Heatherbield

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

5 stars all round!

What an excellent find! Very friendly hosts, lovely location, spotless toilet/shower facilities, well mown grass, easy to find. Ely is a lovely city to visit, with plenty of free parking. A faultless stay, hope to return. Thank you very much.

spritewizard

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/05/2019 07:58

26 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Site

We stayed here for 2 nights. Such a lovely site and friendly owners. Very spacious pitches. Shower and toilet spotless. Information hut very useful. There is a footpath all the way to Ely! Also good walks nearby

Goz

Reviewed on 04/05/2019 20:29

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Return after 4 years!

We used to use Andy & Silvia”s CL quite often as our daughter lives nearby, but we’re back after a 4 year gap (though we have seen our daughter in the mean time!!). It’s like we’ve never been away and treated like long lost friends. There is now a little shed with local info, games, books and on site WiFi at 30p a night. I got 25MB download with 15mS ping, so excellent service. Why didn’t we come before!!

KerryS

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/10/2018 09:04

24 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A weekend with friends

Just returned from weekend visit with friends (3 caravans) to Heatherbield cl at Little Downham near Ely. This is on a Top Class CL with a couple of hardstandings, excellent toilet and shower facility. Mr and Mrs Meek keep the grounds and facilities in tip top condition. Their hospitality is outstanding. Mrs Meek even brought our group own baked cakes for Sunday afternoon tea time, which was appreciated by all. The CL is down a drive beside their house and is a quite location in a very nice village. Yet only about a mile and half from the city of Ely with its fine cathedral and Riverside walks. Ely has one of the best markets we visited on the Saturday. It also has one on Thursdays. Some fantastic eateries are located in Ely. There is a large leausure village just a mile down the road with many restaurants and a cinema. This in addition to village pub and restaurant. The CL is dog friendly. Meg and Gilley enjoy the vast cl area and local walks. Our first visit to this cl but definitely won't be our last.

Johnstan1234

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/10/2018 16:01

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

what a gem

We have just returned from 4 nights at Heatherbield. We were drawn to it because of the rave reviews and we weren't disappointed. The welcome of coffee and cupcakes was wonderful.. never experienced that before despite caravanning for nearly 35 years. Andy and Sylvia keep the site immaculate. Grass regularly mowed and shower and toilet spotlessly clean. The paddock is flat and even when all pitches are full it never appears crowded with plenty space between each van. It is about 10 minutes from Ely Cathedral and Marina with great dog walk by the river Ouse. Sylvia even returned on Friday to offer more cakes to everyone... and they are delicious. Hopefully when we want to return there will be spaces as it appears a very popular site.

holliebear

Reviewed on 17/09/2018 12:42

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

If only you could give more than five stars!

Heatherbield is a joy to stay on. First time we have been here and were lucky to be able to extend our holiday and would have loved to stay longer but had to return home for an appointment. Andy and Sylvia have a fabulous site and keep it in tip top condition. Large spacious site with immaculately shower facilities. Special thanks to Philip who was of enormous help to us. See you next year you lovely family.

Poppies

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/08/2018 11:46

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautifully kept site

To repeat what most of the reviews have said, this site is a very good size, kept in fantastic condition, the owners are very helpful and friendly. They really made an effort with our toddler who loved it. Walking distance to a dog friendly pub. We will definitely be back. Good facilities on site too.

HayleyJane1984

Reviewed on 24/08/2018 15:06

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We loved this place and would recommend that you stay here

We had not visited Cambridgeshire before and we were not disappointed. We loved this site and resided at the top of the field on the LHS; we even had our own small chestnut tree. The owners are lovely people and are very accomodating; the muffins baked by Sylvia were delicious and as we were there to celebrate my husbands 65th birthday they were very welcome. The shower facilities and toilet was spotless and there is even another toilet to use. We will definitely be back; we loved it so much and Ely. Thankyou to Andy and Sylivia from Martin and Debra Rojahn.

Granma Deddy

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/07/2018 18:55

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a cracking CL

We stayed at Heatherbield CL in March 2018 and it could not have been better. We have now stayed at over fifty CLs in the last few years, at many we have received a warm welcome. But never before have we been provided with tea and cake on arrival! After 4 hours travelling it was a perfect welcome. Arriving in the midst of rain and snow we had the benefit of a hard standing pitch and the toilet and shower were spotless. A well stocked information hut provided loads of ideas and Andy and Sylvia were around, but not intrusive, if we needed to know anything. Ely is a stunning city full of history. I had seen a previous reviewer comment on the local scenery, yes it is flat bit there is a clue, you are visiting the fens! Because it is flat does not mean it is not scenic or interesting! The pumping station at Prickwillow was closed during our visit, I would return just to visit when open. The wildlife is amazing, I am sixty but saw birds that I had never seen before, and who could not be interested in how the history or how the Fens were drained. Stonea Camp is a must for those that like hill forts and Roman history and there is an interesting story about the war memorial at Wimblington. Little Downham is a friendly village. We visited the Plough pub on a couple of occasions, the Landlord and locals made us feel very welcome. The Thai food and real ale is outstanding. Would I visit again? Yes without any doubt. Would I recommend to others? Of course I would. You can see the places we visited and walked on our blog https://twodogsandanawning.co.uk/site/heatherbield-cl/

Two dogs and an awning

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/04/2018 21:13

50 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

regular visitors

We agree with all the previous reviews, as we are regulars here every three months, and feel very much at home here! The previous reviewer was disappointed in the bus service, but a check online before booking would have shown that there is no service to Ely that we are aware of. We like the site itself, perhaps because we're so familiar with it, the surrounding countryside is also familiar to us as we live in the South Lincolnshire Fens, the Flatlands! If you want hills, Norfolk isn't that far! Everyone's tastes and requirements are different, it depends what you are looking for and obviously a lot of people like this site!

Brightonians

Reviewed on 26/10/2017 14:34

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer