Forton House

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Splendid!!

Had a lovely few weeks here....A superb place with friendly horses (JP the huge retired racer.....Woody his little sidekick & the grand old boy Jasper)....Whether you like horses or not these guys will steal your hearts.... and your carrots too!!! Peter sends a great info pack prior to arrival and you are totally guarenteed a peaceful time here.....

julianburley

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/10/2016 17:02

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Forton House - A little cracker!

What a great discovery this CL was! We were looking for a few days close to the Somerset/Dorset border and this fit the bill perfectly. Can't add much to the praise of the last couple of reviews. Level HS pitches or, if you prefer, grass (although you might need an extra EHU cable depending where on the grass you pitch). There were always 4 or 5 vans while we were there(never more!) so it's obviously doing something right! There's a very usable loo/shower room and apart from the light at the door, absolutely no other lighting on the site which made for a spectacular view of last week's Harvest Moon. Peter will email you a very thorough information pack before you arrive which includes a short history of the house together with information on local shops/pubs (Chard town centre is only a mile away) and places of interest (Force Abbey is the nearest) and even a copy of the bus timetable - the stop is just 100 yards down the road. It's a great area for walking, some direct from the site and we also started walks from the nearby villages of Combe St Nicholas, Thornecombe and from Ilminster. 4 days really wasn't enough to do the area justice and, as it's only a couple of hours towing time from home, we'll certainly be back.

(Maybe ought to add that I agree with Gazza's route below, particularly if arriving from the east -Crewkerne direction - usingvthe B roads just beyond Cricket St Thomas gives a more straight forward approach than the one via Chard itself.)

moulesy

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 19/09/2016 16:06

28 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

what a gem

we have just returned from a 10 day stay at Forton House, and part of me wants to keep this little gem to myself and the other part says it is only right to let everyone know what a gem Peter, the owner has set up here, quiet and secluded, with an excellent shower/toilet, hard standing pitches and electrics, what more could you need from a CL. All this and loads of places to visit all reasonably close, definitely a site to revisit, Thanks Peter for a great site and a lovely place to spend a holiday,

tonylumley

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/08/2016 18:39

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Charming and friendly site

We have just returned from a 9 day stay and really enjoyed our stay.The approach road is a little narrow to the site (about 8oo yds) but there is another route to the site.Follow A30 to Crewkerne form Chard ,approaching Cricket St Thomas turn right ,signed Axminster B3167, continue down and on right sign for B3162 To Lordleaze Hotel. Follow this road into Forton ,just pass a big copper beach tree on right side is the entrance ,there is only a very short distance of narrow road, but can see the entire length of this section. The other way buses come this way and can be a bit hair  raising .The site is well laid out with grass  or hard standing .The showers are clean with good supply of hot water and is clean(depending how the previous person left it).It's a bit of a pain opening two sets of gates every time .Will be going again, really enjoyed our stay .

gazza10

Caravanner from Leicestershire

Reviewed on 14/07/2016 18:05

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A good CL

Stayed here for 2 nights over this weekend which was quite wet and there were no problems getting on and off site. Would recommend a visit to Forde Abbey and gardens which is quite near. Would stay again if in the area.

Rich60

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/06/2016 22:43

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

relaxing

Great little site, the grass was a little long but this was due to the ride-on mower broke down. apart from that very quite and peacefull. enjoyed our stay so much we went back again.

ianc

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/06/2016 20:50

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

little disappointed

Have stayed at a few cl  sites which were easier and a bit more welcoming than Forton  House. The shower /toilet were not the cleanest, there was no towel to wipe your hands. It says  there is a dog walk on site which we couldn't find, just an overgrown small piece  of pen.  It's lovely and peaceful and only a 25 minute walk to the town,but the site needs a little tlc

riley21

Reviewed on 12/06/2016 15:36

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and Tranquility

This was the perfect spot for us to try out our new caravan as it is only a few miles from home but what a little gem of a place. Peace and quiet unless you are not keen on birdsong and a lovely dog walk just down the road. Excellent on site facilities and a friendly welcome form the owners. Good 4G signal on Vodaphone as well should it be required. 

Janeez

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/06/2016 16:16

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

7 night break

Very peaceful site, we enjoyed our stay, lots of places to visit within a few miles driving. Excellent high output 16 amp electrics. The only little problem i had was using the CWP, you can get a little bit muddy if it is wet. I'm sure Peter will sort that minor problem out! All in all, very impressed. Best wishes to Peter & Lyn

kendo523

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 26/03/2016 18:16

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very good site

A lovely little CL. Quiet and caravanners receive an e-mail information pack when booking. Four lovely dogs will lick you to death if you are happy in their company. If you dislike dogs then that isn't a problem as they are kept within their own grounds and separate from the CL. Nice little WC and Shower room in the little hut. Owners have some horses in the fields next to the CL.

Tobvan

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/03/2016 18:57

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer