Barrow Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Slightly disappointed

We were unfortunate to arrive in heavy rain and arrived in front of house not knowing quite where to go as there was no one about. We have a long wide van but not an 8 ft one fortunately . We had read that care was needed to negotiate the sheds but didn't realise just how bad it would be, fortunately we made it !! We were the 5th unit to pitch so only had hard standing pitch just inside gate to use. If you don't have a motor mover then you'll definitely need muscles to get unit onto this pitch. We were under trees so no view and no TV reception. Getting off was no easier as we had to move car out onto drive and use mover to hitch up, our worry was that we were blocking access to site by doing so. Even with mover, the hedges around gate entrance to pitching area were a bit overgrown and were touching side of van whilst hitching up. Same as hedges along route past notorious sheds . The hedges were quite leafy but you never know if there's a hefty branch just under the leaves. Access to the other pitches looked fine and grassed pitching area was well kept. With a smaller unit, would definitely visit again but think that anyone with a larger van should think very carefully about booking a pitch here .

Pursuit14

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/10/2021 10:18

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

Just stayed here for 3 nights, and what an absolute gem! Had no problem with access, just take it slowly (as always). Because the weather was scorching, we pitched in a shady spot, but all the pitches look inviting. River walks and 2 pub/eateries within an easy walk from the site. The site is only 15 miles from home, so we will make this one of our regular sites. Thank you and we will see you again.

Martinarmitage1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/07/2021 13:27

26 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Picturesque and relaxing

We have just spent two nights here and wished we'd been able to stay longer. Spring has definitely sprung and we enjoyed listening to really beautiful birdsong and watching lambs in the adjacent field. This site is really pretty and whichever pitch you're on you're guaranteed nice surroundings to relax in and enjoy. There are a number of lovely walks nearby which are easily accessible. Our dog enjoyed the daily visit from a chicken and didn't mind sharing her water bowl😂. Our van is 7.5 and access is ok but needs care past the sheds. Very reasonably priced. This is our second visit and we'll definitely be back. Thank you for a great CL

2spritelyislanders

Reviewed on 20/04/2021 10:57

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Never disappoints

Stayed here three times so far, this time we came with friends. It’s always a pleasure to see and talk to the Bensons. Access - the downhill turn into the CL from Rode Hill is straight forward enough but care is needed on the first right hand turn where you need to get as close to the edge of the little culvert bridge as possible to avoid snagging your off side rear corner. Pass across the front of the house (loo emptying point is to right of front door a few paces from the track) and bear right passed the information shed. Passing by another shed and through an open gateway leads to the pitching area. The turn by the sheds is “snug” but if you go slow and steady you won’t have any problems. Siting - directly through the gate to your left are three hard standing pitches, to your right in a cluster of shrubs and trees are recycling bins and water then beyond to your right is a grassed area lightly planted with silver birch trees. All pitches have access to an EHU. (Charges of £12 / night including electric is very reasonable) Neighbouring fields can have sheep, the CL has 3 very inquisitive chickens and squirrels live in the trees. From the CL you can walk down the the river to a beautiful packhorse bridge then back along the other side to the Mill at Rode restaurant. (We’ve not been). We recommend the Cross Keys pub within walking distance and trips out to Bath, Frome, Wells and NT Stourhead.

tonytourer

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 31/08/2020 10:41

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil Retreat

Great location with freedom to choose your pitch, very peaceful with easy access to two restaurants/pubs. We stayed for six nights, access is not a problem but needs care especially if your unit is long. Our twin axle caravan towed by a VW van negotiated the road in and out without a hitch. Would happily return when exploring the local area.

Wildhorses25

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/08/2020 20:30

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An absolute gem!

Have visited this site before and it doesn't disappoint. Peaceful, lovely surroundings, well kept but still informal with helpful and friendly owners. Stayed for 8 nights and Covid-19 precautions were in place but pitches were not designated or roped off, as on other sites, which made it feel like the world was normal - thank you Sarah and Mike! We love this site, would definately recommend and will definately be back! :)

Rory2

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/08/2020 16:56

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Love this site

We have recently had another stay at Barrow Farm and really love it. It is well looked after without being too manicured that you are frightened to move. We love the 4 chickens roaming around and had to photograph them drinking out of our dogs bowl.You really feel you are in the country miles from anywhere. The village is really pretty with a couple of pubs and a really good community shop. There are lots of local walks to enjoy. Sarah does not bother you but is there if you need her. We thoroughly recommend this site and will definitely return again.

levick

Motorhomer from Hampshire

Reviewed on 28/07/2020 15:32

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely site and location.

We only stayed 1 night (just before the coronavirus shutdown) but found this to be a lovely site. The entrance was a little tight and rutted but negotiable with care. 3 hardstanding pitches and 2 on the grass. The pitches are generous in size. Surrounded by farmland with a delightful walk, via a footpath, across the fields to the river Frome. The site is handily placed for sightseeing and there are shops and pubs a plenty within easy reach. We will come back to this site again as it is obviously well maintained and looked after.

C1iv3

Caravanner from Northamptonshire

Reviewed on 29/03/2020 11:40

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect for a local getaway!

We've stayed here twice recently, once in our twin axle caravan and this weekend in our motorhome. It has three hardstandings and a grass area of which we camped on during the Christmas period in the caravan. It was a little soft underfoot, but doable.We stayed on a hardstanding this time around. There's EHU, a place to empty grey water and the loo cassette. The site is lovely and quiet. Nearby is the Mill at Rode (a sort of gastro pub) which is very pleasant. We've stopped off for a couple of starters, as we didn't want a full blow meal. Good service - midrange prices. There is a pub in the village that we haven't visited yet, but it's on the agenda for another time. We know the area well, as we don't live far away, but it's worth a visit to Bradford on Avon to walk along the canal, the Tythe Barn and the town It's pretty and has a beautiful old bridge over the River Avon. Stop off at the Lock Inn Cafe run by Dick and Jane for some tasty good value food. Try the Boatmans Breakfast if you dare. It's a monster of a meal! It does get busy, because it's a great place to stop by, but bare with the queue to order and you won't be disappointed. We will visit again, as it's such a great place to chill out and wind down.

NJ2006

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/02/2019 18:59

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quiet away from it all CL

CL owner Sarah pleasant and helpful, charges are £12 per night inc. EHU. Smallish sheltered paddock with some mainly immature trees. Part hard standing part grassed pitches are easy to site on. Ground flat-ish, we used levelling blocks on a pair of steadies to even out the undulating grass. River Frome not 100 metres away has pleasant walks along its banks. Strongly recommend the Cross Keys about a ten minute walk away in village centre for food and drinks. Little or no road noise but seems to be on a helicopter flight path not that they disturbed, more a point of note as it was unusual. Access to the CL requires care, the gateway isn’t tight but bends away. The track leading passed the farm house and outbuildings is twisty & narrow in parts but isn’t a problem if taken slowly. I saw a large twin axle with big car on site so they obviously made it. One point of minor irritation are the very inquisitive chickens. No doubt there is a cuteness factor as they range freely but is quickly replaced by the fact they get everywhere as they look for things to eat, probably because visitors have fed them in the past. Feeding means poohing and not so good is walking the evidence onto our van’s carpets! Have stayed here before when chickens weren’t in evidence. All that aside would recommend this CL.

tonytourer

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 20/07/2018 15:28

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer