Alice Street Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Frome from Frome

The title is my husbands sense of humour! This peaceful and quiet site is 5 miles from Frome centre and about 10 miles from Longleat. A very neat and tidy site with all pitches overlooking a field of heifers who continually graze but without any noise, a really pleasant outlook over the countryside. With all pitches being fully serviced it really is a home from home, also having a relatively new mobilehome disposal point. We will consider this CL again in the future when travelling in the area. Thank you Clive.

JT408

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/07/2021 12:24

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great little CL all you need for £20/night

First time stayed here in worst storms of the year. We survived:) fully serviced pitches made it for us we love using our own on board facilities . Sloping pitches so bring chocks. Some road noise but not major mostly when motorbikes zooming by. Facilities weren’t open so can’t comment but we wouldn’t use them anyway. Dog walk right on site. WiFi on pitch but we didn’t connect as had our own 4G. Phone signal good with Vodafone. Great walks from site. Slight tight access. Will definitely return. Clive the owner is a character & very welcoming

ScreenNameD88698C994

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/06/2021 13:10

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL in a Quiet Location

We spent 3 nights here in May 2021. The site is easy to find and in a quiet location. Access is easy even with a wide van or motorhome. The shower and information shed were out of action due to Covid restrictions but this didn't spoil our stay. It's well kept and tidy. All pitches are hardstanding (slightly sloping but not an issue) and all have access to fresh/waste water outlets which is such a bonus cutting out the chore of filling the Aquaroll and emptying the waste. The owner met us when we went to pay and was friendly and helpful. There's nothing within walking distance if you're wanting a shop/pub etc but the plus point is that it's peaceful and tranquil. Shops pubs and petrol station are within a couple of miles. The site has access to a dog walking/exercise field through a small gate at the end of the site which was perfect for us with our two retrievers. We were allocated the first pitch as you enter (pitch 5) There was a faint smell from the septic/bio tank which I think is positioned nearby - so avoid this pitch if you have a choice. However overall, we'd return without hesitation. Good value at £20 a night.

ChrisandLizS

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/06/2021 19:55

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Another CL Gem.

What can I say about this site other than fantastic! Quiet, peaceful, spotless, beautifully maintained and well appointed. All 5 pitches are hardstanding, very slightly sloping and plenty of space between each one. The site has easy access, new motor home service point and chemical disposal. Easy access to Frome or Shepton Mallet for shopping and central to many of Somerset and Wiltshire tourist attractions. That's if you can tear yourself away from the peace and quiet of the site. We will be back for another stay.

C1iv3

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/04/2021 07:37

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautifully maintained site

We stayed at Alice Street Farm for just over a week. The directions were excellent! The site is beautifully maintained, very clean and tidy, and to have a serviced pitch makes life so much easier and my husband so much happier. He was also very thrilled with the disposal area which had the best water pressure ever for cleaning out the cartridge. A happy man!! The site was perfectly located for visiting places of interest - we took the train to Bath to see the sights including the Roman Baths, Abbey and an excellent boat trip. We also had days out in Wells, walking the Kennet & Avon Canal and over the Dundas Viaduct, a very interesting visit to Shepton Mallet Prison (thank you to our neighbours on site for the recommendation), Nunney Castle, the Fleet Air Arm Museum, Bradford on Avon and the Avon Valley Railway on a very wet day! Frome is a lovely town, with cobbled streets and a great market with quality stalls, and the George at Nunney has a lovely beer garden beside the river. An excellent week, an excellent host, and one to return to. Thanks Clive!

SussexStorm

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/10/2020 16:55

40 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just what the Dr ordered.

Long lockdown needed breaking 😱. However needed peace and tranquility and to maintain social isolation. Fully serviced pitch was ideal to do this. Recently updated our shower/wet room and needed to test it out, all good 👍. The owner Clive, was very friendly and helpful in a quiet and thoughtful way, good social distancing maintained. Excellent facilities to run dog in Meadow and adults only so very tranquil. . One small complaint, dog owners who don’t pick up because they are in a Meadow. Canine faeces can be extremely harmful to farm animals and also make my part beagle dog smell awful when he does a ‘slider’...... Easy access to all amenities and places of interest Glastonbury, Cranmore Tower, Stourhead to name but a few. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a quiet time away.

AdzNNanna

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/08/2020 15:54

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of the best

One of our favourite sites anywhere. Spacious, quiet, easy access, and good value. Fast free wi-fi with good coverage, 4G signals strong on Vodafone, O2, and EE, but only 3G on '3'. Strong TV and DAB signals but unfortunately FM is weak. Site has free use wet room and useful info shed but at the time or writing (July 2020) they are unavailable due to Coronovirus rules. The resident site owner, Clive Vincent, is a genial host to whom nothing is too much trouble. Good base for Frome - a very pleasant small town - and NT Stourhead, and farther afield is Bath, Devizes, Swindon, Shaftesbury and Salisbury each with their own attractions. Highly recommended.

Woody19

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/07/2020 20:28

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just the job!

What a fabulous little site. This was my second visit (both for just one night but really would like to stay longer) It is very near to where I work so ideal for a weekend escape direct from work. I now prefer the CL’s for peace and quietness so it is a bonus to find one with a shower and toilet. Although basic in a small hut at the end of the site it is perfectly clean and adequate. The owner has thought of everything including a chair and ‘nice’ soap in the shower/wet room. The shower was hot and there is even heater in the the room, The pitches are all reasonably level and are fully serviced with electric hook up and a water tap and light. There is even free Wifi. What more could you ask for? The owner is very welcoming and chatty. I will definitely be coming again. The surroundings are peaceful with lovely scenery a little way from the main road, so no traffic noise and beautiful sunsets. Just what one needs after a long shift at work!

Jackiethebus

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/05/2019 09:03

9 reviews

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

2 nights away whilst working

Stayed here as ideal for work whilst my wife and 2 dogs could see the local area. The site was lovely, we where on pitch 5 which was a bit too far from the outdoor WiFi spot to get a good signal. It was ok when we walked passed plots 1-3. All the plots are hard/gravel standings with electric, outdoor light, water and drain. Shower/toilet block (only one) was clean and well stocked with toilet rolls, soap etc. Site was quite and away from any busy roads. We would go back again if in the area.

Betsy Blue

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/08/2018 18:35

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Needs a bit of attention

We found the site easily and sited ourselves as no one was about. The pitches slope slightly rearwards which wasn't a problem, with the electric, fresh and waste water at the back of the pitch. I noticed some of the pitches require weeding and the access road to the site requires pot hole filling. The shower block wet room just needs some attention as the shower screen leaks water into the toilet area, a water pipe screw is just hanging, parts of the shower are missing but the shower gives a good powerful shower. I'm not sure if other than the cl is using this facility as there seems to be other motorhomes and caravans everywhere. The site wi-fi is poor and keeps dropping out, but our main gripe was the amount of flies around the caravan and every time you opened the door flies came in. We marked down on beauty and surroundings as you back onto trees which need trimming back before they take over, look over a field edged with trees and some strimming should be done around the grass areas. The owner is very pleasant and chatty but does not interfere.

spudlylight

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/08/2018 19:55

50 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer