Henley Four Oaks Caravan Club Site (REF : FOU)

Marlow Road, Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire, RG9 2HY

View on map

Rated 5 of 5

Community rating

Read reviews

Ideal for ...

  • Cycling
  • Dogs
  • Families
  • Walking

Why stay here ...

Henley Four Oaks Club Site is a pleasant and green location, with grass and hard standing pitches for your comfort. The caravan park is surrounded by statuesque mature trees, adding privacy to your stay whilst enhancing the area's natural beauty. Nearby Henley is said to date from the early twelfth century. It has many old and interesting buildings for you and your family to discover, and is the home of the famous Regatta in June and July. This is followed a week later by a popular music festival and traditional boat rally, which involves the odd wooden-built craft for a touch of nostalgia.

The ornate stone bridge that spans across the River Thames is a popular landmark for visitors to Henley Four Oaks Club Site. It dates from 1786, though there is evidence of an earlier bridge dating from as early as 1170. The town is easily reached from the caravan park and there are many antique shops, art galleries and charming boutiques for you to browse. Another fun excursion would be to take a leisurely boat ride on the lovely Thames, travelling as far afield as Marlow or even Maidenhead. The site is well placed to visit some very interesting places including Windsor Castle, Hampton Court Palace and the city of London. Legoland, approximately 15 miles drive from the site, is a great fun day out for children.

Things to do on site ...

  • Playground

Facilities on site ...

  • Baby changing facilities
  • BBQs allowed: charcoal, gas, electric
  • Disabled facilities: facilities for wheelchair disabled
  • Disabled shower room
  • Dishwashing area
  • Dog area on site
  • Drive over waste disposal for motorhomes
  • Electric hook-up
  • Family washroom
  • Gas
  • Laundry facilities
  • Motorhome service point
  • Toilet block
  • TV reception: poor
  • Wi-Fi
  • Wi-Fi charge
  • Wi-Fi rating: Gold

Prices

Nearby

Walking notes:

A good walking route near the site is the Thames Path, about half a mile from the site.

Supermarket notes:

The closest is Waitrose in Henley-on-Thames, about 1 mile from the site. Tesco is 2 miles away. Both are accessible for motorhomes.

Great savings on days out

Offers available to Club members

View all savings

Map

Directions

From the East take the M4 junction 8/9 onto the A404 and then take the A4130. Cross river bridge into Henley-on-Thames. At the third set of traffic lights (including pedestrian crossing) turn right into road signposted Marlow, Oxford. In 0.25 mile at mini roundabout fork right onto A4155 (signposted Marlow). The site is on the left in about 0.5 mile (500 yards past entrance to Swiss Farm Caravan Site). From the M40: leave at junction 4 onto A404. Turn onto the A4155 (signposted Marlow, Henley). The site is on the right about 7 miles past Marlow (0.5 miles past Toad Hall Garden Centre). Please note, those who do not know the town well are advised not to drive or tow through Reading.

Sites key: Club Site

Postcode:
RG9 2HY
GPS:
Lat 51.54952 / Lon -0.90285
Plan a route to this site
OS field ref:
SU762840
OS map ref:
175
Handbook map ref:
J4

Transport links

  • Bus stop within 1 mile
  • Buses go to: Henley, Reading, Marlow and High Wycombe
  • Car hire on site
  • Daily public Transport within 1 mile
  • Nearest train station: Henley on Thames
  • Shop within 1 mile
  • Train station within 5 miles

Reviews

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Winter visit to Henley

Although winter, we took our motorhome to Four Oaks, after being recommended! Good level site within easy reach of the lovely Town of Henley. Only a few hard standings available but were happy to be close to toilet block and services. The road is quite busy but the noise didn’t bother us although walking along the narrow path to Town was unnerving! There had been a frost several days before and we were surprised to find the water tap frozen (at 1 pm). The Warden kindly freed this for us but we wondered why this had not been lagged! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return in warmer weather.
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Ideally situated a short walk into town.

Just got back from Henley Four Oaks,and what a pleasant weekend away. The wardens despite only being there a couple of days were friendly and keen which always helps, (Hope you have a good season). We normally are quite lazy and go where there are all service pitches so as this site has no all service pitches it would not have normally been on our list but some of the South coast sites were already fully booked. We chose a pitch right next to the shower block as it was furthest away from the road noise, which with no leaves on the trees this time of year is quite noisy. First time I have used a shower block on a site for years and they were very clean and spacious. The only problems were, the TV signal, never normally having any problems with the onboard aerial, and having no less than 5 transmitters with a good signal on our pitch there was some constant pulsing on the signal which made it impossible to keep a signal. Others I asked had same problem near us so we decided to get the aerial lead out and hook up to the electric post. Only problem was, my 14m aerial lead would not reach the post so had to join two together, probably 20m in all so be aware of this when you pick a pitch. The site signal also kept going off so there must be local interference, but it's not the end of the world. 15 minute walk into town was along a narrow but perfectly OK pavement, just had to cross over once. And even in the midst of winter Henley is a beautiful town with a lot of useful day to day shops. Really could see myself retiring here. The river walk at this time of the year was also stunning, cold, but stunning and plenty of places for a cup of coffee or something stronger. Unfortunately a longer walk the other way out of the site towards Marlow is not feasible as there are no paths to walk alongside the road. Calor gas is available at the garden centre 1/4 mile on the right after turning left out of the site. Also a nice little coffee shop, but again take care if you walk. We are already booking up a long weekend in the summer.
Caravanner from Surrey

Reviewed on

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely warm shower block

Great location, have stayed twice, helpful friendly staff on both occasions. Some road noise, lots of rabbits for our dog to watch. Cannot comment on 'Good for Families' (need an N/A option)

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Usual CMC standards with helpful wardens

We stayed at Henley Four Oaks for several days in early November and unlike the previous reviewer found the wardens pleasant & friendly. We had a problem on arrival with our vehicle and the wardens were extremely helpful and returned to our pitch on several occasions to check that all was ok. Our thanks to them both. The site can be noisy at times as it is next to a main road but it certainly didn't bother us. The facilities, as expected of a CMC site, were spotless. The dog walk was small but adequate, well illuminated and secure. Henley Town with its many shops, eateries and riverside is only a short walk and the towns of Marlow and Windsor a short drive. We will certainly be returning.

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Worse Club Site & Management Team Ever.

Simply the worse Club site that I have had the misfortune to stay at. The Site Management Team were extremely difficult, obstructive, disrespectful, and rude... at one point implying that the customer was telling lies. The customer service from just after arrival was sadly lacking. We are an American RV (not a huge one), but our vehicles specifications and configuration were not appreciated whatsoever. The Site Management Team refused to reasonably discuss the situation; seriously upsetting my children in the process. Ultimately, we were invited to leave, late in the evening, or accept as an alternative, an extremely inadequate pitch, on grass, soft and unstable, beside a very noisy road (constant intrusive traffic noise), no wifi connectivity, and poor mobile connectivity. TBH, come the last day, we could not wait to leave, and go home... never have such feelings been spouted by the family and I before. We will not be returning, and hope never to encounter these Site Managers again. This experience has made me re-consider all future bookings on Caravan Club Sites, and to seriously think about staying at independent sites instead. SHOCKING!

Reply from the Club:

We are so sorry to read you felt you had a bad experience at this site. We do ask that anyone with a larger outfit such as a fifth wheel or large RV contact us prior to their stay. Larger outfits are more than welcome on Club Sites but we ask for advance notification so we can ensure there is a suitable pitch available. Without this there may not be a pitch adequate for your outfit. This was why you were disappointed with your pitch size and we apologise that there was not a more suitable pitch available. The site staff gave the option to cancel if you wished. Please be assured the site staff always try to their utmost to be helpful and we are very sorry that you did not feel this was the case and did not enjoy your stay here. 

Motorhomer

Reviewed on

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Site contact details

Telephone:
01491 572312

Site information

Please be aware that Scottish and Southern Power have notified us that our site will be without power on 20th February from 9am-4pm.