Heatherbield

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Really nice CL and owners

Lovely hidden gem of a CL extremely well kept and in a perfect location for visiting Ely. Great transport links and two really nice pubs in the village. Owners are so nice and friendly and the amenities are really good and very clean, will we visit again "YES" and we would certainly recommend it to anyone else. Thank you so much Sylvia & Andy.

Clive H

Reviewed on 18/10/2023 17:15

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Super site

We stayed 3 nights 22-24 September. Sylvia and Andy are very pleasant, friendly hosts. Tea and biscuits on arrival which was a lovely gesture. Facilities and site very clean and tidy. Easy safe access, level site and tranquil area, one of the best we have been on. Close to the lovely town of Ely with free parking. We will certainly be back next year

ClubMember66F179BE62

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/09/2023 17:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Super site.

HEATHERBIELD We were let down by a site and tried to get our five nights here, but unfortunately we’re only able to have one night; we were very grateful for that, as they were fully booked for the other four nights. However, the site was lovely, very well kept with water and ehu for each pitch. The recycling and disposal facilities were first class and there is an info shed with books to swap and we were pleased to be able to leave three paperbacks. The owner was very friendly and it is unsurprising that they have lots of bookings. We will return for sure.

ScreenName15815C7C16

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/07/2023 15:01

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Update Review

The welcome is as warm and welcoming as ever. The tea, coffee and cakes hit the spot so thank you for that. The site and its facilities are really well kept. Ely and the surroundings have much to offer from the stunning architecture of the fabulous cathedral to the nature reserves of Welney and Wickham Fen. The town has several supermarkets and garages. The village of Little Downham has a couple of pubs. The road to Ely has a leisure complex containing fast food joints a cinema etc

Oneputt

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/07/2023 22:22

103 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site

A lovely 5 CL - nice warm welcome with a cup of tea and biscuits. Quiet and well kept site with lovely facilities. nice walks locally with bus route or walking access into Ely.

Colin Campervan

Campervanner

Reviewed on 05/06/2023 16:00

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL

What an excellent site from start to finish. On arrival we were greeted by Andy who welcomed us with a cup of tea and homemade cakes, never have we had such a welcome anywhere, it was a super start to our 4 night break. We had a good hardstanding pitch with plenty of space around us. The toilet and shower facility was kept spotlessly clean as were the other facilities. It is not far into Ely, luckily we stayed with friends who had a car so visits locally were made easy. We had an excellent meal in the local pub The Little Downham Anchor, it is walkable from the site with a pathway along the road. The site is very peaceful with plenty of bird life to watch and we even had a fox wander on site. Andy and Sylvia are excellent hosts, thank you for making our stay so memorable.

AndyChrisW

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/05/2023 18:51

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely location

We stayed at Heatherbield 1st-5th May 2023. Very easy to find, approach roads good. We wanted to be near Ely and its only max 2 miles away, car parking in Ely was free. Bus stops right outside, although we didn't use it. Local village is lovely, with 2 pubs, 1 is a hotel too, chippy, convenience store, garage. Both pubs offer good food. We went to both. The couple running the site are really nice and friendly. Facilities Spotlessly clean. WiFi available although Internet via data very good. Down side? We only stayed 4 nights. Definitely going back. Highly recommended.

Tpc1

Reviewed on 05/05/2023 16:18

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

5 nights at Heatherbield CL Site

Well what can we say about Heatherbield? It was our 1st time here and it won’t be our last, upon arriving we were met warmly by Andy and he opened the gate and said we could go where we wanted on any of the 5 very large pitches, and would we like a hot drink, that’s a great start. 5 mins later the tray and buns ! arrived and he left us to it. The site is a large paddock and is beautiful and well kept. All the bins are there for 100% recycling, there is a single toilet and single shower building and this is in great condition basic but very clean and serviceable. The site is a great base for visiting all the local areas and the bus service is spot on. For the 5 nights we were the only Van on the site which was nice and quiet, we saw Green woodpecker, Buzzard, Sparrowhawk and Kestrel all within the site and although the weather wasn’t great as w on the morning of our original departure day we had 50+mph winds we asked if we could stay and leave the next morning and Silvia said “not a problem” we can highly recommend Heatherbield to anyone and can say you definitely won’t be disappointed. Big thanks to Andy & Silvia for making our 1st visit a great one 🤝👏👍

kestrel26

Reviewed on 14/03/2023 14:32

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site with very warm welcome

We spent 3 nights here in September 2022. Booking was extremely easy over the phone and Sylvia was very friendly and helpful. On arrival we were met at the entrance and told which pitches were available. The pitch was nice and large and level and site was peaceful. The showers and toilets, chemical waste, grey waste and rubbish were well signposted and there was a shed with local information, Sylvia was very helpful with local information and there’s a bus stop 1 minute along the road with a service into Ely. We had an excellent stay and would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

N Holmes

Reviewed on 24/09/2022 17:23

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A nice site but….

We chose this site specifically because of its convenience for visiting Ely and in that respect it is in a good location. We originally intended to walk from the site into Ely - following a track running parallel to the road to avoid the road itself. However, when we discovered the bus stop right outside the site it was too tempting and we took the bus instead. The service is not very frequent so you have to plan carefully - there was a copy of the bus timetable in the site information room. The site itself has quite spacious pitches with water taps easily accessible from most pitches - there was one right next to our pitch. The site is nearly all grass and level - there is one hard standing pitch. We went on the grass with our motorhome and it was fine. There is a small building with toilet, shower and wash basin - nothing flash but quite adequate and kept clean. Now for the moan. When we arrived, we went through a gate and across a small grass area before going through a fence into the CL - there is a sign on the fence indicating that the CL starts beyond the fence. The grass area between the entrance gate and the CL had other units on it - on one night there were three units there. This really makes a mockery of the 5 van limit on CLs when there are additional units on adjacent land, especially when, as in this case, the people in those units outside the CL use the facilities of the CL. One morning my wife had to wait to use the shower because it was occupied by somebody from a unit on the land outside the CL. This situation really detracted from our enjoyment of the site. If it was not for that I would definitely recommend the site but I hesitate to do so in the light of the extra vans.

David Gosling

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/09/2022 20:02

35 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer