Alice Street Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

As advertised on the Tin

We completed a one week stay in winter and have to say that all of the previous reviews apply equally for winter caravanning. Can't comment about awning pegs as we didn't erect an awning and can't comment about shower room as it was too ruddy cold to venture down to it so used our own but it looked fine. The pitches are large and there should be ample space for every size of unit to fit on, nice spacing between pitches as well. They do slope ever so slightly but we were able to get a flat area to park the caravan. As others have said there is sufficient dog walking area and info hut, chemical disposal and owners all excellent. Access is well described in the handbook and on the webpage, the farm track isn't long and the pitches are to the right of the first building you see. This is where the only quibble comes in, the section of track leading to the pitches is about 100 yards long and there are some potholes in it so if water filled take care. Plenty to see and do in the area, Sainsburys is on the way into Frome and there is a M&S Foothill in the centre of Frome along with the usual shops and some nice individual ones.The road leading past the site is about 250 yards across fields and is quiet at night and not that busy during the day. For those seeking out CLs with Serviced Pitches then this should be on your list, for those who don't want pay those prices because they don't need a serviced pitch then there are cheaper alternatives available locally but not necessarily in winter time.

Wherenext

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/02/2018 19:23

93 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfection

I can only reiterate what others have said. It's really a mini site with superb serviced pitches. Remember to bring long grey water pipe, and kit to connect drinking water and a screw on connector for tap. My only (petty) criticism , had difficulty making rock pegs stay put. All the small details have been catered for I.e. hand wash liquid and paper towels in loo. Excellent info hut with local o/s map on wall, supplies of reading material, ample leaflets and local info. Finally the owner's, lovely people. As the General said, "I will return"

bootneck248

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/10/2017 19:23

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely and quiet and in a gorgeous setting.

Lovely site. Nice large hard standing pitches, clean and maintained wet room with shower and heated (very important). Friendly and nosey bullocks and heifers to greet you in the field, little information hut and very helpful owners. Would I visit again? Yes and I probably will.

GiftedandGorgeous

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/09/2017 17:20

11 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Well Chuffed

Had a week here recently, and very pleased with the site. Owners very pleasant and more than helpful. Lovely position facing field full of inquisitive cows and two big fields for exercising dogs. nice big level pitches all with hook-up, tap and waste water disposal. Toilet and shower absolutely fine. This was our first time in this area and we found lots to see and do. We will certainly be back.

LexiLexi

Reviewed on 25/07/2017 16:04

13 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Recent Stay

Nice well laid out CL with good views across the fields all pitches have 2 taps one for fresh water and one for waste water free WFI but not suitable to download films.Excellent wet room with brilliant shower. We stayed for 6 nights from 14th June . Easy access to Glastonbury, Wells and Bath. Asda and Sainsburys superstores close by at Frome by car about 6 minotes away. Places to eat close by is the George at Nunney or the Masons Arms just outside Frome. Serviced pitches for £15 a night excellent value really hope to visit again next year. The only downside is the narrow access road to farm which the grass and hedges need to be cut otherwise easy to find.

be59cre

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/06/2017 18:36

39 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Oh yes

What a wonderful site fully with serviced pitches with two taps on each pitch one for fresh and a second for grey water the pitches are a very good size, great and very friendly owners, Good size very well equipped bathroom close to Frome with the delights it has to offer such as quaint shops and great cafes This is a very quiet and peaceful site on to return too with pleasure

tannar

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/03/2017 21:52

19 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Really Fantastic owners

Having recently returned from a week staying at this site cannot praise it enough. When we arrived found we had left our electric hook up cable at home was about to go out and purchase another cable when the owners kindly lent us theirs for the week. As others have said television reception is brilliant and there is a really good free wifi signal as well, The site is very peaceful only broken by the occasional nay from a horse or a hoot from the owls, The owner has recently widened all the hardstandings with loads of room between each pitch also each plot has its own electric hook up plus 2 water taps one fresh and one for flushing your grey water down the plots own grey water drain. Only hope I have not oversold this site as we will be wanting to return soon.

Sanmart

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/11/2016 15:26

2 reviews

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

spontaneous visit

We live 40 miles from site and 31st October, wished to visit Stourhead, fabulously sunny autumnal day. Not able to talk on telephone to NT at Stourhead so went on spec hoping an overnight plot would be available so we could give MH a run out. No such luck but OH had reserve details incl this site. Either way this would be our 1st CL site stay. Located it easily after quick call by phone to confirm. We are "newbies" so learning lots each trip out! Pleased with plot and really level, no need on our plot(No2) for levellers. Misty night & dawn, sound of owls no problem! TV reception best we had from 1st 4 trips . Spoke with owners before we left, friendly and informative to us. Very good toilet facilities too. Only 1night stay but increased our enjoyment of motor homing.

BevJTee

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/11/2016 08:44

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A little disappointed

Although this is a good site we were disappointed with a recent stay here. We did not see the owners at all throughout our stay. Bin in the toilet was almost full on our arrival and wasn't emptied once. The rubbish / recycling was left uncovered and when the wind picked up it blew it everywhere. Someone clearly did not pick up after their dog as there was evidence of this near the entrance. We had not been informed that we wouldn't see any owners so came away feeling disappointed with this site. We clearly were not staying at the same time as other reviewers otherwise we may have had a better experience?

Carrie 15

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/10/2016 20:25

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pretty much perfect CL

Stayed here overnight for a party nearby. Lovely peaceful site with gentle rolling country views, level hardstandings, and water & electric to each pitch. Newish & spacious wetroom/toilet for those of us with minimal facilities, information room etc. Owner very welcoming and helpful on arrival. Would have given it 5 stars for everything except that you can't really walk to anywhere from here, the traffic on the main road being too fast, and no pavements (nothing unusual there then, and not the fault of the owner of course). But a lovely part of the country to visit, and not far from Frome, Longleat etc in the car. I'll probably be back. Wish all the CLs were as good as this!

pecamina

Campervanner

Reviewed on 23/09/2016 14:19

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer