Aldborough Hall Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very useful site for Covid secure visits to London

We have relatives in E London and this site was ideal for visiting them (in their garden of course) while staying in our own Covid secure accommodation. There was some noise from the road but we chose a pitch furthest away and weren't disturbed at all. Even the geese only came by once! I can imagine that in wet weather the site can be a bit boggy and would need the right towing vehicle but there are some hard standings available. Facilities are basic but perfectly adequate and the QR code for the Covid app prominently displayed on entry. We will almost certainly be back.

Snellybob

Reviewed on 19/10/2020 16:30

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The chap who got his van stuck.

Thank you, thank you, thank you to Sally, her sister and brother in law for digging me out of the mud. Arriving at the site I (stupidly) drove into the long grass and got my unit stuck. Maybe 6hrs of driving does that to you? Anyway, 2hrs of effort from Sally - who never gave up in the face of adversity - and myself didn't produce a result (I still don't know how to operate one of those ratchet things). Think we bonded in a strange adversity way! I then had to rush of to central London ( very easy from this site) - leaving Sally with the van keys and a bit of hope of some recovery. On returning (late) I found my unit out of the mud on a hard standing waiting to be plugged in! Brilliant - I will be staying here every time I come to London in the van - if you will have me that is! Best rwgard......Gary

Oldbam

Motorhomer from Merseyside

Reviewed on 06/03/2019 21:44

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great base for visiting London

This is a great CL for visiting London. We stayed for three nights on the hardstanding as the ground was a bit soft in the field. When we arrived Mrs Rudge gave us a two-sheet information guide which was very useful about where everything was plus a tube map. As everyone says Newbury Park is a pleasant 25-30 minute walk away. We loved the peacocks, geese and hens that roamed around the site. Will be back for our next London visit!

Juandeatatime

Caravanner from Essex

Reviewed on 11/01/2019 21:13

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

London on a budget

Travelling from the Midlands , this is a good site to be on because you don't drive too much in London traffic.From M1, M11. this is 4 miles on A12 to site , which is the only hairy part of the journey if not used to driving in this type of traffic. We had visited before about 4 years previous. The site has improved a lot since then . The toilet waste now has a neat brick enclosure. The grass is kept short. The field it self is large, plenty of space between vans, Yes there is other things going on, on site but it didn't bother us. The road can be noisy but this is London. We didn't try the resturant next door,a bit more expensive than we normally pay. It's a Miller and Carter chain.The walk into Newbury Park Tube is an easy walk. Now I'm 72 with COPD although I do excersise regulary, My husband 75 and he had a new hip in Febuary. The route is half a mile to traffic lights turn right half a mile to tube along A12. We walked this easy and it took 30 minutes. A pleasent flat walk if the weather is ok. The tube in, was £8.30 with travel card for the day. I highly recommend this site. at £14 a night. you have all the sights of London on your door step. Newberry Park is on the Central line , so takes you straight to most places . Arrival and deptarture easy. Mrs. Rudge very nice. and she doesn't bother you. Field flat

jeannjohn

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 24/09/2018 12:56

44 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great find for families and easy access to central London

Stayed here for 3 nights in our 7.5m motorhome. Travelling on my own with 3 children was a bit daunting but we had a very warm welcome and fantastic stay close enough to central London that my husband was able to join us after work. Booking and communication with the owner was very efficient. Slight panic when we arrived and saw the arch entrance to the pitches as we're 3.5m high but we were quickly shown another way round the outbuildings to get onto the grass area. Lovely clean and well kept site, we were able to choose our pitch. The children loved having the space to run around after a long day and seeing the animals instead of being stuck in a hotel room was a real highlight. Took me 20 minutes to walk to Newbury park with a 4 year old who examined every leaf on the way so opted for uber to the tube the rest of the time with tired little legs. Easy access and easy to find balanced with great proximity to Newbury park. Plan to return very soon.

cleve

Reviewed on 29/05/2018 23:31

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Site for visiting London

We have stayed on this site on numerous occasions as we love its vicinity to London. Newbury Park tube station is a 20 minute walk away and is ideal for getting into the city. Last time we stayed there we arrived at the tube station only to discover there was industrial action on the tube from Leytonstone round "the loop" - but a 66 bus opposite the tube station took us to Leytonstone from whence we caught the central line into the city. The return bus stopped at the end of Alborough Road North which only meant a 10 minute walk back to site. We normally pitch on the field, but on our last visit, due to the severe frosts, we were advised to pitch on the hardstanding - especially since we were in our motorhome. We also decided to go out on our bikes on the Saturday, turning right out of the site we cycled to Hainault Forest, and cycled a very muddy track through the trees. The whole ride was just short of 11 miles. Although there are no facilities other than the usual water/waste areas etc we cannot fault this site, and Mrs Rudge and her family are very friendly and accommodating.

Carolee

Motorhomer from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 06/02/2017 22:15

42 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great for London

A very unique site due to it's location. The site itself is OK, no complaints at all. There is EHU but no WC. We was out all day and just used it as a place to sleep. Next door is a pub called the Dick Turpin, we ate here and it was .....average. The best part of this site is proximity to Newbury Park tube station. Google maps says its a 21 minute walk, we couldn't time it accurately as our dog stops every two minutes. The tube to central London takes 30 minutes. Dogs are allowed for free on the tube but peak times are best avoided. If walking is not your thing an Uber taxi fare estimate to the tube station was £5. We have a 2005 , 2.3 diesel Fiat motorhome which complied with the London Emission zone, its easy to check on their website. I would happily stay here again if intending to visit London.

markbest

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/07/2016 15:17

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Useful site

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting friends nearby. It was amazing to find such a lovely open space so near to London. The pub/ restaurant next door was very handy. The only drawback was the noise. The peacocks started yelling at each other , literally at cockcrow , and this went on for most of the day. There is a small and quite narrow road adjacent to the site - this can be very busy at times and seems to be a favourite route for "boy- racers"

HerbiesOulFolks

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/05/2016 09:17

27 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

SURPRISING CL!!

Can only endorse what everyone else says about this site - what a lovely surprise to find such an oasis of calm and beauty so close to the noise and bustle of North East London. Stayed here last week in June and were delighted in every way with our experience - it was like a miniature country estate especially with all the peacocks and other wildlife. We were absolutely delighted with the surroundings. Would just say it's quite a long walk to Newbury Park Tube - much more than 20 minutes, so the few times we went into London we took the car as close as possible to the tube station and parked on the street (otherwise £5 to park in the tube car park). You will have to search for an on-street parking space - seems to be a lot more spaces in the second half of the day. Great restaurant next door - so handy!! Didn't know what to expect with this CL but can only say will without doubt be back soon!!

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Two Nights in May

I seem to be the only one leaving reviews for this site? We've been here many times now. One of our favourites and so handy for London. Electric hook-up, fresh water and a CDP are what you get. Lovely grass paddock to pitch in with peahens and peacocks wandering around. Hope to stay again soon.

30 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer