Fairy's Lodge Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 0 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 0 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 0 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 0 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely quiet site on WORKING farm

Post code takes you straight to site entrance up narrow country lane where gate code is required. Lots of space to manoeuvre into hardstanding or grass pitches with EHU. All instructions in wooden porch and Julia pops over to say hi at some point. Single shower and single (separate) WC both clean and tidy approx 50m from pitches. Everything very clean and tidy. The site is a working farm although it's agri-ground works (or something!) rather than livestock or crops so there are a few industrial bangs in the adjacent warehouse. But only during the day not at night so AOK. No pigs or chickens to watch. Lovely scenery and local walks. Nearest pub is the White Horse at Tilbrook (10 min drive) which is super-friendly with great home-made food. Grafham water nearby (10 miles all the way round).

WildBikeMan

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/02/2024 15:17

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 0 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 0 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 0 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 0 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Super site.

FAIRY LODGE FARM We arrived to find a lovely driveway with gates, to which we had the code. The site itself was beautiful, well kept and with excellent facilities. It was very peaceful and here are some excellent walks along the lanes near the site. An excellent lunch in the nearby village pub, which is in walking distance. Thank you for an excellent six night stay.

ScreenName15815C7C16

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/07/2023 15:03

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 0 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 0 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 0 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 0 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A beautiful and peaceful setting

A fantastic find, peaceful with wonderful walking all around and a very warm welcome from the owners. The site was very well maintained and pretty - really good value for the money too. We were only here for a day but by the end of our stay we felt like we had been on a full holiday. We will definitely be back to explore some more and get away from it all.

ClubMember1B7AD0C257

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/04/2023 18:10

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 0 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 0 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 0 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 0 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful but overpriced CL

This is a small CL with 3 grass pitches and two on gravel surrounded by a large fence, the side of an agricultural shed and high hedges. I chose a grass pitch and parked sideways on to get the best of the sun and so I wasn’t sat out facing other campers. There was a bit of a discussion between the owner and I, who wanted me to to park face in, but she conceded when I explained my rationale. The site is nice and flat and the grass kept short, with access direct from the site onto a footpath by a field. There are no views and with the high hedge, fence and shed wall it felt a bit closed in. I wouldn’t have liked to have been on one of the gravel pitches next to the shed wall so was thankful I got the last grass pitch. I can’t comment on the facilities as I didn’t use them, preferring to use my own. I do think £20 a night is expensive for what it is, and compared to other CL’s and CS’s.

Firefox3

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/07/2022 18:50

25 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 0 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 0 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 0 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 0 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very pleasant place to stay

Once again we seem to have hit lucky, this is a lovely CL site. It is relatively small compared to some we have been to, but that does not detract from the site itself. Julia met us shortly after we arrived and advised as to the best pitch to use because we wanted to put up an awning and not all pitches are suitable. Everyone we met from the family were friendly and helpful. As it happened we didn't use the awning. The grassed area was a little too soft and as we were going to be there for three weeks, we didn't want to damage it. The site is very clean and tidy, with drinking water and waste disposal close to hand. There is a toilet and separate shower for use of the campers, this was also clean and warm. It is a working farm and sometimes there was noise coming from the buildings behind the caravan area, but not enough to be a disturbance. There are lots of places to visit close by and some nice walks around the village. There is a very nice pub/restaurant just down the road (White Horse at Tilbrook), which we hope to go back to if we are ever in the area again. All in all a very nice site and we would happily go back there.

DaSilvor

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/04/2022 16:35

12 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 0 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 0 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 0 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 0 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful, rural site in a lovely location

We stayed here for the weekend. I can’t understand the negative reviews, I guess you just can’t please everybody. Site is quiet and facilities are spotless and well maintained. Good walking directly from the site for our dog walks. Owner friendly and came to introduce herself. Easy access from main routes but far enough away not to have any traffic noise. We were lucky to have good weather so the starry skies were fantastic and I was able to spend a few of the night hours outside taking photos. We will definitely use this site again.

ClaireandDarren

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/04/2022 10:15

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 0 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 0 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 0 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 0 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great little site with lovely walks

We have stayed here a few times and really like as a base and a relaxing weekend. The site is small, clean and well kept. It has a shower room and a separate toilet , both very clean and functional. The site does not have great views but it’s not really an issue as within 2 minutes you can access the myriad of walks through the fields. You really can walk as far as you want. Not too expensive either.

ScreenNameAA45B103B6

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/03/2022 17:38

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 0 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 0 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 0 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 0 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Don't understand the negative reviews!

Rolled up in our motorhome on a Friday afternoon in early September for 2 nights. 3 grass pitches occupied by caravans, so pulled up on the 4th grass pitch, looked around and thought "this'll do nicely"! What do people expect on a working farm in Cambridgeshire? Herds of Wilderbeest?? It's very flat (no levellers needed) so no hillsides to give views, but trees and hedgerows close by to let you watch the birds, pitches are a decent size so you don't feel you're in a row of terraced houses, certainly plenty of room for an awning, BBQ etc. Shame shower and toilet were out of use - but, we live in interesting, but different, times! Overall we loved it here - we were lucky with the weather, warm and sunny (after a very unspecial summer) and enjoy walking, so the fact that we were out in the sticks wasn't an issue. No real downsides - would have been nice to meet someone from the farm - but I'm sure they had plenty else to do; left our payment in an envelope in the postbox - just a little impersonal! Happy to recommend it to friends.

Tim Humphries

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 16:34

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 0 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 0 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 0 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 0 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Disappointed

I read great reviews . I’ve found the site disappointing. It is a small compact site with no views. Tidy yes, a bit regimented with units backing up to the hedge in line. If this is what you like , it’s lovely. We we’re the 5th unit in so had to park against a brick wall on gravel as there are only 4 grass pitches because the site s small. Therefore the dogs were very restricted for being outside and no room for an awning. You either were on full show to all or faced the wall and with dogs we decided to face the wall with a small space The information room was a small sentinel box with little info and none removal, eg maps or local interests brochures. It did tell you what and what not to do! The toilet and showers were locked and when asked, told they were not In use. I know this maybe Covid times but other sites have had a sanitising regime or info to take away and keep.There was no sanitising liquid etc anywhere. Signs telling you to read and keep to notices were felt somewhat unfriendly although it did say welcome. Perhaps just not my cup of tea and felt very restrictive to be honest.Perhaps when showers are working ok but not good value for money when we visited placed as we were.

linathome

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/08/2021 19:05

8 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 0 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 0 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 0 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 0 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A very well maintained and peaceful CL

This is a really nice CL, 4 grass pitches and up to 2 hard standing, pitches are all level and grass is very well kept. Access is easy, but stick to the main B roads to get to Covington - there are two 'short cuts' that look good on a map, but are single track with few passing options and in poor condition. Access is controlled by an electric gate with key code. We had zero noise from the farm business on site during our stay. there are walks possible direct rom the CL field and locally there are a wealth of good qualtiy foot/bridlepaths. We loved the peace and quiet and the site itself and facilities (can't comment on the shower and toilet, which were closed due to CoVid) were very well kept.

markflip

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/04/2021 21:14

31 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer