College Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Always a Lovely Stay at College Farm

Not a hard choice to return to this lovely well run CL in a very pretty and interesting part of the UK. The CL is tucked away in the small village of Alkborough, almost where the River Trent joins the Humber Estuary, and hence is a dream location for birdwatchers and wildlife spotters. RSPB Blacktoft Sands is over the Trent, but Alkborough Flats right under the CL, and farmed by the lovely Ogg family are just as interesting. An evening cycle ride saw us encounter an Otter, Avocets and Egrets, and a brief glimpse of a Cuckoo. The pitches themselves are four hardstanding and one grass pitch, all spacious with individual EHU points, and a picnic bench. All are located in a pretty landscaped area, bordered by a well fenced meadow, and accessed through the tidy farmyard. We found the pitches level, and an easy short few metres to both water tap and Elsan point. There are now 3 brand new and very nice looking Glamping Pods sited in an adjacent area, ideal for non Member friends and family. The mix of different accommodation proved a very friendly experience, everyone certainly got along very well during our visit. College Farm also has the added bonus of a lovely Tearoom elsewhere on the farm, serving delicious food and drinks, currently open Thursdays to Sundays. Alkborough village and it’s lovely church are well worth exploring. There are numerous pleasant walks and cycle rides direct from the CL, so it’s great for dog owners, walkers and cyclists. Places of interest close by include Normanby Hall, Thornton Abbey Gatehouse (EH), Humber Bridge and access to Hull, Beverly etc.... Lincoln and Lincolnshire coast are an easy few miles further on. Overall, this is a really lovely CL, well organised and run by a very nice welcoming family, in a beautiful and quiet location. Pitches have reliable electrics and good wifi, plenty of space. No shop in the village of Alkborough, but well stocked village shop in Winteringham nearby. Slightly further on, a Co op in Winterton, full retail facilities in both Scunthorpe and Barton Upon Humber.

Takethedogalong

Reviewed on 06/06/2021 15:10

30 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and Tranquility

We stayed on here for 3 nights in May in our caravan. What a great site with lovely owners; it is so peaceful. Made friends with the farm bull which seemed a gentle giant from the right side of the fence and enjoyed watching the new calves playing in the field. Amazing views of the mud flats and nature reserve from a 5 minute walk. visited lots of local villages, the Humber Bridge visitor centre, Spurn Head, Hornsea & Withernsea. The new clamping pods are in a great setting and look really nice inside. Thanks Bill et al for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We will return shortly. Neil and Katrina

nellybramley

Reviewed on 17/05/2021 11:49

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A superb CL site with benefiting a coffee / tearoom for your convenience.

College Farm CL site is a secluded quiet site, having a few hard standing pitches, the water taps have sanitizer stations for your convenience,all the amenities within easy reach of your chosen pitch. The site is clean and tidy, lovely short cut grass and shrubs and fruit trees make the backdrop to this location. Access to the site is through the farmyard passing the cowsheds and free roaming chickens, which adds to the country ambiance. A friendly site with equally helpful and friendly owners. Definitely recommend this site for a relaxing weekend, many scenic walks are available directly from this site.

startruegig

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 06/09/2020 15:30

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent Site

We have stayed on College Farm, 3 times this year for a total of 35 nights, so we must like it. Bill & Verian are very welcoming. It is a working farm, with an excellent tearoom on site which is open from Thursday to Sunday, so make sure to include one of these days in your stay. Very convenient location for places of interest both sides of the Humber Bridge. Site is kept immaculate by Bill, the pitches are hardstanding mainly and very spacious. We will be back in 2020.

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL

We stayed here for 4 nights principally to do some birdwatching on the "Flats" and at the Far Ings nature reserve on the south side of the Humber. The CL met all of our needs.The pitch was hardstanding with adequate space to put an awning up if wanted (we didn't). It's found behind the farm buildings so you have to drive through the farmyard to get to it but there is plenty of space for even the biggest of outfits. We were met by Mrs.Ogg who showed us to the pitches and explained all. Water and electric points are nearby as is the Elsan emptying point, which is shielded behind bushes, a nice touch. There are other bushes around the site with a few picnic tables provided by the friendly hosts. At certain times of the year you may get some noise from the Limousin cattle in the sheds when they are confined to quarters but not a problem. The owners ask that you recycle into the marked bins.There is very little noise from the village itself. The surrounding area is easily accessed with the public footpath down to the flats a mere 50 yards from site entrance, There is a cafe run by the owners at the entrance to the site, usually open from Thursdays to Sundays in season. The only concern we had was on the approach road as indicated in the CMC site guide. There does not appear to be a sign in Burton upon Stather for turning to Alkborough so if coming by this route take the lane called Tee Lane, the second to last left hand turn before leaving the village. This road becomes narrow in places with several tight corners and can seem an age before arriving in Alkborough. We decided to leave by travelling towards Winterton, straight across from Back Lane, which has a much shorter stretch of poor road before hitting some decent track. It's slightly longer getting back to Scunthorpe for the motorways but much better in my opinion. We will definitely be returning to this excellent CL.

Wherenext

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/10/2018 15:56

74 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic site.

We have visited a few times and love it here. Always a warm welcome from site owner, Billy and nothing is too much trouble. Excellent well kept site set in a lovely village with plenty of long walks for the dogs. One of our favourite places to stay.

Lblumf

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/06/2018 21:01

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic stay every time

My wife and I have stayed here now on numerous occasions and would highly recommend to others. Food in the cafe is top notch. The owners are very welcoming and can't do enough for you. We will be back again! Many thanks, Irene and Peter King (Derbyshire)

Peterking396

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/05/2018 16:28

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Alkborough Flatts

Very warm welcome . being met at the gate and having everything explained then left alone to relax ... perfect host for us. Dog walks from site onto Alkborough Flats where you can walk for miles with excellent bird watching and countryside.

Wolfie13

Reviewed on 02/04/2018 17:06

50 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We all still love this site!

After 2 spring/summers/autumns of visiting this wonderful site, we still love it. It’s everything a CL should be, quiet, clean, well run, peaceful with plenty of room for each outfit, hardstandings for the Caravans and grass to sit/ lie out on. We visit regularly for my partner to go to the Eddie Wright Raceway for the ‘Outlaws’ stock car racing, he scrutinisers the cars making sure they are safe and obeying the rules! While he does that Poppy (rescue cat) watches the beautiful Limousin cattle grazing in the next field while the calves run and jump about. Visit Julian’s Bower, walk down to the Flatts to watch a variety of water birds ‘strutting their stuff’. We will be back this year as well.

Dizzy Kitty

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/03/2018 19:01

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL

Excellent CL a very well kept site , lovely welcome on arrival, great for dog walkers with public footpaths within minutes of the site . Highly recommend

JillM

Caravanner from East Yorkshire

Reviewed on 23/06/2017 13:02

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer