Heatherbield

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant enough but not outstanding

I was expecting more having read all the previous reviews. We enjoyed a 2 night stay at Heatherbield. Everything was fine and we have no complaints whatsoever. I met Mrs Meeks and she was lovely and had a very warm welcome, nice touch with the welcome notice board. The Shower and toilet were immaculate, the pitch was level, access good. It was easy to find. Good location within walking distance of a decent pub and the new Cinema and fast food area was also handy. We are new members only 1 year and have mainly stayed on Club sites which have all been marvellous. However, we don't have much experience of CL sites having only stayed on a couple. I'm just surprised at the previous reviews which all appear to rave about this site being the best ever? Strange, I find it hard to understand how is it so good? I could not give it 5 stars for items 1 to 4 because it is definitely not the most peaceful site I've stayed on being in close proximity to houses and the road. The bus service was poor, we have a motorhome so I always pick sites within walking distance to a pub and with a bus service although we are keen cyclists so if all else fails we can cycle to amenities. As for beauty it was ok, pleasant, a paddock backing on to a field but nothing special, the Cambridgeshire countryside around Ely is nothing stunning I could name hundreds of places more beautiful but equally there was nothing wrong with it, it was ok. Ely is a pleasant place, with plenty of nice cafes, pubs, shops and a market on Saturdays. I just felt a little mislead by the previous reviews and wanted to make it clear for other users, thank you.

LBJEB

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/10/2017 12:15

27 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tremendous!

We spent 9 wonderful days on this site and can only repeat all the praise that has already been given to the owners for the quality of their site. It's a peaceful location, the pitches are spacious, the shower and toilet was always spotlessly clean and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. It was our second visit to this site and certainly won't be our last.

LandG

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/09/2017 21:53

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic site

I think this is one of the best sites that we have ever stayed on. Andy and Sylvia are 2 of the nicest people you could wish to meet, the site is very well kept and Andy checks and cleans the shower room/Loo three times a day. I don't think I have ever come across a warden doing that on a club site let alone a CL site. When we arrived we were greeted with coffee and carrot cake (Sylvia is a brilliant cook) and both of them came around the campsite to say Hello to everyone and deliver yet more cakes on the Friday evening. The surrounding area is lovely and Ely Cathedral really is a must to visit. The next time we go back to the area it is a site that we will be using again. I can only say a huge Thank You to Andy and Sylvia for a fantastic fortnight.

dobe

Reviewed on 24/09/2017 16:37

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of the best CLs

I cant add much to what everyone else has said except to say we have been using CLs for 25 plus years and this one rates as one of the best we have ever stayed on. Well done Andy & Sylvia no wonder you always are fully booked you deserve it. We will be back.

elldwin

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/09/2017 16:41

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

All the reviews are quite correct

All that I have read about this site is correct, it is a little gem and the owners should be proud on what they have achieved. We only stayed a couple of nights as we were going to a wedding but it's location makes this a really good spot to do some sight seeing. We intend to return and spend more time in the area.

Beach Hut

Reviewed on 26/08/2017 14:10

15 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

All the reviews are quite correct

All that I have read about this site is correct, it is a little gem and the owners should be proud on what they have achieved. We only stayed a couple of nights as we were going to a wedding but it's location makes this a really good spot to do some sight seeing. We intend to return and spend more time in the area.

Beach Hut

Reviewed on 26/08/2017 14:10

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Best CL ever!

What a great CL - the best we have ever stayed on. Lawned, water on every pitch, clean and free to use shower and another separate toilet, information hut and good recycling/waste area plus trampoline and footballs for the children. The welcome on arrival was the best we have ever had and we were very grateful for the nice cup of tea (plus the cup cakes at the end of our stay). Mr and Mrs Meek are so welcoming, friendly and helpful and we couldn't have asked for a better stay. Will definitely return if holidaying in the area again. Many thanks.

Reviewed on 23/08/2017 10:56

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of the best CLs we've been to

Wow! Clean, well laid out, and peaceful. Tucked away in a nearby village to Ely. Great facilities with a small shower and toilet block, it's like a little caravan club site. Also nice to have wifi (for a fee) to catch up with the world. Happily go back if in that part of the world.

guppy

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/08/2017 22:30

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just Perfect - and that was just the cup-cakes!

This CL has been very carefully thought out to provide the most pleasant and tranquil place to stay. It is almost level and has plenty of room to allow for the caravan/motorhome to be positioned at the owner's preference. The pictures do not show the low hedge that has been planted around the perimeter that finishes the site off nicely. There is an excellent, large dedicated play area for children separated from the caravans. There is also a toilet and shower hut and an additional toilet nearby (almost unheard of in a CL). They were both spotlessly clean as was the waste disposal area. Andrew and Sylvia Meek are the perfect hosts being both very welcoming, helpful and friendly. I arrived while they were out, but Sylvia brought me two amazing homemade cup-cakes a day or so later. What more could you ask?! Ely is an excellent place and the cathedral is majestic - and 4 hours parking is free!!! The local Fenland is very well worth a drive round - it is a unique and fascinating area. King's Lynn is well worth a visit, but have change for parking. Not only could I have no hesitation what-so-ever in recommending this site, but in the words of Arnie - "I'll be back!"

DavidNKidd

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/07/2017 19:20

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Outstanding.

Heatherbield is outstanding. A very warm welcome with a cuppa and homemade biscuits. What previous members have said this place is spotless, level, and peaceful. Sylvia and Andrew"s attention to detail is second to none. Thank you both very much for a relaxing and lovely week. We shall return. A credit to the club.

CSJ14

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/06/2017 15:20

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer