, eateries and riverside is only a short walk and the towns of Marlow and Windsor a short drive. We will certainly be returning.

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Worse Club Site & Management Team Ever.

Simply the worse Club site that I have had the misfortune to stay at. The Site Management Team were extremely difficult, obstructive, disrespectful, and rude... at one point implying that the customer was telling lies. The customer service from just after arrival was sadly lacking. We are an American RV (not a huge one), but our vehicles specifications and configuration were not appreciated whatsoever. The Site Management Team refused to reasonably discuss the situation; seriously upsetting my children in the process. Ultimately, we were invited to leave, late in the evening, or accept as an alternative, an extremely inadequate pitch, on grass, soft and unstable, beside a very noisy road (constant intrusive traffic noise), no wifi connectivity, and poor mobile connectivity. TBH, come the last day, we could not wait to leave, and go home... never have such feelings been spouted by the family and I before. We will not be returning, and hope never to encounter these Site Managers again. This experience has made me re-consider all future bookings on Caravan Club Sites, and to seriously think about staying at independent sites instead. SHOCKING!

Reply from the Club:

We are so sorry to read you felt you had a bad experience at this site. We do ask that anyone with a larger outfit such as a fifth wheel or large RV contact us prior to their stay. Larger outfits are more than welcome on Club Sites but we ask for advance notification so we can ensure there is a suitable pitch available. Without this there may not be a pitch adequate for your outfit. This was why you were disappointed with your pitch size and we apologise that there was not a more suitable pitch available. The site staff gave the option to cancel if you wished. Please be assured the site staff always try to their utmost to be helpful and we are very sorry that you did not feel this was the case and did not enjoy your stay here. 

Motorhomer

Reviewed on

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Staff very helpful

The staff were very friendly and helpful on arrival. A few days into my stay a family emergency meant that I had to return home prematurely. The wardens couldn't have been more helpful and hope they read this.

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site

Arrived after 8 pm due to a pile-up on the M40. We rang ahead to explain and the wardens put off going out that evening to ensure we could get on site. He also suggested a pitch so we didn’t have to select one in the dark - and an excellent choice it was! Good site with an average size dog walk - they are not meant for exercising your dog! People either want absolute silence or are able to treat traffic as white noise. There is traffic noise at this site, but it is by no means continuous during the day or a major thing overnight. We enjoyed the walk into Henley although the pavement is quite narrow. The walk on the near side of the Thames is fields and a grass footpath, that on the far side has the boathouses and tarmac paths. We would use the site again.
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Site contact details

Telephone:
01491 572312