Forton House

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site, even in the rain!

Just returned from a week at Forton House. It is a lovely peaceful site and we will definitely be returning next year. Hopefully the weather will be a bit better next time!!

MargaretS

Reviewed on 18/11/2015 16:16

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace & Tranquility

What a lovely site, it was so quiet and tranquil. The hard standing pitches were well spaced out and very level and the surroundings were lovely especially with the changing colour of the trees. Even though we didn't use the shower & toilet it was very clean & warm. The site is central for visiting many places of interest without spending most of the time travelling and has lots of nearby walks if you didn't want to leave the area.  Peter & Lyn were very welcoming. Will definitely recommend and visit again.

ELLIE29

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/10/2015 19:15

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Far from the Madding Crowd

This site is one of the best. So peaceful, the only sounds are nature with the birds and horses, and the only noise is the occasional farm vehicle. The site has hard standings but can accommodate grass pitches if you prefer. There is a super toilet/wash/shower block which is clean and warm. The local town of Chard is a 5 minute drive away where you can find the usual range of High St shops. The seaside tourist villages of Beer, Seaton and Lyme Regis are only 30 mins away. For those that enjoy the CL touring life this is one that must be flagged!

sparky6119

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 23/09/2015 21:04

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of the Best!

Having been using CL's for over thirty years we put this site up with the best we have ever stayed on. Peter has put so much thought into the site, the toilet facilities are excellent, (even a self closing toilet seat!) There is a lovely large shower room and a slope to the toilets for those who have mobility difficulties. It is quiet, just the birds singing. Flat hard standing, with grass in front for the awning. Very secure and well back off the road. The chemical waste is very easy to access and the recycling system works well. All very clean and tidy, the grass is regularly mown. There is a short narrow road on the approach but the traffic is slight and speed bumps deter the speedy. We did however meet a bus at the narrowest part, but he graciously backed up for us. ( He must have seen the look of panic on our faces!)There is a two hourly bus service so we were just unlucky! Peter sends out details of site, including the bus timetable ( wish we had recognised the importance of that!) the history of the house, directions and places of interest. The site is only two years old and is well planted out with young shrubs Peter has on going plans and like others we wish him well.

JennieBee

Reviewed on 31/08/2015 16:53

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wish we could've stayed longer!

It's a lovely site in the grounds of Forton House, level hardstanding pitches, large toilet/shower cabin, peace, quiet and nice scenery. There's a few narrow roads approaching the site and a bit of a squeeze through the main entrance because of the narrowness,  but if I made it anyone can! ?. Plenty of walks from the site and lots of nearby National Trusts. Peter sends lots of local info. listing these and more! Good value, we'll come again for sure. Thank you Peter and good luck with the on going renovations! :-) 

ScoobyWRX

Caravanner from Dorset

Reviewed on 31/08/2015 07:17

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent value for money

This CL is located at the rear of Forton House thus ensuring peace and quiet. It is very level but the hard standings are only wide enough to accommodate a caravan or motorhome - awnings and cars end up on the grass which seems a shame. There is a toilet/shower provided which is kept very clean. Small dog walk available but there is plenty of walking straight from the site. On booking, Peter emailed us an information sheet about the site, directions and the local area. The approach to Forton is quite narrow (from both directions) but access into the site was straightforward. Supermarkets, banks etc. at Chard. Easy access to the seaside. We walked up Lewsdowne Hill (about 8 miles away and highest point in Dorset) and Lambert's Castle (NT Hill Fort) both of which provided excellent views of the Jurassic Coast. For £12 a night, a great value site.

JennysJaunts

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/08/2015 12:27

109 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

nice little stop over

Stopped here beginning of Aug 15 on way to Cornwall. Perfect for what we wanted. Friendly owner, idyllic pretty little place everything we needed.

gary2lee

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/08/2015 11:57

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a lovely site

We booked this site at the last minute for 4 nights in July and Peter was so friendly and welcoming. He immediately emailed us a lovely pack of information relating to the site and the surrounding area, even including a bus timetable and some history about their restoration of the house! Peter and his wife were very accommodating and were around if we'd needed them but were not intrusive. They have some adorable dogs but they are very well controlled and Peter only let them come to say hello once he knew we were happy with that. I am allergic to animals so he kept them away from me but my wife loves to get her 'animal fix' when she sees any so she was very happy to play with the dogs and stroke the horse when it was going past! The site is very well kept with a choice of hard standing or grass pitches. There's a very modern shower and toilet and lots of information leaflets about local amenities. It's very quiet and peaceful yet close to plenty of beautiful towns and villages to visit. We drove to Chard and cycled a 14 mile round trip to Illminster on the Sustran route. It was beautiful and flat (we like cycling but don't like hills!) Would definitely recommend this site and would definitely return. Nothing to fault it.

Mutineer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/07/2015 09:28

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site ... recommend a visit

This is a little gem. Its a quiet site behind an old house, set in a small field surrounded by horse paddocks and hedges. The entrance is fine, although when we arrived there were two cars parked near the entrance which made it a touch tight. Peter the owner said if we'd asked he'd have got them moved but in fairness we snuck past ok. There's a couple of gates and then the site. So peaceful and well looked after. We didn't need the shower block but it was clean and tidy. The grass is well looked after and the site is level and a great TV signal if you want it.  As others have said, Peter's welcome e-mail includes helpful advice about getting there, places to visit, walks etc. We stayed 6 nights and wished we had another week to spare. We took advantage of the offer to use the grassy space rather than hardstanding which we prefer. You're well placed to visit trhe south coast, Lyme Regis, West Bay, Charmouth, Seaton and Beer all within 30 minutes or so through some lovely countryside. Seatown and Beer were our favourite beaches. One extra bonus was Peter looked after our caravan for a couple of days at the end so we could go to Cornwall with relatives for the weekend and then pick up the caravan on the way back through. No charge. Thanks Peter. I hope the site continues to attract plenty of visitors. they'll all be happy customers like us.

henryfrombg

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 02/07/2015 21:29

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Super CL

This must be up there with the best CLs we have visited in our 40 years in the Club. As soon as we had booked, an email was sent to us with lots of information about the site and surrounding area including walking and cycling routes, bus timetables and places to visit. Friendly greeting on arrival . Site is completely level with a choice of hard or grass pitches. Great to watch the horses and birds. Toilet and shower provided. I think we will be rating this our "CL of the Year"

HakunaMatata

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/07/2015 17:18

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer