Brandon Ford

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Achieving 'perfect pitch'.

This CL location is set in the beautiful Breamish Valley and is a perfect base for touring Northumberland, especially around the National Park, and the coast is readily accessible. There is a nature reserve just on the other side of the bridge, and great dog walking in the area. The Scottish Borders are less than an hour away, so visits to Jedburgh and Kelso are recommended. We got a warm welcome from Cameron (and his young son!) who came over to see that we were settled in OK. The pitches are generously sized and are fully serviced, so no trudging over the site with an Aquaroll in tow! We found Brandon Ford after having to change our plans at very short notice and we're glad we did. Jess and Cameron have obviously put a lot of work into this site and we have added it to our personal list of favourites. We will be looking forward to coming back again. As a bonus, Brandon Ford is right on the edge of the Northumberland International Dark Sky Park and boasts the darkest skies in England, which for stargazers like me is a real treat and offers an unrivalled opportunity for astrophotography, even if the one thing no-one can control is the weather. It's a perfect excuse for going back, though!

Woodworrier

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/05/2023 14:12

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great value, great site

There’s only one downside to this site - no toilet, but we knew that, we have our own facilities and this is a fabulous little site. Friendly owners, who come abd introduce themselves to make sure you’re settled in and happy, but that’s it, no more “bothering”. Great walks from the site and our dog loved it all. Will certainly return.

gypsygirl

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/05/2023 12:48

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site with serviced pitches

Just returned from 3 nights on this CL and thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful location by the river and nature reserve. Lovely views from the well-kept site, all pitches were level hardstanding and serviced with EHU, water tap and waste drain. We can thoroughly recommend the site as a base for walking and cycling and for exploring the coast a few miles away. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We definitely hope to return.

ajd2621

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/05/2023 21:41

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Superb CL in Fantastic Location.

We've just returned after spending 15-nights in our caravan at Brandon Ford CL. The CL is located in the Breamish Valley in the Cheviot Hills, Northumberland, an area of outstanding natural beauty and a dark sky area. It's also packed full of history with ancient remains of hill forts and settlements. The CL is accessed through a gate off the road to Ingram. It's spacious and comprises 5 perfectly level, gravel-dressed pitches surrounded by well-tended grass. Each pitch has mains water, EHU and a grey waste drain. There are bins for rubbish and recycling. Toilet waste disposal comprises a domestic toilet sunk into the ground with a tap with a short length of hose attached, beside it. This is the one thing I think could be improved. The metal green-lidded box-type unit with a long hose found on many CL's are far more user-friendly, with less risk of unpleasant splashes and spillages. TV reception and EE 4G phone signal were very good. Five additional fully serviced pitches adjacent to, but separated from the CL have now been added. Access to the new site is through the CL via a second gate. The CL is enclosed by a fence separating it from the new site, the huge field on the farm side and the River Breamish on the other where the actual Ford lies. The field was full of Cheviot ewes with their newborn lambs during our stay. Despite it being a working farm there was barely any noise from it, or from the very light traffic on the road to Ingram. Outside the CL gate is a footbridge over the River Breamish, leading to a nature reserve with lakes and loads of birdlife and the village of Branton.There are loads of other well-marked footpaths in the area too. The CL owners, Cameron and Jess are lovely. The CL is a credit to them and their hard work. As other reviews mention, you should definitely sample Jess's fine fayre too. We enjoyed a superb afternoon tea, delivered to our caravan on the first Sunday of our stay. We were still eating it in picnics days later such was the quantity. Jess's chocolate brownies are definitely the Devil's food. We just had to bring a box home with us. Alnwick is the closest town with a supermarket but, there is a remarkably well-stocked shop with a Post Office at the Esso service station on the A697 in Powburn, less than two miles away. The station also has LPG and SafeFill type gas bottles can be filled there. Brandon Ford CL proved to be the perfect base to explore from. We visited Alnwick, its castle and gardens, Craster for its gorgeous smoked fish, Bamburgh Castle, Holy Island, Berwick Upon Tweed, William Armstrong's Cragside, among many other places. Finally, getting to Brandon Ford CL is a doddle. Good, wide, straight roads, no major hills or nightmare narrow tracks to negotiate. To sum up, Brandon Ford CL is probably the best site we've ever stayed at. We will definitely return in future as there is still plenty more to do and see in the area. Thank you Cameron and Jess. Best wishes, Steve & Sue Paull

19SCP59

Reviewed on 02/05/2023 11:02

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous site

We’ve just returned after two weeks at this fabulous site. It is clean, tidy, spacious and in a beautiful spot. We were welcomed on arrival and had pre ordered sausage rolls… delicious, and bloodies, divine. You must sample what Jess makes! It is ideal for walking and the scenery is gorgeous. It really is a gem of a site. We look forward to making a return visit.

Fairfieldview

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/04/2023 18:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful & tranquil.

Just returned from 8 nights & brandon farm. Great full service pitches. Nice welcome from Cameron. Lovely food from jess. Afternoon tea was lovely and good value. We did try other things too which were great. The breamish valley was great for things to do. Perfect scenery and great walks. And close enough to enjoy the lovely beaches of Northumberland. Just perfect really. We will be back. Thanks Neil and Julie & Alfie and mollie. 🐶🐶

weekendgypsy

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/04/2023 19:35

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a find

Just returned home from Brandon ford cl site what a lovely tidy and well run site Lovely location right next to the river breamish nice and peaceful and plenty of walks for the boys (dogs) fully serviced pitches with plenty of room between each pitch at a good price per night,would have liked to stay longer but we hope to return soon.thanks very much to Cameron and jess. Brenda Paul and the boys.

hyster

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/04/2023 08:16

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our little gem

Just come to the end of our second visit and it was so nice to return. Jess’ homemade goods are delicious and I would recommend the sausage rolls and scotch eggs. The couple are so accommodating and the peacefulness of the site is just what a caravan holiday should be. The fact that you have a hardstanding fully serviced pitch for £18 a night is great value and the online booking system Is simple and user friendly. This site is suitable for all ages

ianboardman

Reviewed on 13/04/2023 20:27

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely peaceful spot

Stayed for a week at the end of March. Lovely quiet and peaceful spot, on a busy working farm. Loved watching the sheep! The serviced pitches make caravan life very easy. Lots of wildlife about, great for birders, and there’s a nice little nature reserve right behind the site. Handy for the coast, and also visited Cragside during our stay. They are expanding from June, with another 5 pitches in the next field.

ScreenName7513DEAEBA

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/04/2023 17:38

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Blissful

Returned yesterday from this PERECT cl already booked in for a return in May!! Firstly and foremost the welcome from the Shell family just amazing, have never felt involvement like this on any other cl this is not to say intrusive. Site itself great having water and waste on pitch a BIG bonus Surrounding area full of walks such a beautiful place don’t know why taken so long in coming!! Cafe at Ingram a little Gem after walk on road by river or over the hill we did one day. Sausage Roll from Jess…….. Fantastic Looking forward to May will be bringing bikes this time. Thank You Cameron and Jess Jan and Len P

wildrebel

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/03/2023 08:02

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer